Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Wiped tablet, tried to install CM. Failed because wifi tablet thinks it is castor.

OP spanielhead

5th August 2014, 01:31 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Lugano
Thanks Meter: 2
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
I wiped my device and now can't install CM because it thinks it is castor and not castor_windy. It is a wifi z2 tablet.

I used tool from this thread to gain root. After I used root checker basic to check I was rooted and it said I was.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2784900

I used tool from this thread to install custom recovery, I believe successfully. I was able to reboot into recovery afterwards.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2794175

To try and install CM I tried to follow the instructions in this post.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...00&postcount=1

To do 4&5 in twrp, I wiped cache, system and dalvik. I got the problem in the following picture (pictures are all links because I couldn't work out how to get them small enough to attach).
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bxo...it?usp=sharing
It eventually formatted all three.

I then tried to install CM, PA gapps, and recovery (as suggested in the recovery thread to make sure keep recovery after reboot). This happened.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bxo...it?usp=sharing

I didn't make a backup in advance because I am an idiot. I do have TA backed up.

What did I do wrong and how can I fix it please?
Last edited by spanielhead; 5th August 2014 at 01:49 PM. Reason: Changed last line from please help to what it currently is.
5th August 2014, 03:11 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
113 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
If I understand you correctly, you have tried too flash CM without unlocking your bootloader first.

As far as I know, this is not possible: Due to the locked bootloader, the CM Kernel cannot be installed and hence CM won't work anyways.

With locked bootloader, you can only flash stock-based ROMs which share the Kernel with the original ROM.

You can use flastool to flash a TFT (stock firmware), then your tablet should work again.

For flashing a real CM which requires an unlocked bootloader see here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2708194

Bootloader unlocking: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2747676

Have fun!
5th August 2014, 04:22 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Lugano
Thanks Meter: 2
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BabelHuber

If I understand you correctly, you have tried too flash CM without unlocking your bootloader first.

As far as I know, this is not possible: Due to the locked bootloader, the CM Kernel cannot be installed and hence CM won't work anyways.

With locked bootloader, you can only flash stock-based ROMs which share the Kernel with the original ROM.

You can use flastool to flash a TFT (stock firmware), then your tablet should work again.

For flashing a real CM which requires an unlocked bootloader see here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2708194

Bootloader unlocking: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2747676

Have fun!

Thank you. You are exactly correct, I didn't unlock the bootloader first.

Would this flashtool work given I am currently in twrp and have no OS? If it would it is showing the links for the ROM for SGP511 and this is 512. Is it the same or do I need a different link for the ROM?
http://xperiafirmware.com/8-firmware...t-wi-fi-sgp512

Thanks. Trying to have fun.
5th August 2014, 09:04 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
113 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by spanielhead

Thank you. You are exactly correct, I didn't unlock the bootloader first.

Would this flashtool work given I am currently in twrp and have no OS? If it would it is showing the links for the ROM for SGP511 and this is 512. Is it the same or do I need a different link for the ROM?
http://xperiafirmware.com/8-firmware...t-wi-fi-sgp512

Thanks. Trying to have fun.

Look at developer.sonymobile.com/unlockbootloader

IRRC you need to use fastboot to unlock the device. Afterwards, you can install Cm. If you are lucky you don't need to flash a stock ROM first.
5th August 2014, 10:54 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Flag Lugano
Thanks Meter: 2
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BabelHuber

Look at developer.sonymobile.com/unlockbootloader

IRRC you need to use fastboot to unlock the device. Afterwards, you can install Cm. If you are lucky you don't need to flash a stock ROM first.

Thank you. Have unlock key from Sony now.

I am currently in recovery. Should I be able to reboot the bootloader from recovery and get into fastboot that way? (Reminder I have no OS.)
6th August 2014, 04:59 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Flag Lugano
Thanks Meter: 2
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spanielhead

Thank you. Have unlock key from Sony now.

I am currently in recovery. Should I be able to reboot the bootloader from recovery and get into fastboot that way? (Reminder I have no OS.)

OK I tried this and bad things. Before the device was detected by my laptop, now it is not and it hangs at the sony logo and no led. Am I f***ed?
6th August 2014, 05:43 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spanielhead

OK I tried this and bad things. Before the device was detected by my laptop, now it is not and it hangs at the sony logo and no led. Am I f***ed?

I would suggest non Sony software anyway. I still have my bootloader, but since it's not allowed to be unlocked I can't use Sony software either.
6th August 2014, 08:31 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
113 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by spanielhead

OK I tried this and bad things. Before the device was detected by my laptop, now it is not and it hangs at the sony logo and no led. Am I f***ed?

Not at all

By long-pressing the power button (10 seconds or so) the tablet shuts down

Do the following:

- Get your Sony unlock key
- Install the Android SDK (Software Developers Kit) on your PC
- Install all necessary Xperia drivers (Google is your friend, don't remember where I got mine from)

Using fastboot:
- Connect your tablet to the PC while simultaneously pressing 'Volume up'. When the LED is blue you are in fastboot mode
- Unlock your tablet like described by Sony

- Install CWM from fastboot mode

- Reboot
- Enter recovery (press 'Volume up' when the LED is pink)

Copy files to tablet:

- Use the adb command line tool from Android SDK (in the same folder as fastboot)

Copy CM11 and GAPPs to tablet:

via Windows CMD: adb push filename.zip /sdcard/ROMs/filename.zip

- Flash CM11/ GAPPS via recovery

Done!
10th August 2014, 12:15 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Flag Lugano
Thanks Meter: 2
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BabelHuber

Using fastboot:
- Connect your tablet to the PC while simultaneously pressing 'Volume up'. When the LED is blue you are in fastboot mode
- Unlock your tablet like described by Sony

Have restored device to stock, then rooted and installed custom recovery (as in original post).

Can't get into fastboot mode. Trying as stated above fails. Screen stays off with blue LED. Same thing happens if I reboot into bootloader via flashify or recovery. fastboot devices then does not detect device. It does for my phone so think that means fastboot works.

I must have missed something (again). Thank you for your patience.

Edit: bootloader now unlocked with flashtool.

Edit 2: Used flashtool to fastboot flash boot.img from M9 snapshot (was this my mistake, not CM10?). Now can only get into fastboot, can't get into recovery. Without recovery I require an img file of the rom, is that correct?
Last edited by spanielhead; 10th August 2014 at 04:00 AM. Reason: stuck again
10th August 2014, 09:51 AM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Flag Lugano
Thanks Meter: 2
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hasenbein1966

I don't understand why you guys are so generous with your time and energy and write at length to help people who are too lazy and too careless to read properly and thus f*** up their devices...

I made a mistake, possibly multiple mistakes. I will continue to make mistakes. This forum is for people like me who don't know what they are doing to ask for help. No one has to offer that help. I am greatly appreciative when they do.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes