Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,768,414 Members 49,985 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] GSM phone to run on CDMA network

Tip us?
 
thetruejayj
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default [Q] GSM phone to run on CDMA network

Hola Comrades,
it's my spring break and i thought i'd start a project to keep me busy.

I purchased a Sony Xperia Z - unlocked, and I'd like to figure out what I need to make it work on my boost mobile network.
I'm new so i dont have much except for time. would you know what I need to start to make this dream come true?


-cheers
 
Hellscythe
Old
#2  
Hellscythe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 444
Posts: 1,693
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: straya kienttt
Quote:
Originally Posted by thetruejayj View Post
Hola Comrades,
it's my spring break and i thought i'd start a project to keep me busy.

I purchased a Sony Xperia Z - unlocked, and I'd like to figure out what I need to make it work on my boost mobile network.
I'm new so i dont have much except for time. would you know what I need to start to make this dream come true?


-cheers
for all i know you would need to take apart the phone and possibly change the components on the mainboard, which would be quite a difficult task ;S
The Following User Says Thank You to Hellscythe For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
thetruejayj
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellscythe View Post
for all i know you would need to take apart the phone and possibly change the components on the mainboard, which would be quite a difficult task ;S
Do you think if i ripped out the old assembly from my original phone and inserted into the xperia, it would work?
 
Hellscythe
Old
#4  
Hellscythe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 444
Posts: 1,693
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: straya kienttt
Quote:
Originally Posted by thetruejayj View Post
Do you think if i ripped out the old assembly from my original phone and inserted into the xperia, it would work?
I highly doubt it. even if you did manage to piece it together, you would have to make kernel modifications yourself to compensate for the unorignal hardware. not saying it is impossible, but it will be A LOT of work. Also, i don't think anyone else has done this before, so you will have to think and design everything yourself!
 
xL3thalTuRdZz
Old
#5  
xL3thalTuRdZz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 378
Posts: 2,807
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Blyth
Unless I'm mistaken, can't you go into the phone and type *#*#4636#*#* > Phone information, then change the network type?
The Magical Cactus Family Thread
Any problems with me? Write it to /dev/null
 
marcoplo
Old
(Last edited by marcoplo; 1st April 2014 at 10:29 PM.)
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 57
Posts: 622
Join Date: Nov 2010
deleted
 
Hellscythe
Old
#7  
Hellscythe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 444
Posts: 1,693
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: straya kienttt
Quote:
Originally Posted by xL3thalTuRdZz View Post
Unless I'm mistaken, can't you go into the phone and type *#*#4636#*#* > Phone information, then change the network type?
The z has CDMA capable hardware? O.O
 
k3v1nj4n
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 21
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Hamburg
No even thats his problem
 
xL3thalTuRdZz
Old
(Last edited by xL3thalTuRdZz; 2nd April 2014 at 03:45 PM.)
#9  
xL3thalTuRdZz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 378
Posts: 2,807
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Blyth
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellscythe View Post
The z has CDMA capable hardware? O.O
I think the C6603 variant has (not sure).
It's in the drop down list, if that means anything? Not that I can test (UK doesn't use CDMA at all).

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk
The Magical Cactus Family Thread
Any problems with me? Write it to /dev/null
 
romeokk
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 85
Join Date: Feb 2009
I dont have any suggestion with Xperia Z. However, Xperia Z1 has SOL23 variant sold by "au" in Japan that has CDMA radio. I saw some unlock SOL23 being sold on the internet. If you get this device, you may have to modify only software related stuffs (since unlock ones have only GSM/LTE unlocked, not CDMA).

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes