Enable Call Recording on Xperia Z2 and Z3

Call recording, while not legal in every part of the world, is quite handy in certain situations. … more

Google Play Store Payments Available in China

Google has taken a big step to make its services accessible globally. Since the introduction of … more

How to Set a Video as Your Boot Animation

If you wish to make your phone truly unique, you may want to consider adding a nice boot animation. … more

TWRP for Nexus 6 and 9 Available, Unofficial CM12 Alpha for HTC Explorer! – XDA TV

Team Win Recovery Project for the Nexus 6 and Nexus … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Busybox of existenz v7

OP Danny-Leung

27th April 2014, 05:16 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Space
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Hi everybody I just installed existenz rom v7, I want to ask can I update the integrated busybox? I'm worry if it will cause bootloop because I have installed the busybox on another stock based rom but I caused serious bootloop(can't boot into recovery). Does anyone updated it? Thanks![ATTACH]Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-04-27-23-07-23.png
Views:	62
Size:	170.3 KB
ID:	2711972[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-04-27-23-07-39.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	151.6 KB
ID:	2711971  
27th April 2014, 05:34 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 143
 
307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
You need this specific busybox binary for the dual recovery. So don't update it.

You could use other builds of busybox with lzma compression enabled, any specific reason you want to update?
28th April 2014, 01:09 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Space
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
it's because I wanted to install viper4 android very much... Is it possible to install the single recovery to update the busy box?
28th April 2014, 11:21 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 143
 
307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny-Leung

it's because I wanted to install viper4 android very much... Is it possible to install the single recovery to update the busy box?

You loose LPA (low power audio) with viper4android. Are you sure it's a) worth it and b) it won't work with the already installed busybox version?

I don't know if the rom uses lmza somewhere else, but for me it sounds unlikely. It would probably be worth a try to uninstall the dual recovery (delete /system/bin/chargemon and rename /system/bin/chargemon.stock to chargemon if there is no uninstaller) and try updating busybox. Backup before, no guarantees and do it on your own risk though. If you want to install a single recovery you have to be on unlocked bootloader afaik.

Another solution would be to compile (or nicely ask the creator of dual recovery) the latest busybox with lmza support by yourself.
The Following User Says Thank You to NamenIos For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st May 2014, 10:25 PM   |  #5  
androidfreak70's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag here!
Thanks Meter: 628
 
3,795 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Donate to Me
More
If you do that you will lose dual recovery and get a RED led with working phone that what i got after i did what you mean
3rd May 2014, 02:51 PM   |  #6  
Deda K. Vinovo's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Semarang
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Problem same with me..

I want to install Viper4Android..when I installed busybox stericson i got bootloop..

Sorry for my bad English
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes