Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Touchscreen broken, insurance company will replace it, how to backup data?

OP thehosh

22nd April 2014, 01:40 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Hi all,

I've got an Sony xperia z and recently the touchscreen broke so the only input my phone has is the volume buttons, and the power button. I've called up my insurance company and they've agreed to replace it. My problem is that I need my data backed up before I send it off to my insurance company, but I've no idea how I can do so. It isn't rooted at the moment (running 4.3 stock). What can I do to back up my data? If possible also back up app data?

I'm quite confident with CLI if required and also happy to root it if required as long as there is a way to do so WITHOUT interacting with the touchscreen (as currently nothing is captured by it). USB debugging is already on.

Also I've already got Teamviewer QuickSupport installed, so if there's a way to temporarily control it until I can get it started, that's also possible.

Thanks in advance!
Last edited by thehosh; 22nd April 2014 at 01:43 AM.
22nd April 2014, 07:29 AM   |  #2  
St.Jimmy90's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Frankfurt
Thanks Meter: 142
 
611 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thehosh

Hi all,

I've got an Sony xperia z and recently the touchscreen broke so the only input my phone has is the volume buttons, and the power button. I've called up my insurance company and they've agreed to replace it. My problem is that I need my data backed up before I send it off to my insurance company, but I've no idea how I can do so. It isn't rooted at the moment (running 4.3 stock). What can I do to back up my data? If possible also back up app data?

I'm quite confident with CLI if required and also happy to root it if required as long as there is a way to do so WITHOUT interacting with the touchscreen (as currently nothing is captured by it). USB debugging is already on.

Also I've already got Teamviewer QuickSupport installed, so if there's a way to temporarily control it until I can get it started, that's also possible.

Thanks in advance!

Use an otg cable und plug in a mouse. With that you can unlock the screen. Then plug it into your pc and get your data
The Following User Says Thank You to St.Jimmy90 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
broken, touchscreen
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes