Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,448 Members 40,605 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Latest CWM SuperUser flashable zip

Tip us?
 
BanziBaby
Old
#1  
BanziBaby's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 323
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default Latest CWM SuperUser flashable zip

Hi, folks,

I have pretty much wasted the past 3-4 hours trying to get cwm superuser to work.

I installed .314 UK generic firmware using FlashTool & unticked wipe data, then used TowelRoot v12 to root then flashed NUT's dual recovery but no matter what cwm superuser flashable zip I use I cant get it to work right, it always prompts me to use recovery install when I open the SuperUser app, tried that but I just get error saying there was a error installing SuperUser. If I disable SuperUser then install SuperSU & SuperSU pro from market I get root access but SuperSU has always had issues with AdAway applying the hosts file so I switched to CWM SuperUser when I was on .402 firmware.

I did have the flashable CWM zip file but can no longer find it

Really need some help with this.
 
guhvanoh
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 113
Posts: 327
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by BanziBaby View Post
Hi, folks,

I have pretty much wasted the past 3-4 hours trying to get cwm superuser to work.

I installed .314 UK generic firmware using FlashTool & unticked wipe data, then used TowelRoot v12 to root then flashed NUT's dual recovery but no matter what cwm superuser flashable zip I use I cant get it to work right, it always prompts me to use recovery install when I open the SuperUser app, tried that but I just get error saying there was a error installing SuperUser. If I disable SuperUser then install SuperSU & SuperSU pro from market I get root access but SuperSU has always had issues with AdAway applying the hosts file so I switched to CWM SuperUser when I was on .402 firmware.

I did have the flashable CWM zip file but can no longer find it

Really need some help with this.
If you're not on CWM, you can't use CWM SuperUser. Install SuperSU and use that. You can also switch to AdFree which is what I use. You'll also need to install XZDualRecovery to be able to write to /system.

Sent from my SGP311 using XDA Free mobile app
Registered Linux User # 125653 (http://counter.li.org)
S XZ2: Stock
S XTZ: Stock
S XZ: Stock (Gone)
SGS3: CM11
SE X10: ParanoidAndroid 2.+
 
BanziBaby
Old
#3  
BanziBaby's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 323
Join Date: Oct 2010
Thanks for the reply

I was using CWM superuser with no issues on .402 UK generic & Philz recovery, I have always had issues with SuperSU both on my old Galaxy S3 with custom roms & now on my Z2, most of the time with SuperSU any app that needs root access will freeze due to the delay in SuperSU showing the alert & as I mentioned above with AdAway not being able to apply the hosts file 90% of the time.

I also have Dual Recovery installed but keep losing it, seems that using the NDR tools app it installs causes the phone to forget that the recoveries are installed.

Just want some help with this issue & it would be great if someone could post a working kitkat CWM superuser flashable zip.
 
BanziBaby
Old
(Last edited by BanziBaby; 4th September 2014 at 04:15 PM.)
#4  
BanziBaby's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 323
Join Date: Oct 2010
Can anyone else help me with this?

Have just done a full wipe & used Flashtool to install UK generic .314, have used EasyRoot 12.1 to root & it says I'm rooted. I then install CWM SuperUser from market & when opening it says the su binary needs to be updated & only gives recovery install or cancel options, I chose recovery & it reboots into Philz recovery & says it has installed but Philz says root is broken. When I boot the phone again I get a notification from SuperUser saying the binary needs to be updated again but when I tap recovery it just says there was a error.

Really would appreciate some help here as I need to get AdAway installed, change the DPI & use the nextapp kitkat SD fix app.

Cheers.

EDIT: forget it, got it fixed myself, now CWM superuser is working fine.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes