FORUMS

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (June 27 – July 4)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

HTC One M9 Developer Edition Android 5.1 OTA

The Developer Edition of the HTC One M9 is receiving an over-the-air update to Android 5.1. … more

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

Kk 4.4.2 recovery

1,892 posts
Thanks Meter: 235
 
By demon2112, Senior Member on 27th February 2014, 04:43 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Cant find the recoverie to flash. That wil flash. A kk rom without error 7

Verstuurd vanaf mijn C6603 met Tapatalk
 
 
27th February 2014, 06:50 PM |#2  
kingvortex's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 3,736
 
More
Which rom?
Usually the rom comes with a kernel that includes the correct recovery -
- Extract the boot.img from the rom zip that you want to flash.
- Flash that with fastboot or use the fastboot mode in Flashtool if you're not comfortable with using the command line.
- Boot into recovery and flash the rom.

Last edited by kingvortex; 27th February 2014 at 06:56 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to kingvortex For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2014, 08:00 PM |#3  
Fokezy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Podgorica,Crna Gora
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingvortex

Which rom?
Usually the rom comes with a kernel that includes the correct recovery -
- Extract the boot.img from the rom zip that you want to flash.
- Flash that with fastboot or use the fastboot mode in Flashtool if you're not comfortable with using the command line.
- Boot into recovery and flash the rom.

Is it possible to flash the kernel.sin for the same effect from stock ftf-s?
27th February 2014, 08:27 PM |#4  
kingvortex's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 3,736
 
More
Stock kernels do not have a custom recovery.

27th February 2014, 08:36 PM |#5  
Fokezy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Podgorica,Crna Gora
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingvortex

Stock kernels do not have a custom recovery.

I dont want a custom recovery I want to OTA after removing a custom recovery and I want to do it without flashing my entire system.

Basically I'm asking you if the ORIGINAL STOCK RECOVERY is flashable with kernel.sin
27th February 2014, 08:43 PM |#6  
kingvortex's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 3,736
 
More
Then explain yourself better in the first place. You said the same effect. This is a different question altogether.
Just flash a stock FTF using Flashtool and exclude everything but the kernel.

The Following User Says Thank You to kingvortex For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2014, 09:07 PM |#7  
Fokezy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Podgorica,Crna Gora
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingvortex

Then explain yourself better in the first place. You said the same effect. This is a different question altogether.
Just flash a stock FTF using Flashtool and exclude everything but the kernel.

I think there is something wrong with my PMs,or nobody wants to answer me...

Anyway I got one last question,can I flash the kernel from a generic spanish ftf that is the same version as my Vodafone DE stock rom (obviously they are the same version just different customisations).
27th February 2014, 09:31 PM |#8  
kingvortex's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 3,736
 
More
Yes, you can.
Edit - There's nothing wrong with the PM system. I'm just not sat here all day waiting for people to PM me questions.

Last edited by kingvortex; 27th February 2014 at 09:34 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to kingvortex For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2014, 10:25 PM |#9  
Fokezy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Podgorica,Crna Gora
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingvortex

Yes, you can.
Edit - There's nothing wrong with the PM system. I'm just not sat here all day waiting for people to PM me questions.

I flashed it,it worked and all,but OTA still wont go trough

What the hell is stopping it ffs
Last edited by Fokezy; 27th February 2014 at 10:28 PM.
27th February 2014, 10:38 PM |#10  
kingvortex's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 3,736
 
More
It depends. If your bootloader is unlocked, you need to relock it to update OTA. Sometimes if you modified /system in any way (like deleting system apps, flashing mods etc), an OTA will fail.


Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes