FORUMS

OnePlus Addresses Reservation List Cheating

Jake Cooper figured out how to bump his place up on OnePlus’ reservation list and … more

OnePlus 2 Benchmark Scores Show Its Muscle

This video by FoneArena contains all the popular benchmarks being tested on the OnePlus 2, … more

Sony’s Emergence in The Middle: Is The Price Right?

Sony’s Electronics Division is not in its best days, and its smartphone … more

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

[Q] Will I lose data downgrading from 4.3 to 4.2?

288 posts
Thanks Meter: 6
 
By tase25, Senior Member on 17th February 2014, 01:12 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi, wanna downgrade my Xperia Z from 4.3 to 4.2 to gain root again.

Will I lose all of the data of my phone if I do?
 
 
17th February 2014, 09:26 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tase25

Hi, wanna downgrade my Xperia Z from 4.3 to 4.2 to gain root again.

Will I lose all of the data of my phone if I do?

No just flash a ftf of 4.2 with flashtool but uncheck the box next to wipe data
The Following User Says Thank You to Rzr92 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th February 2014, 10:35 AM |#3  
kingvortex's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 3,819
 
More
Flashing without wiping data usually leads to a bootloop if downgrading.
So, you will probably have to wipe your data. Backup what you can without root before trying it.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk
17th February 2014, 10:58 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingvortex

Flashing without wiping data usually leads to a bootloop if downgrading.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

I downgraded mine without wiping it worked fine
17th February 2014, 11:14 AM |#5  
kingvortex's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 3,819
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rzr92

I downgraded mine without wiping it worked fine

See where I said "usually"? That means most of the time, but not always. You are not everyone. Bootloops can and do happen when downgrading without wiping.
See here for one example - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=50347641

You should not give advice without knowing it's 100% correct.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk
Last edited by kingvortex; 17th February 2014 at 11:18 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to kingvortex For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th February 2014, 11:20 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingvortex

See where I said "usually"? That means most of the time, but not always. You are not everyone. Bootloops can and do happen when downgrading without wiping.
k

Ok my mistake,sorry bro
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes