Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,209 Members 37,132 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Can't update CM11

Tip us?
 
bumbum.droid
Old
#1  
bumbum.droid's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 57
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin
Default [Q] Can't update CM11

Hi guys,

I'm new to Sony devices and rooting/flashing procedures.

I run CWM recovery 6.0.4.7 and CM11 with the included Kernel 3.4.0-g14fe8eb, BL is unlocked.

As the title says: when I try to flash a cm11 rom, other than the one I'm currently on (2014-03-01), I end up in a bootloop (CM arrow doesn't stop spinning). When I try to restore a backup via recovery, I end up with a missing IMEI and thus a not working mobile radio. My procedure to fix this is: full wipe, flash the current nightly.
To me it doesn't make any sense that the IMEI is missing after a restore (at the time I created the backup everything was fine). What is the correct procedure to update to the next nightly?

Best regards,

bumbum
------------------------------------------------------
Devices:
Sony Xperia Z (C6603 Codename: Yuga)
LG Optimus HD LTE P936
 
St.Jimmy90
Old
#2  
St.Jimmy90's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 136
Posts: 577
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Frankfurt
Quote:
Originally Posted by bumbum.droid View Post
Hi guys,

I'm new to Sony devices and rooting/flashing procedures.

I run CWM recovery 6.0.4.7 and CM11 with the included Kernel 3.4.0-g14fe8eb, BL is unlocked.

As the title says: when I try to flash a cm11 rom, other than the one I'm currently on (2014-03-01), I end up in a bootloop (CM arrow doesn't stop spinning). When I try to restore a backup via recovery, I end up with a missing IMEI and thus a not working mobile radio. My procedure to fix this is: full wipe, flash the current nightly.
To me it doesn't make any sense that the IMEI is missing after a restore (at the time I created the backup everything was fine). What is the correct procedure to update to the next nightly?

Best regards,

bumbum
What happens if you wipe cache?
 
bumbum.droid
Old
#3  
bumbum.droid's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 57
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin
Quote:
Originally Posted by St.Jimmy90 View Post
What happens if you wipe cache?
After I flash a zip with the a nightly I always wipe cache and dalvik cache before I reboot. Meaning: same results
------------------------------------------------------
Devices:
Sony Xperia Z (C6603 Codename: Yuga)
LG Optimus HD LTE P936
 
bumbum.droid
Old
#4  
bumbum.droid's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 57
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin
No idea? Come on guys how do you do it?
------------------------------------------------------
Devices:
Sony Xperia Z (C6603 Codename: Yuga)
LG Optimus HD LTE P936
 
bumbum.droid
Old
#5  
bumbum.droid's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 57
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin
I still wasn't able to find a way. I mean I know what happens and I know how to fix it but still I don't know why it fails and how to avoid the boot loop.
------------------------------------------------------
Devices:
Sony Xperia Z (C6603 Codename: Yuga)
LG Optimus HD LTE P936
 
bumbum.droid
Old
#6  
bumbum.droid's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 57
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin
digging up this old thread...
Seriously am I the only one facing this problem?
------------------------------------------------------
Devices:
Sony Xperia Z (C6603 Codename: Yuga)
LG Optimus HD LTE P936
 
ILIVE4HEAD
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 63
Join Date: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by bumbum.droid View Post
digging up this old thread...
Seriously am I the only one facing this problem?
I had the same problem and I did it the exact same way... Just reflashed nightly every month

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Free mobile app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes