FORUMS

What Features Do You Look for in a Gallery App?

With so many different options to choose from, finding the right Gallery app may be a … more

Google Photos ‘Unlimited’ Storage Reportedly Being Capped

When Google Photos was announced, many of us thought very highly … more

Sprint Moves to Lift Video Streaming Limit for All-In

Yesterday, Sprint announced a new unlimited scheme that offered customers an … more

Xiaomi Releases Kernel Source Code For Mi4i

If you’ve been following the XDA News Portal lately, you might have noticed an … more

4.4.4 Stock 108 Runs ART?

294 posts
Thanks Meter: 229
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I had read somewhere that 4.4.4 is defaulted to use ART runtime. Can someone install and check https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...boy.artchecker

ps I installed xposed framework, so now i know it forced to Dalvik. Not sure was it ART earlier or not.
 
 
2nd July 2014, 07:18 PM |#2  
Luhccas-X10's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fortaleza - Ceará
Thanks Meter: 77
 
More
Nope.

Sent from my Xperia Z1!
2nd July 2014, 07:31 PM |#3  
Felimenta97's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ribeirão Preto
Thanks Meter: 2,333
 
More
ART will be the default in the L release, which isn't even finished yet.

Sent from my SGP311 using Tapatalk
2nd July 2014, 08:34 PM |#4  
Destroyedbeauty's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sundsvall
Thanks Meter: 664
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Felimenta97

ART will be the default in the L release, which isn't even finished yet.

Sent from my SGP311 using Tapatalk

Can't ART be enabled by changing the specific runtime line in the build.prop? Or am I dreaming right now? :P

Sent from my Xperia Z1 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
2nd July 2014, 09:20 PM |#5  
Felimenta97's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ribeirão Preto
Thanks Meter: 2,333
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Destroyedbeauty

Can't ART be enabled by changing the specific runtime line in the build.prop? Or am I dreaming right now? :P

Sent from my Xperia Z1 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

No. It's an option in Developer settings, but HTC, Sony, Samsung and LG removed the code for it, or buried it very, very deeply

Sent from my LT26i using Tapatalk
3rd July 2014, 05:29 AM |#6  
taranfx's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Delhi
Thanks Meter: 229
 
More
Why can't someone prepare flashable zip for stock ROMs. I've been using ART on nexus since a while now. And even there's a way to enable it on HTC one.
3rd July 2014, 10:00 AM |#7  
Nexu$'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Well, according to this post at BGR, it should be possible -- however, I cannot see the option to change runtime on my 4.4.4 Generic FR .108

Anyone had luck with this? Perhaps one of the other customizations?
3rd July 2014, 11:27 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexu$

Well, according to this post at, it should be possible -- however, I cannot see the option to change runtime on my 4.4.4 Generic FR .108

Anyone had luck with this? Perhaps one of the other customizations?

I read somewhere that switching ART in xperia causes bootloop
2nd August 2014, 10:42 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
I did a browse through the .108 firmware using root explorer. The ART library isn't in /system/lib. You can try switching all you like, Android just switches back to Dalvik (Yes, I tried it )
3rd August 2014, 12:50 PM |#10  
RyTekk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nha Trang
Thanks Meter: 67
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Felimenta97

No. It's an option in Developer settings, but HTC, Sony, Samsung and LG removed the code for it, or buried it very, very deeply

Sent from my LT26i using Tapatalk

Code is not removed, it's just disabled, you can re-enable it but that is meaningless, phone will be bootloop when switch to ART.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes