What Do You Do with All of Your Old Photos?

Smartphone cameras have advanced so tremendously over the past few years that they have … more

Diving into the April 2015 Material Design Update

Before the release of Android 5.0 Lollipop, the Holo Design guidelines served as the … more

New Cyanogen Partnerships Bring Privacy Concerns

New Privacy concerns have emerged regarding Cyanogen’s latest announcements, … more

PSA: Google Play Services Wakelock Affects Many 5.x ROMs

Wakelocks are the bane of the battery conscious, and this wakelock bug has been … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Guide] Test waterproofing without water!

17th October 2014, 05:32 AM |#1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Hi everyone, this is a copy/paste from Z3 General Forum. All credits to its OP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bäcker

Did you ever wonder if your device is really waterproof but do not want to find that out by dunking it in water?

Here is a test which uses just the phone and it's service mode (or any barometer app).
1. dial *#*#7378423#*#*
2. go to "Service Tests"
3. go to "pressure sensor"
4. slightly compress the phone using your thumb and index finger by pressing on the display and back

SLIGHT PRESSURE. No Berserker mode please! This is not a crush-your-phone contest!

--> if all seals are intact the pressure should rise. Your phone with intact seals is a closed system. If you compress the volume the pressure goes up as a result. If any of the seals is compromised pressure will not rise.

Note: pressure will decrease automatically - that might be a result of the sensor adjusting, it will not go back to it's original value until you relieve the pressure.

credit for the original idea goes to User Alik from the German Android-Hilfe.de forums

The Following 23 Users Say Thank You to Bumblecito For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
17th October 2014, 08:56 AM |#2  
Bäcker's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 177
 
383 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
More
this only works with a pressure sensor (barometer) - does the Z2 have one?
The Following User Says Thank You to Bäcker For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th October 2014, 09:10 AM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bäcker

this only works with a pressure sensor (barometer) - does the Z2 have one?

yes z2 have pressure/barometer sensor.
17th October 2014, 09:15 AM |#4  
Bäcker's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 177
 
383 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
More
then you can use this test for Z2 as well
17th October 2014, 12:03 PM |#5  
mariosraptor's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Corfu
Thanks Meter: 648
 
2,287 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
Donate to Me
More
It works. Pressure rise when pressure applied with closed flaps.
Once I open a flap and again apply pressure then nothing happens. Pressure stays the same. So, mine is waterproof. Yeeey
17th October 2014, 12:53 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2014
I tested,
start value: 1009
compress and hold: rise to 1020 and back to 1009.
release: fall to 1005 and back to 1009
It looks like mine has fault?
Last edited by nariwing; 17th October 2014 at 01:09 PM.
17th October 2014, 01:26 PM |#7  
ArbiterGR's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 96
 
365 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nariwing

I tested,
start value: 1009
compress and hold: rise to 1020 and back to 1009.
release: fall to 1005 and back to 1009
It looks like mine has fault?

I get the same reading. it starts at 1014 and goes all the way up to 1022 when i touch it with my thumb, but it automatically goes back almost instantly with my finger stilll pressuring on the screen. If i open the flaps, then the sensor's reading wont change. I'm clueless!
Last edited by ArbiterGR; 17th October 2014 at 01:29 PM.
17th October 2014, 01:34 PM |#8  
BR4DOKYBrazil's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Londrina
Thanks Meter: 51
 
675 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Excellent! Thanks for the tip! Everything is perfect with my device!
17th October 2014, 02:34 PM |#9  
mariosraptor's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Corfu
Thanks Meter: 648
 
2,287 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArbiterGR

I get the same reading. it starts at 1014 and goes all the way up to 1022 when i touch it with my thumb, but it automatically goes back almost instantly with my finger stilll pressuring on the screen. If i open the flaps, then the sensor's reading wont change. I'm clueless!

It means it's working cause pressure gets stabilized
The Following User Says Thank You to mariosraptor For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th October 2014, 02:38 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
566 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Same here pressure equalizes after a second. So its not really tight?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes