FORUMS

The Atlas of XDA

A few weeks ago, we asked you “How Does Your Location Affect Your Life As A Power User?”. In the days that … more

New Snapdragons: Some Context & Contrast

It hasn’t been a good year for Qualcomm so far. Every device featuring the Snapdragon 810 … more

Google To Launch Next Gen Android One On July 14

The first gen of Android One devices to be launched in India in September 2014 were … more

Droid Turbo Lollipop OTA, 2015 Moto G Leaked – XDA TV

Android Lollipop for the Droid Turbo has been released. That and much more … more

Adb/fastboot

573 posts
Thanks Meter: 51
 
By Bill Idol, Senior Member on 23rd August 2014, 06:47 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello, I just recently got my z1s C6916 and I'm trying to root via jcase method. Now in order to do the commands in adb doesn't my phone have to be in fastboot mode? If it does, how can I get into fastboot? I've tried holding down the volume down button while pressing the power button but no luck. My phone is easily recognized in adb and I have USB debugging on but after I run all the commands it just tells me that it cannot execute. So that is why I am wondering if I have to be in fastboot mode in order for the commands to work.
Sent from my C6916 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
 
 
23rd August 2014, 07:20 PM |#2  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag King Grumpy Lord from Frown Town, Grumpy Land
Thanks Meter: 5,213
 
Donate to Me
More
No,

It has to be turned on and connected to the PC

Type
adb devices

to check your PC is recognising the adb device
23rd August 2014, 07:23 PM |#3  
Bill Idol's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 51
 
More
ok I did it without fastboot and ran all the commands but keep getting cannot execute for the last command


C:\Users\TEMP\Downloads\xperia root>adb devices
List of devices attached
CB5A1Z18JC device


C:\Users\TEMP\Downloads\xperia root>adb push pwn /data/local/tmp/pwn
5056 KB/s (574722 bytes in 0.111s)

C:\Users\TEMP\Downloads\xperia root>adb shell chmod 755 /data/local/tmp/pwn

C:\Users\TEMP\Downloads\xperia root>adb shell /data/local/tmp/pwn
/system/bin/sh: /data/local/tmp/pwn: can't execute: Is a directory

C:\Users\TEMP\Downloads\xperia root>
Last edited by Bill Idol; 23rd August 2014 at 07:36 PM.
23rd August 2014, 07:27 PM |#4  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag King Grumpy Lord from Frown Town, Grumpy Land
Thanks Meter: 5,213
 
Donate to Me
More
You may have to allow unkown sources.
Not sure as I have a Z1
23rd August 2014, 07:43 PM |#5  
Bill Idol's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 51
 
More
yeah I have unknown sources allowed. I wonder if I have to turn off my fire wall to do this? Well thanks for your help brudda, really do appreciate it.
23rd August 2014, 08:24 PM |#6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Idol

ok I did it without fastboot and ran all the commands but keep getting cannot execute for the last command


C:\Users\TEMP\Downloads\xperia root>adb devices
List of devices attached
CB5A1Z18JC device


C:\Users\TEMP\Downloads\xperia root>adb push pwn /data/local/tmp/pwn
5056 KB/s (574722 bytes in 0.111s)

C:\Users\TEMP\Downloads\xperia root>adb shell chmod 755 /data/local/tmp/pwn

C:\Users\TEMP\Downloads\xperia root>adb shell /data/local/tmp/pwn
/system/bin/sh: /data/local/tmp/pwn: can't execute: Is a directory

C:\Users\TEMP\Downloads\xperia root>

maybe your adressing was wrong or something like that! because it say you try to execute a directory! Do some search about this command. it maybe help you.
23rd August 2014, 08:30 PM |#7  
Bill Idol's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 51
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by smart8bits

maybe your adressing was wrong or something like that! because it say you try to execute a directory! Do some search about this command. it maybe help you.

Thanks brudda, will do.

Sent from my C6916 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes