FORUMS

Battery Life Guide Helps You Get More out of Your Device

Battery life is a primary concern when it comes to smartphones these days, and … more

Vinsic Doosl FM Transmitter Review – Accessory Review

A lot of vehicles come with stereos featuring Bluetooth connectivity. This … more

Nexus & Cookies: A More Focused Direction?

It is that time of the year again, and we are approaching the day where Android fans all over … more

LG G4 US Carrier Release Dates

The LG G4 was announced on April 29th with its Snapdragon 808 SoC, a welcomed change from its higher-end … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] GSM phone to run on CDMA network

31st March 2014, 11:31 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hola Comrades,
it's my spring break and i thought i'd start a project to keep me busy.

I purchased a Sony Xperia Z - unlocked, and I'd like to figure out what I need to make it work on my boost mobile network.
I'm new so i dont have much except for time. would you know what I need to start to make this dream come true?


-cheers
 
 
1st April 2014, 01:05 AM |#2  
Account currently disabled
Flag straya kienttt
Thanks Meter: 474
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thetruejayj

Hola Comrades,
it's my spring break and i thought i'd start a project to keep me busy.

I purchased a Sony Xperia Z - unlocked, and I'd like to figure out what I need to make it work on my boost mobile network.
I'm new so i dont have much except for time. would you know what I need to start to make this dream come true?


-cheers

for all i know you would need to take apart the phone and possibly change the components on the mainboard, which would be quite a difficult task ;S
The Following User Says Thank You to Hellscythe For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st April 2014, 07:09 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellscythe

for all i know you would need to take apart the phone and possibly change the components on the mainboard, which would be quite a difficult task ;S

Do you think if i ripped out the old assembly from my original phone and inserted into the xperia, it would work?
1st April 2014, 08:05 AM |#4  
Account currently disabled
Flag straya kienttt
Thanks Meter: 474
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thetruejayj

Do you think if i ripped out the old assembly from my original phone and inserted into the xperia, it would work?

I highly doubt it. even if you did manage to piece it together, you would have to make kernel modifications yourself to compensate for the unorignal hardware. not saying it is impossible, but it will be A LOT of work. Also, i don't think anyone else has done this before, so you will have to think and design everything yourself!
1st April 2014, 10:00 PM |#5  
xL3thalTuRdZz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Blyth
Thanks Meter: 382
 
More
Unless I'm mistaken, can't you go into the phone and type *#*#4636#*#* > Phone information, then change the network type?
1st April 2014, 10:26 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
More
deleted
Last edited by marcoplo; 1st April 2014 at 10:29 PM.
1st April 2014, 11:34 PM |#7  
Account currently disabled
Flag straya kienttt
Thanks Meter: 474
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xL3thalTuRdZz

Unless I'm mistaken, can't you go into the phone and type *#*#4636#*#* > Phone information, then change the network type?

The z has CDMA capable hardware? O.O
2nd April 2014, 01:58 PM |#8  
Member
Flag Hamburg
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
No even thats his problem
2nd April 2014, 03:40 PM |#9  
xL3thalTuRdZz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Blyth
Thanks Meter: 382
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellscythe

The z has CDMA capable hardware? O.O

I think the C6603 variant has (not sure).
It's in the drop down list, if that means anything? Not that I can test (UK doesn't use CDMA at all).

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk
Last edited by xL3thalTuRdZz; 2nd April 2014 at 03:45 PM.
3rd April 2014, 11:17 AM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
I dont have any suggestion with Xperia Z. However, Xperia Z1 has SOL23 variant sold by "au" in Japan that has CDMA radio. I saw some unlock SOL23 being sold on the internet. If you get this device, you may have to modify only software related stuffs (since unlock ones have only GSM/LTE unlocked, not CDMA).
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes