5,595,691 Members 44,232 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Trying to install 4.4 Rom, falling at every hurdle.

Tip us?
 
SuburbanKnight
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 5
Join Date: Nov 2013
Default Trying to install 4.4 Rom, falling at every hurdle.

Hi There,

Just wondering if anyone had any ideas why my phone refuses to co-operate!

Basically, after getting bored of the stock rom when I first got my phone, I somehow managed to install a CM based rom. That worked, but I got bored of the fact that the camera never seemed to work right, and some apps didn't work/ were graphically buggy. Assuming it was just a badly ported graphics driver or whatever, I found a way, using FlashTool, to revert to the stock rom (C6603_10.3.1.A.0.244_Generic UK to be precise). I wasn't sure exactly what it did, but it was back how it used to be. sorted.
So, since kitkat made it's way to the XZ, I thought I'd try one of those roms, being the curious bugger that I am. The process I ended up going with eventually was:

>Downgrading Kernel to a lower version because the root explot wouldn't work on 10.3.1.A.0.244
>Rooting using "DooMLoRD_Easy-Rooting-Toolkit_v18"
>Upgrading kernel to one that would accept a recovery
>Installing TWRP
>Booting into recovery, CWM appeared instead. Strange, I thought. Oddly, mount USB wouldn't work at all, so I had to boot the phone back up to transfer the kitkat rom over
>Trying to flash the rom gave me an error number 7
>Boot Loop, at which point I just flashed 10.3.1.A.0.244 again.

I've tried this twice now, first with DooM Kernel, and then once with a different one. Neither CWM or TWRP have worked properly. Any help? Or am I just cursed?

Cheers
 
SuburbanKnight
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 5
Join Date: Nov 2013
Tried this again, did literally everything I could think of and still no dice. Help? Have I somehow forced my phone to be on stock software forever?
 
eryen
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 113
Posts: 192
Join Date: Apr 2011
If you dont unlock your bootloader, you can not use any kind of custom kernel.

That means aosp or aokp based firmwares can not run over locked bootloader.

Locked bootloader checks sign of kernel, if not certificated you will stuck on bootloop.

If you want to use any kind of custom rom... basicly.

1. Backup ta partition. " so you can revert any time you want."
2. Copy firmware zip file tou your internal or external sdcard.
3. Flash custom kernel. "Most of kernel have recovery option build in".
4. Boot in recovery mod. "Mostly press volume down while booting"
5. Insall custom rom.
6.a wipe dalvik-cache
6.b factory reset

Old setting might work or not with new rom. So first try to wipe dalvik- cache. If you stuck on boot loop or any kind of problem, just boot in recovery again and run factory reset.




Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk
 
SuburbanKnight
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 5
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by eryen View Post
If you dont unlock your bootloader, you can not use any kind of custom kernel.

That means aosp or aokp based firmwares can not run over locked bootloader.

Locked bootloader checks sign of kernel, if not certificated you will stuck on bootloop.

If you want to use any kind of custom rom... basicly.

1. Backup ta partition. " so you can revert any time you want."
2. Copy firmware zip file tou your internal or external sdcard.
3. Flash custom kernel. "Most of kernel have recovery option build in".
4. Boot in recovery mod. "Mostly press volume down while booting"
5. Insall custom rom.
6.a wipe dalvik-cache
6.b factory reset

Old setting might work or not with new rom. So first try to wipe dalvik- cache. If you stuck on boot loop or any kind of problem, just boot in recovery again and run factory reset.




Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk
Hey, thanks for your reply!

I had unlocked the bootloader when I first got the phone and just assumed it would be permanent. Would flashing it back to stock firmware re-lock the bootloader?

But yes, assuming my boot loader is still unlocked ( I have tried to check and it doesn't seem to be locked) I have been through those steps basically. I am fine to flash a kernel with a recovery but the recovery never works properly/ at all. I can root the phone no problem though.
 
shoey63
Old
#5  
shoey63's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1233
Posts: 2,084
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Somewhere in Oz...
Best to extract the boot.img from the zip file of the ROM you want to flash, and flash that first. Then flash the ROM from its recovery.

Sent from my C6603 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to shoey63 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
SuburbanKnight
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 5
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoey63 View Post
Best to extract the boot.img from the zip file of the ROM you want to flash, and flash that first. Then flash the ROM from its recovery.

Sent from my C6603 using xda app-developers app
Cheers, I'll give that a go - I was under the impression that you weren't supposed to flash kernels that weren't designed for the currently installed ROM though? It just seems that any kernel I flash isn't working properly so I didn't think doing that would play any nicer with the phone
 
kingvortex
Old
#7  
kingvortex's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1438
Posts: 2,228
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nottingham
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuburbanKnight View Post
Cheers, I'll give that a go - I was under the impression that you weren't supposed to flash kernels that weren't designed for the currently installed ROM though? It just seems that any kernel I flash isn't working properly so I didn't think doing that would play any nicer with the phone
You're not actually going to boot into your current rom after flashing the kernel.
Flash the kernel via fastboot, then boot into recovery and flash the rom.
All this should be covered in the installation instructions of whatever rom you're trying to flash in any case....

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to kingvortex For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
SuburbanKnight
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 5
Join Date: Nov 2013
Well, that seems to have done it! Thanks very much for your help.

So, I guess the moral here is that if you're on stock and need a recovery to flash a new ROM, always use the boot.img from the ROM you'll be using.

Thanks again - I'd never seen that said before but quite possibly I wasn't paying attention!

The Following User Says Thank You to SuburbanKnight For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes