FORUMS

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more

Cyngn Explained: Who’s Cyanogen, What’s Cyanogen OS?

While Cyanogen, Inc has been the source of many headlines lately, there … more

Verizon Moto X 2014 Receives Root On Kitkat 4.4.4

The Verizon Moto X 2014 has finally received root, albeit only on Kitkat 4.4.4 … more

Android 5.1.1 Released, Google Cell Service – XDA TV

Android Lollipop 5.1.1 has been released. That and much more news is covered … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

4.4.4 Stock 108 Runs ART?

2nd July 2014, 07:17 PM |#1  
taranfx's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Delhi
Thanks Meter: 227
 
More
I had read somewhere that 4.4.4 is defaulted to use ART runtime. Can someone install and check https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...boy.artchecker

ps I installed xposed framework, so now i know it forced to Dalvik. Not sure was it ART earlier or not.
 
 
2nd July 2014, 07:18 PM |#2  
Luhccas-X10's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fortaleza - Ceará
Thanks Meter: 74
 
More
Nope.

Sent from my Xperia Z1!
2nd July 2014, 07:31 PM |#3  
Felimenta97's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ribeirão Preto
Thanks Meter: 2,332
 
More
ART will be the default in the L release, which isn't even finished yet.

Sent from my SGP311 using Tapatalk
2nd July 2014, 08:34 PM |#4  
Destroyedbeauty's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sundsvall
Thanks Meter: 629
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Felimenta97

ART will be the default in the L release, which isn't even finished yet.

Sent from my SGP311 using Tapatalk

Can't ART be enabled by changing the specific runtime line in the build.prop? Or am I dreaming right now? :P

Sent from my Xperia Z1 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
2nd July 2014, 09:20 PM |#5  
Felimenta97's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ribeirão Preto
Thanks Meter: 2,332
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Destroyedbeauty

Can't ART be enabled by changing the specific runtime line in the build.prop? Or am I dreaming right now? :P

Sent from my Xperia Z1 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

No. It's an option in Developer settings, but HTC, Sony, Samsung and LG removed the code for it, or buried it very, very deeply

Sent from my LT26i using Tapatalk
3rd July 2014, 05:29 AM |#6  
taranfx's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Delhi
Thanks Meter: 227
 
More
Why can't someone prepare flashable zip for stock ROMs. I've been using ART on nexus since a while now. And even there's a way to enable it on HTC one.
3rd July 2014, 10:00 AM |#7  
Nexu$'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Well, according to this post at BGR, it should be possible -- however, I cannot see the option to change runtime on my 4.4.4 Generic FR .108

Anyone had luck with this? Perhaps one of the other customizations?
3rd July 2014, 11:27 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexu$

Well, according to this post at, it should be possible -- however, I cannot see the option to change runtime on my 4.4.4 Generic FR .108

Anyone had luck with this? Perhaps one of the other customizations?

I read somewhere that switching ART in xperia causes bootloop
2nd August 2014, 10:42 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
I did a browse through the .108 firmware using root explorer. The ART library isn't in /system/lib. You can try switching all you like, Android just switches back to Dalvik (Yes, I tried it )
3rd August 2014, 12:50 PM |#10  
RyTekk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nha Trang
Thanks Meter: 49
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Felimenta97

No. It's an option in Developer settings, but HTC, Sony, Samsung and LG removed the code for it, or buried it very, very deeply

Sent from my LT26i using Tapatalk

Code is not removed, it's just disabled, you can re-enable it but that is meaningless, phone will be bootloop when switch to ART.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes