Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more

Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more
Post Reply

[Q] Root on Vodafone ROM

OP axelms

24th July 2014, 11:41 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Hi all!
Well my problem is the following: I would like to root my Xperia Z1 and have the latest KitKat Rom, nevertheless I like using Vodafone's stock Rom as it includes Vodafone Wallet app, which allows me to pay with my phone using NFC. The problem appears because it's not possible to use Vodafone Wallet app on a Rom which is not original from vodafone, but I don't find any .zip fle which includes a rooted version of vodafone's 14.4.A.0.118 rom.
My question is, could anyone make a zip of that rom which is already rooted, deodexed and so?
Tank you in advance, Axel.
24th July 2014, 11:54 AM   |  #2  
funky0308's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Osijek
Thanks Meter: 5,371
 
6,583 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by axelms

Hi all!
Well my problem is the following: I would like to root my Xperia Z1 and have the latest KitKat Rom, nevertheless I like using Vodafone's stock Rom as it includes Vodafone Wallet app, which allows me to pay with my phone using NFC. The problem appears because it's not possible to use Vodafone Wallet app on a Rom which is not original from vodafone, but I don't find any .zip fle which includes a rooted version of vodafone's 14.4.A.0.118 rom.
My question is, could anyone make a zip of that rom which is already rooted, deodexed and so?
Tank you in advance, Axel.

Don't get it...
Why don't you root your, Vodafones firmwares?

Deodexing is very simple as well...
You have tool for it in cros section.

Flash ftf
Root it
Install recovery
Extract files with that deodexing tool to your PC
Deodex them
You'll get flashable zip
Flash that zip

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk
24th July 2014, 12:01 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by funky0308

Don't get it...
Why don't you root your, Vodafones firmwares?

Deodexing is very simple as well...
You have tool for it in cros section.

Flash ftf
Root it
Install recovery
Extract files with that deodexing tool to your PC
Deodex them
You'll get flashable zip
Flash that zip

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk

As far as I know for rooting it is necessary to downgrade to .534, root it, install custom recovery, and install an already rooted zip drom it, isn't like that?
24th July 2014, 12:04 PM   |  #4  
funky0308's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Osijek
Thanks Meter: 5,371
 
6,583 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by axelms

As far as I know for rooting it is necessary to downgrade to .534, root it, install custom recovery, and install an already rooted zip drom it, isn't like that?

No...

That was old method.
You have easy root and few other root tools for direct root.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=53448680

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk
24th July 2014, 02:12 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by funky0308

No...

That was old method.
You have easy root and few other root tools for direct root.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=53448680

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk

Okey, i was able to root and install recovery, however, when deodexing rom, I falshed the Zip and now my phone won't boot. Any idea about how can i solve it? Really, if not asking for too much, if someone could upload the zip i'm asking for he/she would make me really happy as I'm not such an expert. Thank you in advance
24th July 2014, 02:30 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregbradley

Try this

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=51811914

That's the tool I used and now my phone won't boot. Tried both, with and without zippaligning the apks
24th July 2014, 02:44 PM   |  #8  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 4,156
 
9,657 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
I am just testing it now.

I did flash a deodex.zip this morning to my Vodafone .118 FW that someone had uploaded and I ended up in a bootloop. It was a strange one as it was part way through the bootanimation when it rebooted.

Once I have made my patch I will test it and let you know.
24th July 2014, 02:56 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregbradley

I am just testing it now.

I did flash a deodex.zip this morning to my Vodafone .118 FW that someone had uploaded and I ended up in a bootloop. It was a strange one as it was part way through the bootanimation when it rebooted.

Once I have made my patch I will test it and let you know.

Okey! yes I saw that patch 5 min ago and tried and again had the same problem... I guess I'll flash an FTF and stay w/o doing nothing until someone is able. And really, thank you very much for helping me, hope you are able to find a solution
24th July 2014, 03:07 PM   |  #10  
funky0308's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Osijek
Thanks Meter: 5,371
 
6,583 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by axelms

Okey! yes I saw that patch 5 min ago and tried and again had the same problem... I guess I'll flash an FTF and stay w/o doing nothing until someone is able. And really, thank you very much for helping me, hope you are able to find a solution

There are some issues on some fw, yes.
Try to ask @Ben Ling what changes he did in scripts to avoid bootloop.
You'll have to change few lines, nothing complicated but I don't know which one...actually I can't remember.

You have my post on that thread
Try to fix those line and then try.

Or simply ask Ben to do that for you...

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk
Last edited by funky0308; 24th July 2014 at 05:36 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Xperia Z1 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank