FORUMS

3D Printable Mobile Microscope? Nexus 7 Discontinued – XDA TV

The Nexus 7 2013 has been discontinued on the Google Store! That and … more

Which Lockscreen Security Type Do You Use?

From pattern locks to the controversial face unlock, there are a number of different ways you … more

Xposed 3.0 Alpha 3 Released

A new alpha for the Xposed framework is out and brings several bug fixes. You’ll only need to flash … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (Apr 18 – 25)

Here in the digital XDA newsroom, we spend our days pouring over an average of … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Will I lose data downgrading from 4.3 to 4.2?

17th February 2014, 01:12 AM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Flag GTA
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Hi, wanna downgrade my Xperia Z from 4.3 to 4.2 to gain root again.

Will I lose all of the data of my phone if I do?
 
 
17th February 2014, 09:26 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tase25

Hi, wanna downgrade my Xperia Z from 4.3 to 4.2 to gain root again.

Will I lose all of the data of my phone if I do?

No just flash a ftf of 4.2 with flashtool but uncheck the box next to wipe data
The Following User Says Thank You to Rzr92 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th February 2014, 10:35 AM |#3  
kingvortex's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 3,454
 
More
Flashing without wiping data usually leads to a bootloop if downgrading.
So, you will probably have to wipe your data. Backup what you can without root before trying it.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk
17th February 2014, 10:58 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingvortex

Flashing without wiping data usually leads to a bootloop if downgrading.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

I downgraded mine without wiping it worked fine
17th February 2014, 11:14 AM |#5  
kingvortex's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 3,454
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rzr92

I downgraded mine without wiping it worked fine

See where I said "usually"? That means most of the time, but not always. You are not everyone. Bootloops can and do happen when downgrading without wiping.
See here for one example - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=50347641

You should not give advice without knowing it's 100% correct.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk
Last edited by kingvortex; 17th February 2014 at 11:18 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to kingvortex For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th February 2014, 11:20 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingvortex

See where I said "usually"? That means most of the time, but not always. You are not everyone. Bootloops can and do happen when downgrading without wiping.
k

Ok my mistake,sorry bro
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes