XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Not reading sim after Flashtool + new rom

Tip us?

o0c0mrade0o
Old
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Default [Q] Not reading sim after Flashtool + new rom

I hate my first thread in a new forum to be a "please help im a noob and f**ked up" but here i go anyway

I've had the xperia Z c6603 for a few months everything's fine, Then it randomly got stuck in a boot loop, no way out including a hard restart didn't stop it.
* Used sony update to reinstall the latest firmware this led to "process system not responding" on start up.
* Used Flashtool to install C6603_10.1.A.1.434_UK unbranded the phone now works but with "please insert sim" and restarts with the sim in only to ask me to reinsert the sim again.
* I have tried C6603_10.3.1.A.2.67_CE this also leaves we with "process system not responding" and i have retried sony update with the same error again.

My uneducated guess is either a hardware problem, which is unlikely as the phone was 100% before the bootlooping and hadn't been dropped or under any added stress ect or something to do with the baseband/imei as these words have popped up a couple times whilst searching the forums lol , if it helps looking in "about phone" tells me "baseband version unknown"

This is all new to me but i like to think im a little smarter then your average noob , Any help or ideas on where to go next would be hugly appreciated, Chears peeps

o0c0mrade0o
Old
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Ok after more exploration and learning what the baseband not showing up means and also finding the same for my imei, I'm thinking i need to restore the TA.img but ive hit another sticking point.
Following rickwyatt's method found here ive rooted my xperia, no dramas there but when i run Backup-TA i get this,

/dev/block/mmcblkop1: cannot open for read: permission denied

This is the md5 for phones TA md5sum: 'can't open '/dev/block/mmcblk0p1': Permission denied