Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,468 Members 38,065 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Root on Vodafone ROM

Tip us?
 
axelms
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: May 2011
Default [Q] Root on Vodafone ROM

Hi all!
Well my problem is the following: I would like to root my Xperia Z1 and have the latest KitKat Rom, nevertheless I like using Vodafone's stock Rom as it includes Vodafone Wallet app, which allows me to pay with my phone using NFC. The problem appears because it's not possible to use Vodafone Wallet app on a Rom which is not original from vodafone, but I don't find any .zip fle which includes a rooted version of vodafone's 14.4.A.0.118 rom.
My question is, could anyone make a zip of that rom which is already rooted, deodexed and so?
Tank you in advance, Axel.
 
funky0308
Old
#2  
funky0308's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 5,143
Posts: 6,347
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Osijek

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by axelms View Post
Hi all!
Well my problem is the following: I would like to root my Xperia Z1 and have the latest KitKat Rom, nevertheless I like using Vodafone's stock Rom as it includes Vodafone Wallet app, which allows me to pay with my phone using NFC. The problem appears because it's not possible to use Vodafone Wallet app on a Rom which is not original from vodafone, but I don't find any .zip fle which includes a rooted version of vodafone's 14.4.A.0.118 rom.
My question is, could anyone make a zip of that rom which is already rooted, deodexed and so?
Tank you in advance, Axel.
Don't get it...
Why don't you root your, Vodafones firmwares?

Deodexing is very simple as well...
You have tool for it in cros section.

Flash ftf
Root it
Install recovery
Extract files with that deodexing tool to your PC
Deodex them
You'll get flashable zip
Flash that zip

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk
 
axelms
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by funky0308 View Post
Don't get it...
Why don't you root your, Vodafones firmwares?

Deodexing is very simple as well...
You have tool for it in cros section.

Flash ftf
Root it
Install recovery
Extract files with that deodexing tool to your PC
Deodex them
You'll get flashable zip
Flash that zip

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk
As far as I know for rooting it is necessary to downgrade to .534, root it, install custom recovery, and install an already rooted zip drom it, isn't like that?
 
funky0308
Old
#4  
funky0308's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 5,143
Posts: 6,347
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Osijek

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by axelms View Post
As far as I know for rooting it is necessary to downgrade to .534, root it, install custom recovery, and install an already rooted zip drom it, isn't like that?
No...

That was old method.
You have easy root and few other root tools for direct root.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=53448680

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk
 
axelms
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by funky0308 View Post
No...

That was old method.
You have easy root and few other root tools for direct root.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=53448680

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk
Okey, i was able to root and install recovery, however, when deodexing rom, I falshed the Zip and now my phone won't boot. Any idea about how can i solve it? Really, if not asking for too much, if someone could upload the zip i'm asking for he/she would make me really happy as I'm not such an expert. Thank you in advance
 
gregbradley
Old
#6  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 3,930
Posts: 9,266
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Manchester
Try this

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=51811914

How to get root on Xperia Z1 with KitKat 4.4.2, 4.4.3 & 4.4.4

If you are unsure, then read this.
If you are still unsure, watch this.
 

My contributions.
If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants. Sir Isaac Newton

[X10] | [NEO] | [Xperia T/TX] |
[Xperia Z1]
You are free to share my work, but please provide the correct credits and a link to my original thread.


 
axelms
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregbradley View Post
That's the tool I used and now my phone won't boot. Tried both, with and without zippaligning the apks
 
gregbradley
Old
#8  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 3,930
Posts: 9,266
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Manchester
I am just testing it now.

I did flash a deodex.zip this morning to my Vodafone .118 FW that someone had uploaded and I ended up in a bootloop. It was a strange one as it was part way through the bootanimation when it rebooted.

Once I have made my patch I will test it and let you know.

How to get root on Xperia Z1 with KitKat 4.4.2, 4.4.3 & 4.4.4

If you are unsure, then read this.
If you are still unsure, watch this.
 

My contributions.
If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants. Sir Isaac Newton

[X10] | [NEO] | [Xperia T/TX] |
[Xperia Z1]
You are free to share my work, but please provide the correct credits and a link to my original thread.


 
axelms
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregbradley View Post
I am just testing it now.

I did flash a deodex.zip this morning to my Vodafone .118 FW that someone had uploaded and I ended up in a bootloop. It was a strange one as it was part way through the bootanimation when it rebooted.

Once I have made my patch I will test it and let you know.
Okey! yes I saw that patch 5 min ago and tried and again had the same problem... I guess I'll flash an FTF and stay w/o doing nothing until someone is able. And really, thank you very much for helping me, hope you are able to find a solution
 
funky0308
Old
(Last edited by funky0308; 24th July 2014 at 05:36 PM.)
#10  
funky0308's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 5,143
Posts: 6,347
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Osijek

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by axelms View Post
Okey! yes I saw that patch 5 min ago and tried and again had the same problem... I guess I'll flash an FTF and stay w/o doing nothing until someone is able. And really, thank you very much for helping me, hope you are able to find a solution
There are some issues on some fw, yes.
Try to ask @Ben Ling what changes he did in scripts to avoid bootloop.
You'll have to change few lines, nothing complicated but I don't know which one...actually I can't remember.

You have my post on that thread
Try to fix those line and then try.

Or simply ask Ben to do that for you...

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


CyanogenMod 11 M10 Available for Supported Devices

Summer vacation isover for most students out there, and it’s the time to get back to … more

XDA Forums Added for the First Batch of Android One Devices!

Just yesterday, we talked about the highly anticipated launch of the first batch … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: DonkeyGuard, Don’t Be a Donkey, Control Your Device – XDA Developer TV

Some applications ask for the world … more

Use Facebook Pictures as a LWP with Facebook View

One of the best things that Android has always offeredits users is the ability to tailor … more