Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Z2 Pop up ads permanently on device?

OP chalk_serpent

2nd July 2014, 12:28 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Looks like I have to return my Z2 tablet. Everything was fine for two weeks but now not only has the vibrate function stopped working, but I am getting randomly redirected to the Google Play store every few minutes to a page for some game or dating site. I realised that I may have downloaded an app that caused this, so I did a factory reset but it still happens.

Anyone know why the problem would still be there after a hard reset? Is it possible that whatever bit of adware is redirecting me has put something on the tablet that can't be got rid of? Or has it corrupted my Google account so I will take the problem wherever I go now?

I am not rooted (nor do I wish to be).

Really fed up because apart from these two issues, I really loved the tablet
Last edited by chalk_serpent; 2nd July 2014 at 01:12 AM. Reason: Amend
2nd July 2014, 02:08 AM   |  #2  
degraaff's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 100
 
425 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Try clean installing the firmware with Sony Update Service or PC Companion
2nd July 2014, 08:20 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by degraaff

Try clean installing the firmware with Sony Update Service or PC Companion

Thanks for taking the time to reply, it is appreciated.. Are there any step by step guides anywhere as to how to do this? (Sorry, I'm not very technical).

When I got the tablet, I was immediately asked to update to .402 which I did. I noticed that when I did the factory reset, the firmware stayed at .402. I presume you are saying that I need a clean version of this, which makes sense, it's just that I don't really know where to start.
2nd July 2014, 11:13 AM   |  #4  
degraaff's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 100
 
425 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
You can use these detailed instructions
2nd July 2014, 10:24 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by degraaff

You can use these detailed instructions

Many thanks again.
2nd July 2014, 10:44 PM   |  #6  
degraaff's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 100
 
425 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chalk_serpent

Many thanks again.

Is your problem resolved?
2nd July 2014, 11:23 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by degraaff

Is your problem resolved?

In the end, I decided to get a replacement tablet sent and return the old one as the vibrate function is broken on the original and I don't think that's acceptable on a two week old device.

However, your helpful advice on reinstalling firmware is something I will use if I get the same issue with the replacement.

Kind regards

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes