Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,248 Members 39,186 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Poor wifi performance

Tip us?
 
pinn___________
Old
#1  
pinn___________'s Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 453
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Middlesbrough
Default [Q] Poor wifi performance

For those who have the device, how does your wifi signal strength compare. Sitting at my desk, I get no bars now where on my OneX I got 2 or 3.
 
bleary
Old
#2  
bleary's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 235
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sunderland
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinn___________ View Post
For those who have the device, how does your wifi signal strength compare. Sitting at my desk, I get no bars now where on my OneX I got 2 or 3.
Same issue here on a phone from O2 with the latest software installed.

Compared to an iphone 5 struggles to hang onto signal. Tried both bands as well, same issue.
The Following User Says Thank You to bleary For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
LadFromWales85
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 339
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wales, UK Earth, The Universe
I can see my work wifi in a location I frequent with previous phones.
I can connect and use it even though it gives me just a dot for the signal. other phones struggle in this same location.
Perhaps try turning off Wifi power saving in the settings

Sent from my C6903 using Tapatalk 4
 
intrancer
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 145
Join Date: Mar 2008
Has turning wifi power saving off, has this helped?.. for me this has made no difference

Sent from my C6903 using Tapatalk 4
Samsung GS2...
 
RCJ89
Old
#5  
RCJ89's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 201
Posts: 663
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: london, UK
No wifi issues here what so ever
Current Phones:
Samsung Galaxy S5 Black 16gb

Previous owned Favourite phones:
HTC One X white 32gb
HTC One S Black 16gb
HTC Sensation XE Black
Samsung Galaxy S2 Black 16gb
Sony Ericsson Xperia ARC Silver
 
thefunkygibbon
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 685
Join Date: Sep 2004
yeah its pretty bad for me. next room and i'm down to "1 bar" when on all of my other devices i'd get 4 or 5
 
Geoffxx
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 345
Join Date: Apr 2013
guys from what I've seen don't go by the little signal strength indicator on the notification bar as it doesn't really reflect what's actually happening, I had a XZU for a few weeks and a Z before that, I can pick up wifi connections on both the XZU and Z1 were the Z was out of range, I was sitting in a bar last night connected to a wifi AP that was about 100m away and there are structures and people in-between, the Z1 is as good as the ZU when connecting to wifi and both are better than the Z
 
japjit100
Old
#8  
japjit100's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 296
Posts: 1,024
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: new delhi
Check with this app
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d....wifi.analyzer

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk 4
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to japjit100 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
keithfloyd
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 5
Join Date: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinn___________ View Post
For those who have the device, how does your wifi signal strength compare. Sitting at my desk, I get no bars now where on my OneX I got 2 or 3.
Wifi on my Z1 C6903 seems really poor.
Connected to 5Ghz on a dual band wifi router situated in the tv room. I don't get any connectivity from my room which is around 10m away.
I used to get decent connectivity on my iphone 5 - speedtest of around 14mbps. I can't even connect to speedtest on my Z1.

On a sidenote - what is with the headphone button not working. Had to update to .534 after much googling. Also, the new firmware doesn't help the wifi issues. Who knows how long we'll have to wait for a fix ...which may or may not improve it.

Also, did try to turn off the wifi power saving "feature" as well. Didn't do much.

Anyways that's my feedback.
The Following User Says Thank You to keithfloyd For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
hotshothotshot1
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: May 2009
same here! very bad connection with the xperia z1.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes