Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Problems with helium (non-premium)

OP digiknowzone

4th August 2014, 04:27 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Hi guys, I finally made the decision to root my z1,but first of all, I need to back it up. Problems are :

1. Sony pc companion backup is cr*p.
2. So I opted to using helium. Now, I got all settings up. Downloaded the pc counterpart of the app, downloaded the Android app from Google store, set up into debug mode. Helium requires my phone on PTP mode, which I do, but 1 second later, it comes back to MTP mode.

Did I miss anything? I tried downloading "drivers" from helium 's suggestions, but the one they have their is older than my SPCC.

Thanks in advance! I really look forward to rooting my device and getting it's benefits. Cheers!



Sent from my C6903 using xda app-developers app
10th August 2014, 05:37 AM   |  #2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Up?

Sent from my C6903 using xda app-developers app
11th August 2014, 08:58 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
174 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
I had the same problem, and I didn't find any solutions (I have Helium Premium). I ended up backing up my phone using Sonys software, just to be on the safe side. Rooting does not wipe your phone (at least not the method I used), but better safe than sorry. Unlocking on the other hand will wipe your phone!

After root, I installed Titanium and made all the backups I wanted. I also installed dual recovery (still without wiping the phone) and made a Nandroid bckup.
12th August 2014, 09:17 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 231
 
1,221 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Titanium backup always work, use that in the future. It is worth the money, all others I have tried have been of no use
13th August 2014, 04:05 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eirikgu

I had the same problem, and I didn't find any solutions (I have Helium Premium). I ended up backing up my phone using Sonys software, just to be on the safe side. Rooting does not wipe your phone (at least not the method I used), but better safe than sorry. Unlocking on the other hand will wipe your phone!

After root, I installed Titanium and made all the backups I wanted. I also installed dual recovery (still without wiping the phone) and made a Nandroid bckup.

But the problem is I can't even back up properly with Sony backup, any work arounds for this?

Sent from my C6903 using xda app-developers app
13th August 2014, 04:08 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HellRoot

Titanium backup always work, use that in the future. It is worth the money, all others I have tried have been of no use

Yes, I'm planning for premium, the problem is, I can't backup yet since helium is not working add it should and Sony's backup does not work as well

Sent from my C6903 using xda app-developers app
13th August 2014, 08:14 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
174 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by digiknowzone

But the problem is I can't even back up properly with Sony backup, any work arounds for this?

Sent from my C6903 using xda app-developers app

I didn't get pcc to work as well, but used the backup app on my phone.

Sent fra min C6903 via Tapatalk
13th August 2014, 07:00 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 231
 
1,221 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by digiknowzone

Yes, I'm planning for premium, the problem is, I can't backup yet since helium is not working add it should and Sony's backup does not work as well

Sent from my C6903 using xda app-developers app

Just forget the backup and start from a fresh start with titanium backup.. I have had same issues before...
17th August 2014, 09:32 AM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eirikgu

I didn't get pcc to work as well, but used the backup app on my phone.

Sent fra min C6903 via Tapatalk

Yeah, I'm trying that now, was the backup app able to restore the data properly?

Sent from my C6903 using xda app-developers app
17th August 2014, 09:35 AM   |  #10  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HellRoot

Just forget the backup and start from a fresh start with titanium backup.. I have had same issues before...

I use my phone for worth related stuff, so, I really can't do that, otherwise, this topic would be meaningless, lol

Sent from my C6903 using xda app-developers app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes