ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Regain Double Tap to Wake Functionality on the Nexus 6

A few months ago, Google announced its newest flagship device, the Nexus 6, alongside … more

Clean Your Recent Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

In this day and age, you have quite a few apps installed and running on your Android … more

Android Studio Reaches Release Candidate Status

Android app developers have a few options when comes to Android IDEs. One of the most … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] installing a new ROM question

OP endlesslyonline

3rd September 2014, 10:19 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2014
I have a Xperia Z, and installed CM 10 on it, using the following method

Unlocked the bootloader from Sony's site
Downloaded the SDK
Flashboot flash boot boot.IMG
And installed cm.zip from the sdcard.

It worked, in fact, I am typing this from my newly ROM'ed xperia.

So, the question is , if I want to install another ROM now, say CM11 or even a complete different one from xda , what is the process?

Do I just copy the new zip, boot into recovery, and wipe wipe install?

Or do I need to reflash the new boot.IMG from the new ROM every time?

Thanks
3rd September 2014, 12:25 PM   |  #2  
androidtweaker1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 261
 
829 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by endlesslyonline

I have a Xperia Z, and installed CM 10 on it, using the following method

Unlocked the bootloader from Sony's site
Downloaded the SDK
Flashboot flash boot boot.IMG
And installed cm.zip from the sdcard.

It worked, in fact, I am typing this from my newly ROM'ed xperia.

So, the question is , if I want to install another ROM now, say CM11 or even a complete different one from xda , what is the process?

Do I just copy the new zip, boot into recovery, and wipe wipe install?

Or do I need to reflash the new boot.IMG from the new ROM every time?

Thanks

For flashing CM11
Copy the rom to device
Reboot to recovery
Clear dalvik cache
Flash the rom.

For other rom
Copy rom to device
Copy Gapps to device
Reboot to recovery
Format system
Format cache
Format dalvik cache
Format data(not internal sd)
Flash the rom
Flash Gapps
Last edited by androidtweaker1; 3rd September 2014 at 12:36 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to androidtweaker1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd September 2014, 01:32 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2014
OK, thanks

So I was correct in thinking the boot.IMG (which is the recovery, right?) Won't have to be flashed again.
3rd September 2014, 02:22 PM   |  #4  
androidtweaker1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 261
 
829 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by endlesslyonline

OK, thanks

So I was correct in thinking the boot.IMG (which is the recovery, right?) Won't have to be flashed again.

You dont have to flash recovery again.
Hitting thanks would have been easier than writing it!
The Following User Says Thank You to androidtweaker1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd September 2014, 02:53 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Tuc
Thanks Meter: 205
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by endlesslyonline

OK, thanks

So I was correct in thinking the boot.IMG (which is the recovery, right?) Won't have to be flashed again.

well not exactly, the boot.img is the kernel
3rd September 2014, 03:00 PM   |  #6  
Khaiyan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 297
 
792 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pablosch23

well not exactly, the boot.img is the kernel

That's my understanding as well. So why is flashing boot.img necessary for installing custom recovery?
3rd September 2014, 03:14 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pablosch23

well not exactly, the boot.img is the kernel

Ah OK. But am I correct in saying that the (for example) clockworkMOD, or any other custom recovery resides in the boot.IMG

In lamens terms, can we say that the boot.IMG is almost like the bios on a PC?

Sorry for the dumb questions, I just wanna learn some mpre
3rd September 2014, 08:41 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Tuc
Thanks Meter: 205
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by endlesslyonline

Ah OK. But am I correct in saying that the (for example) clockworkMOD, or any other custom recovery resides in the boot.IMG

In lamens terms, can we say that the boot.IMG is almost like the bios on a PC?

Sorry for the dumb questions, I just wanna learn some mpre

I think you are right, I'm a also a newbie though..the boot.img contains the kernel (and the ramdisk) where the recovery resides.
3rd September 2014, 08:41 PM   |  #9  
androidfreak70's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag here!
Thanks Meter: 630
 
3,795 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khaiyan

That's my understanding as well. So why is flashing boot.img necessary for installing custom recovery?

The boot.IMG is the kernel itself
If you flashed wrong one on wrong device so say goodbye to the device

Tapatalk'ed from my Xperia™ Z (C6602) running Dirty Unicorns ROM!
3rd September 2014, 10:47 PM   |  #10  
androidtweaker1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 261
 
829 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by endlesslyonline

Ah OK. But am I correct in saying that the (for example) clockworkMOD, or any other custom recovery resides in the boot.IMG

In lamens terms, can we say that the boot.IMG is almost like the bios on a PC?

Sorry for the dumb questions, I just wanna learn some mpre

Most custom roms include recovery so I dont think you will have to flash boot.img separately again and again

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes