T-Mobile Expands Its LTE Network

T-Mobile US has announced moreLTE network expansion. The carrierwill provide asignal for the700 MHz band, … more

Kernel Source Available for HTC One M8

HTC pushed the Lollipop-based Sense update to the developer edition of the HTC One M8 just a couple … more

Asus Hints at Upcoming Week-long Battery Smartwatch

Asus hinted that their next smartwatch, succesor to the elegant ZenWatch, could feature … more

Note 4 Full Caller ID Mod

Flash this mod to get a clean full-screen caller ID on your Note 4, which also comes with a Call Recording button … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Will I lose data downgrading from 4.3 to 4.2?

OP tase25

17th February 2014, 02:12 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag GTA
Thanks Meter: 6
 
279 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
Hi, wanna downgrade my Xperia Z from 4.3 to 4.2 to gain root again.

Will I lose all of the data of my phone if I do?
17th February 2014, 10:26 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
272 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by tase25

Hi, wanna downgrade my Xperia Z from 4.3 to 4.2 to gain root again.

Will I lose all of the data of my phone if I do?

No just flash a ftf of 4.2 with flashtool but uncheck the box next to wipe data
The Following User Says Thank You to Rzr92 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th February 2014, 11:35 AM   |  #3  
kingvortex's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 3,238
 
4,347 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Flashing without wiping data usually leads to a bootloop if downgrading.
So, you will probably have to wipe your data. Backup what you can without root before trying it.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk
17th February 2014, 11:58 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
272 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingvortex

Flashing without wiping data usually leads to a bootloop if downgrading.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

I downgraded mine without wiping it worked fine
17th February 2014, 12:14 PM   |  #5  
kingvortex's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 3,238
 
4,347 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rzr92

I downgraded mine without wiping it worked fine

See where I said "usually"? That means most of the time, but not always. You are not everyone. Bootloops can and do happen when downgrading without wiping.
See here for one example - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=50347641

You should not give advice without knowing it's 100% correct.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk
Last edited by kingvortex; 17th February 2014 at 12:18 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to kingvortex For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th February 2014, 12:20 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
272 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingvortex

See where I said "usually"? That means most of the time, but not always. You are not everyone. Bootloops can and do happen when downgrading without wiping.
k

Ok my mistake,sorry bro
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes