Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] LTE not working on Z2?

OP MajorAly

4th August 2014, 11:40 PM   |  #1  
MajorAly's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Jeddah
Thanks Meter: 86
 
191 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
So around 3 weeks ago I got a brand new unlocked Z2 D6503. As it says, it supports LTE and the bands it support are available and broadcasted here in KSA.

I'm on the operator Zain KSA and when I manually search for mobile networks, I do see the LTE network by the operator but whenever I select it, it doesn't register on it.

I've tried everything from calling/visiting the network operator from changing the SIM and getting a new one.

The FW I have is .314

Anyone has any experience or any idea? Do I need to reflash the FW?
5th August 2014, 06:14 AM   |  #2  
kirdroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Seattle
Thanks Meter: 319
 
2,217 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
May be enter the correct APN settings for your carrier?

Sent from my One using Tapatalk
5th August 2014, 06:31 AM   |  #3  
hush66's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 403
 
863 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Firstly, are you on an LTE plan? For Singapore, we need to sign up to an LTE plan and the operator has to do the necessary activation, before we can register on the LTE network.
5th August 2014, 10:44 AM   |  #4  
MajorAly's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Jeddah
Thanks Meter: 86
 
191 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by hush66

Firstly, are you on an LTE plan? For Singapore, we need to sign up to an LTE plan and the operator has to do the necessary activation, before we can register on the LTE network.

That's the thing, I already had 4G activated, and I specially got it deactivated and activated again on this handset. 4G coverage is in my area, each and everything is in optimal condition. The network operator says everything is also fine at their end...

Quote:
Originally Posted by kirdroid

May be enter the correct APN settings for your carrier?

Sent from my One using Tapatalk

Yup everything is configured correctly
5th August 2014, 04:59 PM   |  #5  
MajorAly's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Jeddah
Thanks Meter: 86
 
191 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
I can confirm that it is the handset that is not registering LTE.

I just popped in a working LTE SIM which has full coverage in my area and Z2 fails to register it...
5th August 2014, 11:14 PM   |  #6  
Member
Flag Cracow
Thanks Meter: 9
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Well I can't say much about LTE since I am on 3G data plan so can't use it. But the funny thing happened that I was on Edge connection, even tho I was in city centre and I could use 3G, it was full. So went into phone options and changed into 3G only and then Z2 has magically seen the better connection. Try to do that for LTE, maybe it will work. Otherwise I would flash other firmware or repair with PCC.
5th August 2014, 11:23 PM   |  #7  
MajorAly's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Jeddah
Thanks Meter: 86
 
191 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by HugePotato

Well I can't say much about LTE since I am on 3G data plan so can't use it. But the funny thing happened that I was on Edge connection, even tho I was in city centre and I could use 3G, it was full. So went into phone options and changed into 3G only and then Z2 has magically seen the better connection. Try to do that for LTE, maybe it will work. Otherwise I would flash other firmware or repair with PCC.

Okay so actually solved the issue.

I reinstalled/repaired the FW using Sony PC Companion and now LTE works perfectly. But the side effect? I heard that 4.4.2 causes many bugs and seems like I just got the phone sluggish one.

Phone feels sluggish in different parts as well as when I tap the recent icons button. Also the animation for WiFi turning on and off is not there anymore...

I don't know what's happening anymore....:/
5th August 2014, 11:26 PM   |  #8  
Member
Flag Cracow
Thanks Meter: 9
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
I too have a bit of a lag when I hit recents menu button. I guess it's just the way Z2 is now and we have to wait for new firmwares, hopefully with less bugs, to come.
Happy for you that you fixed the problem with LTE
5th August 2014, 11:34 PM   |  #9  
MajorAly's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Jeddah
Thanks Meter: 86
 
191 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by HugePotato

I too have a bit of a lag when I hit recents menu button. I guess it's just the way Z2 is now and we have to wait for new firmwares, hopefully with less bugs, to come.
Happy for you that you fixed the problem with LTE

Yeah, seems like we'll just have to wait for 4.4.4 to hit...

Sad how the animations worked and there was no lag but sadly no LTE functionality. Such bad FW release.

And yeah atleast I fixed the LTE issue as I really can't stand slow internet and H+ seems pretty slow to me.
26th October 2014, 02:45 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2014
Unhappy Same problem...install the new software through PC companion still the problem
Quote:
Originally Posted by MajorAly

Okay so actually solved the issue.

I reinstalled/repaired the FW using Sony PC Companion and now LTE works perfectly. But the side effect? I heard that 4.4.2 causes many bugs and seems like I just got the phone sluggish one.

Phone feels sluggish in different parts as well as when I tap the recent icons button. Also the animation for WiFi turning on and off is not there anymore...

I don't know what's happening anymore....:/

Dear Majorlay sir
i need your help, i am trying to connect to my lte network, it dont register
i am having new 4g activated Mobily sim in khobar (KSA)
kindly help and send me your number i will call you back
please help me
0542353734
tarun.aggarwalymca@gmail.com

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
ksa, xperia, zain
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes