FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

Kk 4.4.2 recovery

1,944 posts
Thanks Meter: 243
 
By demon2112, Senior Member on 27th February 2014, 04:43 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Cant find the recoverie to flash. That wil flash. A kk rom without error 7

Verstuurd vanaf mijn C6603 met Tapatalk
 
 
27th February 2014, 06:50 PM |#2  
kingvortex's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 3,903
 
More
Which rom?
Usually the rom comes with a kernel that includes the correct recovery -
- Extract the boot.img from the rom zip that you want to flash.
- Flash that with fastboot or use the fastboot mode in Flashtool if you're not comfortable with using the command line.
- Boot into recovery and flash the rom.

Last edited by kingvortex; 27th February 2014 at 06:56 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to kingvortex For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2014, 08:00 PM |#3  
Fokezy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Podgorica,Crna Gora
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingvortex

Which rom?
Usually the rom comes with a kernel that includes the correct recovery -
- Extract the boot.img from the rom zip that you want to flash.
- Flash that with fastboot or use the fastboot mode in Flashtool if you're not comfortable with using the command line.
- Boot into recovery and flash the rom.

Is it possible to flash the kernel.sin for the same effect from stock ftf-s?
27th February 2014, 08:27 PM |#4  
kingvortex's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 3,903
 
More
Stock kernels do not have a custom recovery.

27th February 2014, 08:36 PM |#5  
Fokezy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Podgorica,Crna Gora
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingvortex

Stock kernels do not have a custom recovery.

I dont want a custom recovery I want to OTA after removing a custom recovery and I want to do it without flashing my entire system.

Basically I'm asking you if the ORIGINAL STOCK RECOVERY is flashable with kernel.sin
27th February 2014, 08:43 PM |#6  
kingvortex's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 3,903
 
More
Then explain yourself better in the first place. You said the same effect. This is a different question altogether.
Just flash a stock FTF using Flashtool and exclude everything but the kernel.

The Following User Says Thank You to kingvortex For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2014, 09:07 PM |#7  
Fokezy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Podgorica,Crna Gora
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingvortex

Then explain yourself better in the first place. You said the same effect. This is a different question altogether.
Just flash a stock FTF using Flashtool and exclude everything but the kernel.

I think there is something wrong with my PMs,or nobody wants to answer me...

Anyway I got one last question,can I flash the kernel from a generic spanish ftf that is the same version as my Vodafone DE stock rom (obviously they are the same version just different customisations).
27th February 2014, 09:31 PM |#8  
kingvortex's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 3,903
 
More
Yes, you can.
Edit - There's nothing wrong with the PM system. I'm just not sat here all day waiting for people to PM me questions.

Last edited by kingvortex; 27th February 2014 at 09:34 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to kingvortex For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2014, 10:25 PM |#9  
Fokezy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Podgorica,Crna Gora
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingvortex

Yes, you can.
Edit - There's nothing wrong with the PM system. I'm just not sat here all day waiting for people to PM me questions.

I flashed it,it worked and all,but OTA still wont go trough

What the hell is stopping it ffs
Last edited by Fokezy; 27th February 2014 at 10:28 PM.
27th February 2014, 10:38 PM |#10  
kingvortex's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 3,903
 
More
It depends. If your bootloader is unlocked, you need to relock it to update OTA. Sometimes if you modified /system in any way (like deleting system apps, flashing mods etc), an OTA will fail.


27th February 2014, 10:48 PM |#11  
Fokezy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Podgorica,Crna Gora
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingvortex

It depends. If your bootloader is unlocked, you need to relock it to update OTA. Sometimes if you modified /system in any way (like deleting system apps, flashing mods etc), an OTA will fail.


Yeah,bootloader is locked,didnt delete any system apps,no mods flashed except superSU...when I look at the update logs it shows a redbend_verify error and ua_updater start error. If only there was a way I can logcat the actual update and see what the hell it's checking.
Last edited by Fokezy; 1st March 2014 at 05:43 PM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes