KDZ of Android 5.0.1 Captured for T-Mobile LG G3

T-Mobile US is yet to release the 20B Lollipop build for the LG G3. Luckily enough, you … more

Build Custom Stock Kernel with Linaro GCC 4.9.1

With this guide for Sony devices, you will learn how to build a kernel using the Linaro … more

What’s Your Biggest Reason for Not Owning an iPhone?

With XDA being a community of Android enthusiasts, it is not uncommon to see … more

“New Kernel” for OnePlus One

If you are hungry for a new kernel on your OnePlus One, XDA Senior Member jgcaap‘s … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Can't update CM11

17th March 2014, 11:13 AM |#1  
bumbum.droid's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 9
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Hi guys,

I'm new to Sony devices and rooting/flashing procedures.

I run CWM recovery 6.0.4.7 and CM11 with the included Kernel 3.4.0-g14fe8eb, BL is unlocked.

As the title says: when I try to flash a cm11 rom, other than the one I'm currently on (2014-03-01), I end up in a bootloop (CM arrow doesn't stop spinning). When I try to restore a backup via recovery, I end up with a missing IMEI and thus a not working mobile radio. My procedure to fix this is: full wipe, flash the current nightly.
To me it doesn't make any sense that the IMEI is missing after a restore (at the time I created the backup everything was fine). What is the correct procedure to update to the next nightly?

Best regards,

bumbum
17th March 2014, 12:05 PM |#2  
St.Jimmy90's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Frankfurt
Thanks Meter: 145
 
618 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bumbum.droid

Hi guys,

I'm new to Sony devices and rooting/flashing procedures.

I run CWM recovery 6.0.4.7 and CM11 with the included Kernel 3.4.0-g14fe8eb, BL is unlocked.

As the title says: when I try to flash a cm11 rom, other than the one I'm currently on (2014-03-01), I end up in a bootloop (CM arrow doesn't stop spinning). When I try to restore a backup via recovery, I end up with a missing IMEI and thus a not working mobile radio. My procedure to fix this is: full wipe, flash the current nightly.
To me it doesn't make any sense that the IMEI is missing after a restore (at the time I created the backup everything was fine). What is the correct procedure to update to the next nightly?

Best regards,

bumbum

What happens if you wipe cache?
17th March 2014, 12:13 PM |#3  
bumbum.droid's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 9
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by St.Jimmy90

What happens if you wipe cache?

After I flash a zip with the a nightly I always wipe cache and dalvik cache before I reboot. Meaning: same results
19th March 2014, 01:29 PM |#4  
bumbum.droid's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 9
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
No idea? Come on guys how do you do it?
26th March 2014, 05:17 PM |#5  
bumbum.droid's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 9
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
I still wasn't able to find a way. I mean I know what happens and I know how to fix it but still I don't know why it fails and how to avoid the boot loop.
21st April 2014, 10:33 PM |#6  
bumbum.droid's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 9
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
digging up this old thread...
Seriously am I the only one facing this problem?
25th August 2014, 07:56 AM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by bumbum.droid

digging up this old thread...
Seriously am I the only one facing this problem?

I had the same problem and I did it the exact same way... Just reflashed nightly every month

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Free mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes