Google to Acquire XDA, Dev Rewards & Policy Changes

We are delighted to announce that starting on April 20th, a finalized deal with … more

Hi Locker to Help You With Lockscreen Headache

The lockscreen is a part of the OS that we see hundreds of times every day, whether … more

Must Have App Review: Spider Squisher Pro Extreme

Here on XDA TV we have a series we like to call Must Have Apps. These are apps that we … more

OnePlus DR-1 Quadcopter Drone Available for Purchase

OnePlus has been teasing a new product for a while now, hailing it as a … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Busybox of existenz v7

27th April 2014, 04:16 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Space
Thanks Meter: 0
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Hi everybody I just installed existenz rom v7, I want to ask can I update the integrated busybox? I'm worry if it will cause bootloop because I have installed the busybox on another stock based rom but I caused serious bootloop(can't boot into recovery). Does anyone updated it? Thanks![ATTACH]Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-04-27-23-07-23.png
Views:	62
Size:	170.3 KB
ID:	2711972[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-04-27-23-07-39.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	151.6 KB
ID:	2711971  
27th April 2014, 04:34 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 146
 
312 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
You need this specific busybox binary for the dual recovery. So don't update it.

You could use other builds of busybox with lzma compression enabled, any specific reason you want to update?
28th April 2014, 12:09 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Space
Thanks Meter: 0
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
it's because I wanted to install viper4 android very much... Is it possible to install the single recovery to update the busy box?
28th April 2014, 10:21 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 146
 
312 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny-Leung

it's because I wanted to install viper4 android very much... Is it possible to install the single recovery to update the busy box?

You loose LPA (low power audio) with viper4android. Are you sure it's a) worth it and b) it won't work with the already installed busybox version?

I don't know if the rom uses lmza somewhere else, but for me it sounds unlikely. It would probably be worth a try to uninstall the dual recovery (delete /system/bin/chargemon and rename /system/bin/chargemon.stock to chargemon if there is no uninstaller) and try updating busybox. Backup before, no guarantees and do it on your own risk though. If you want to install a single recovery you have to be on unlocked bootloader afaik.

Another solution would be to compile (or nicely ask the creator of dual recovery) the latest busybox with lmza support by yourself.
The Following User Says Thank You to NamenIos For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st May 2014, 09:25 PM |#5  
androidfreak70's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag here!
Thanks Meter: 640
 
3,801 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Donate to Me
More
If you do that you will lose dual recovery and get a RED led with working phone that what i got after i did what you mean
3rd May 2014, 01:51 PM |#6  
Deda K. Vinovo's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Semarang
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Problem same with me..

I want to install Viper4Android..when I installed busybox stericson i got bootloop..

Sorry for my bad English
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes