Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,966 Members 40,799 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Can't update CM11

Tip us?
 
bumbum.droid
Old
#1  
bumbum.droid's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 57
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin
Default [Q] Can't update CM11

Hi guys,

I'm new to Sony devices and rooting/flashing procedures.

I run CWM recovery 6.0.4.7 and CM11 with the included Kernel 3.4.0-g14fe8eb, BL is unlocked.

As the title says: when I try to flash a cm11 rom, other than the one I'm currently on (2014-03-01), I end up in a bootloop (CM arrow doesn't stop spinning). When I try to restore a backup via recovery, I end up with a missing IMEI and thus a not working mobile radio. My procedure to fix this is: full wipe, flash the current nightly.
To me it doesn't make any sense that the IMEI is missing after a restore (at the time I created the backup everything was fine). What is the correct procedure to update to the next nightly?

Best regards,

bumbum
------------------------------------------------------
Devices:
Sony Xperia Z (C6603 Codename: Yuga)
LG Optimus HD LTE P936
 
St.Jimmy90
Old
#2  
St.Jimmy90's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 111
Posts: 491
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Frankfurt
Quote:
Originally Posted by bumbum.droid View Post
Hi guys,

I'm new to Sony devices and rooting/flashing procedures.

I run CWM recovery 6.0.4.7 and CM11 with the included Kernel 3.4.0-g14fe8eb, BL is unlocked.

As the title says: when I try to flash a cm11 rom, other than the one I'm currently on (2014-03-01), I end up in a bootloop (CM arrow doesn't stop spinning). When I try to restore a backup via recovery, I end up with a missing IMEI and thus a not working mobile radio. My procedure to fix this is: full wipe, flash the current nightly.
To me it doesn't make any sense that the IMEI is missing after a restore (at the time I created the backup everything was fine). What is the correct procedure to update to the next nightly?

Best regards,

bumbum
What happens if you wipe cache?
 
bumbum.droid
Old
#3  
bumbum.droid's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 57
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin
Quote:
Originally Posted by St.Jimmy90 View Post
What happens if you wipe cache?
After I flash a zip with the a nightly I always wipe cache and dalvik cache before I reboot. Meaning: same results
------------------------------------------------------
Devices:
Sony Xperia Z (C6603 Codename: Yuga)
LG Optimus HD LTE P936
 
bumbum.droid
Old
#4  
bumbum.droid's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 57
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin
No idea? Come on guys how do you do it?
------------------------------------------------------
Devices:
Sony Xperia Z (C6603 Codename: Yuga)
LG Optimus HD LTE P936
 
bumbum.droid
Old
#5  
bumbum.droid's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 57
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin
I still wasn't able to find a way. I mean I know what happens and I know how to fix it but still I don't know why it fails and how to avoid the boot loop.
------------------------------------------------------
Devices:
Sony Xperia Z (C6603 Codename: Yuga)
LG Optimus HD LTE P936
 
bumbum.droid
Old
#6  
bumbum.droid's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 57
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin
digging up this old thread...
Seriously am I the only one facing this problem?
------------------------------------------------------
Devices:
Sony Xperia Z (C6603 Codename: Yuga)
LG Optimus HD LTE P936
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Slide Dial Replacement Dialer Lets You Make Calls from Anywhere

If you frequently make phone calls, your dialer (aka phone app)is one of the … more

Navigate with Your Samsung Gear 2 Using DMA Navi Watch

Whether you’re travelling to a new destination or exploring some previously … more

Xperia Z1 Stereo Speaker Mod, Cell Phone Unlocking Legal Again! – XDA Developer TV

Cell Phone Unlocking is legal again!! That and much … more