FORUMS

Android M Code Name: Macadamia Nut Cookie

While the official name for the latest iteration of Android has yet to be revealed, the code … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Adb/fastboot

23rd August 2014, 06:47 PM |#1  
Bill Idol's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 51
 
More
Hello, I just recently got my z1s C6916 and I'm trying to root via jcase method. Now in order to do the commands in adb doesn't my phone have to be in fastboot mode? If it does, how can I get into fastboot? I've tried holding down the volume down button while pressing the power button but no luck. My phone is easily recognized in adb and I have USB debugging on but after I run all the commands it just tells me that it cannot execute. So that is why I am wondering if I have to be in fastboot mode in order for the commands to work.
Sent from my C6916 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
 
 
23rd August 2014, 07:20 PM |#2  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag King Grumpy Lord from Frown Town, Grumpy Land
Thanks Meter: 5,152
 
Donate to Me
More
No,

It has to be turned on and connected to the PC

Type
adb devices

to check your PC is recognising the adb device
23rd August 2014, 07:23 PM |#3  
Bill Idol's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 51
 
More
ok I did it without fastboot and ran all the commands but keep getting cannot execute for the last command


C:\Users\TEMP\Downloads\xperia root>adb devices
List of devices attached
CB5A1Z18JC device


C:\Users\TEMP\Downloads\xperia root>adb push pwn /data/local/tmp/pwn
5056 KB/s (574722 bytes in 0.111s)

C:\Users\TEMP\Downloads\xperia root>adb shell chmod 755 /data/local/tmp/pwn

C:\Users\TEMP\Downloads\xperia root>adb shell /data/local/tmp/pwn
/system/bin/sh: /data/local/tmp/pwn: can't execute: Is a directory

C:\Users\TEMP\Downloads\xperia root>
Last edited by Bill Idol; 23rd August 2014 at 07:36 PM.
23rd August 2014, 07:27 PM |#4  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag King Grumpy Lord from Frown Town, Grumpy Land
Thanks Meter: 5,152
 
Donate to Me
More
You may have to allow unkown sources.
Not sure as I have a Z1
23rd August 2014, 07:43 PM |#5  
Bill Idol's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 51
 
More
yeah I have unknown sources allowed. I wonder if I have to turn off my fire wall to do this? Well thanks for your help brudda, really do appreciate it.
23rd August 2014, 08:24 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Idol

ok I did it without fastboot and ran all the commands but keep getting cannot execute for the last command


C:\Users\TEMP\Downloads\xperia root>adb devices
List of devices attached
CB5A1Z18JC device


C:\Users\TEMP\Downloads\xperia root>adb push pwn /data/local/tmp/pwn
5056 KB/s (574722 bytes in 0.111s)

C:\Users\TEMP\Downloads\xperia root>adb shell chmod 755 /data/local/tmp/pwn

C:\Users\TEMP\Downloads\xperia root>adb shell /data/local/tmp/pwn
/system/bin/sh: /data/local/tmp/pwn: can't execute: Is a directory

C:\Users\TEMP\Downloads\xperia root>

maybe your adressing was wrong or something like that! because it say you try to execute a directory! Do some search about this command. it maybe help you.
23rd August 2014, 08:30 PM |#7  
Bill Idol's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 51
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by smart8bits

maybe your adressing was wrong or something like that! because it say you try to execute a directory! Do some search about this command. it maybe help you.

Thanks brudda, will do.

Sent from my C6916 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes