Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,480 Members 54,128 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] LTE not working on Z2?

Tip us?
 
MajorAly
Old
#1  
MajorAly's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 191
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Jeddah
Default [Q] LTE not working on Z2?

So around 3 weeks ago I got a brand new unlocked Z2 D6503. As it says, it supports LTE and the bands it support are available and broadcasted here in KSA.

I'm on the operator Zain KSA and when I manually search for mobile networks, I do see the LTE network by the operator but whenever I select it, it doesn't register on it.

I've tried everything from calling/visiting the network operator from changing the SIM and getting a new one.

The FW I have is .314

Anyone has any experience or any idea? Do I need to reflash the FW?

Device: Samsung Galaxy S4 GT-I9500
ROM: Stock 4.3 MK3 | Kernel: Perseus Alpha | Recovery: CWM

Laying the legend to rest: Samsung Galaxy SII
 
kirdroid
Old
#2  
kirdroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 313
Posts: 2,198
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Seattle
May be enter the correct APN settings for your carrier?

Sent from my One using Tapatalk
 
hush66
Old
#3  
hush66's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 384
Posts: 810
Join Date: Apr 2010
Firstly, are you on an LTE plan? For Singapore, we need to sign up to an LTE plan and the operator has to do the necessary activation, before we can register on the LTE network.
 
MajorAly
Old
#4  
MajorAly's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 191
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Jeddah
Quote:
Originally Posted by hush66 View Post
Firstly, are you on an LTE plan? For Singapore, we need to sign up to an LTE plan and the operator has to do the necessary activation, before we can register on the LTE network.
That's the thing, I already had 4G activated, and I specially got it deactivated and activated again on this handset. 4G coverage is in my area, each and everything is in optimal condition. The network operator says everything is also fine at their end...

Quote:
Originally Posted by kirdroid View Post
May be enter the correct APN settings for your carrier?

Sent from my One using Tapatalk
Yup everything is configured correctly

Device: Samsung Galaxy S4 GT-I9500
ROM: Stock 4.3 MK3 | Kernel: Perseus Alpha | Recovery: CWM

Laying the legend to rest: Samsung Galaxy SII
 
MajorAly
Old
#5  
MajorAly's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 191
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Jeddah
I can confirm that it is the handset that is not registering LTE.

I just popped in a working LTE SIM which has full coverage in my area and Z2 fails to register it...

Device: Samsung Galaxy S4 GT-I9500
ROM: Stock 4.3 MK3 | Kernel: Perseus Alpha | Recovery: CWM

Laying the legend to rest: Samsung Galaxy SII
 
HugePotato
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 51
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Cracow
Well I can't say much about LTE since I am on 3G data plan so can't use it. But the funny thing happened that I was on Edge connection, even tho I was in city centre and I could use 3G, it was full. So went into phone options and changed into 3G only and then Z2 has magically seen the better connection. Try to do that for LTE, maybe it will work. Otherwise I would flash other firmware or repair with PCC.
 
MajorAly
Old
#7  
MajorAly's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 191
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Jeddah
Quote:
Originally Posted by HugePotato View Post
Well I can't say much about LTE since I am on 3G data plan so can't use it. But the funny thing happened that I was on Edge connection, even tho I was in city centre and I could use 3G, it was full. So went into phone options and changed into 3G only and then Z2 has magically seen the better connection. Try to do that for LTE, maybe it will work. Otherwise I would flash other firmware or repair with PCC.
Okay so actually solved the issue.

I reinstalled/repaired the FW using Sony PC Companion and now LTE works perfectly. But the side effect? I heard that 4.4.2 causes many bugs and seems like I just got the phone sluggish one.

Phone feels sluggish in different parts as well as when I tap the recent icons button. Also the animation for WiFi turning on and off is not there anymore...

I don't know what's happening anymore....:/

Device: Samsung Galaxy S4 GT-I9500
ROM: Stock 4.3 MK3 | Kernel: Perseus Alpha | Recovery: CWM

Laying the legend to rest: Samsung Galaxy SII
 
HugePotato
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 51
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Cracow
I too have a bit of a lag when I hit recents menu button. I guess it's just the way Z2 is now and we have to wait for new firmwares, hopefully with less bugs, to come.
Happy for you that you fixed the problem with LTE
 
MajorAly
Old
#9  
MajorAly's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 191
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Jeddah
Quote:
Originally Posted by HugePotato View Post
I too have a bit of a lag when I hit recents menu button. I guess it's just the way Z2 is now and we have to wait for new firmwares, hopefully with less bugs, to come.
Happy for you that you fixed the problem with LTE
Yeah, seems like we'll just have to wait for 4.4.4 to hit...

Sad how the animations worked and there was no lag but sadly no LTE functionality. Such bad FW release.

And yeah atleast I fixed the LTE issue as I really can't stand slow internet and H+ seems pretty slow to me.

Device: Samsung Galaxy S4 GT-I9500
ROM: Stock 4.3 MK3 | Kernel: Perseus Alpha | Recovery: CWM

Laying the legend to rest: Samsung Galaxy SII

Tags
ksa, xperia, zain
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes