Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How do I ENABLE MODEM to add frequencies on c6603? (Don't mean flashing baseband)

OP erain1001

31st March 2014, 02:14 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
I have a c6603.

Want to "enable the modem"
not just flash new baseband or firmware.
(Tried that already)

Can anyone provide me with info on "enabling" the modem?
I've seen it referenced in threads, but can find nothing on how to do it.

I get H+ at 850 MHz on my c6603, but not H+ at 1900 MHz

The c6602 (which has same modem), is enabled for H+ at 1900MHz

Flashing c6602 firmware and baseand has not worked.

How would I "enable" the modem to expand the frequencies it uses?

Then I could flash c6602 firmware with the baseband that uses H+ @ 1900 MHz,
because the modem would then be "enabled" for the 1900 MHz frequency.

Thank you for any and all help!
Last edited by erain1001; 31st March 2014 at 02:43 AM.
31st March 2014, 05:08 AM   |  #2  
AngelBob's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 380
 
250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Donate to Me
More
1900 MHz should be enabled in the C6603

It is on mine
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-03-31-04-06-20.jpg
Views:	122
Size:	91.8 KB
ID:	2659869

Check in your service menu
Code:
*#*#7378423#*#*
1st April 2014, 09:16 AM   |  #3  
Account currently disabled
Flag straya kienttt
Thanks Meter: 474
 
1,816 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
http://www.gsmarena.com/sony_xperia_z-5204.php

Gsmarena states that the C6603 is incapable of 1900mhz
1st April 2014, 09:22 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelBob

1900 MHz should be enabled in the C6603

It is on mine
Attachment 2659869

Check in your service menu

Code:
*#*#7378423#*#*

Thank you for answering.
I also have GSM1900 on my c6603, and that it what allows me to get Edge/2G data right now.
But I'm hoping to "enable" the modem to communicate on UTMS_BC2 (which is the 3G/H+ frequency at 1900Mhz)
just like the c6602 does, since both models have exactly the same harware.
1st April 2014, 09:40 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellscythe


Gsmarena states that the C6603 is incapable of 1900mhz

Thank you for taking the time to answer my question.
You are right in that UTMS_BC2 (3G/HSPA+ at 1900MHz) is not enabled out of the box for the c6603.
But this modem channel is enabled for the c6602.
And both the c6602 and c6603 share exactly the same internal hardware, including the modem.
I'm hoping to find out how to change an internal setting (or something) that will allow me to "enable" communication on this frequency.

At the top of the link you shared, GSMArena does say that it is "also known as"

Anyways, any help on changing modem settings or programming that would enable this frequency would be appreciated.

NOTE: Flashing c6602 baseband onto my c6603 did not change available modem frequencies.
Other threads have said modem needs to be "enabled" without further explanation.

Thank you for taking the time to reply.
2nd April 2014, 01:03 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by erain1001

Thank you for taking the time to answer my question.
You are right in that UTMS_BC2 (3G/HSPA+ at 1900MHz) is not enabled out of the box for the c6603.
But this modem channel is enabled for the c6602.
And both the c6602 and c6603 share exactly the same internal hardware, including the modem.
I'm hoping to find out how to change an internal setting (or something) that will allow me to "enable" communication on this frequency.

At the top of the link you shared, GSMArena does say that it is "also known as"

Anyways, any help on changing modem settings or programming that would enable this frequency would be appreciated.

NOTE: Flashing c6602 baseband onto my c6603 did not change available modem frequencies.
Other threads have said modem needs to be "enabled" without further explanation.

Thank you for taking the time to reply.

Hello! I don't try this because I don't want to change or add new frequencies but I am interesting in this issue and I'll try to help you if I can, sorry if I won't.

Maybe this can help you:

[Q] Xperia Z radio mods (baseband swap.) Knowledge Rollup.

If not, have you tried this?

1 Open the dialer
2 Dial *#*#4636#*#*
3 Phone information
4 Push the menu button
5 And now Select radio band

For now, I don't know any solution in Xperia device, in Samsung seems to be easier:
How to enable 850mhz network frequency Samsung Galaxy S
2nd April 2014, 04:09 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by incodnita

Hello! I don't try this because I don't want to change or add new frequencies but I am interesting in this issue and I'll try to help you if I can, sorry if I won't.

Maybe this can help you:

[Q] Xperia Z radio mods (baseband swap.) Knowledge Rollup.

If not, have you tried this?

1 Open the dialer
2 Dial *#*#4636#*#*
3 Phone information
4 Push the menu button
5 And now Select radio band

For now, I don't know any solution in Xperia device, in Samsung seems to be easier:
How to enable 850mhz network frequency Samsung Galaxy S

First, your English, incodnita, is very good, as far as I'm concerned.
Second, thank you for taking the time to reply to my question.
I am investigating the links that you shared with me and I will be trying the c6505 and c6052 baseband swaps tomorrow. I will post on the results.

Thank you incodnita for your help.
13th April 2014, 04:00 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
bump
14th April 2014, 03:27 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
bump
14th April 2014, 10:59 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 198
 
1,949 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
probably best off contacting sony about it

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes