T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more
Post Reply

[Q] Restoring phone to stock

OP TheOnlyIntruder

25th August 2014, 05:42 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
208 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Hi everyone, wonder if you can point me in the right direction.

I'm currently on a custom rom with an unlocked bootloader and I wish to go back to stock including locking the bootloader, from what I've found out so far this is what I need to do: -

Flash original ftf
root
flash TA
reflash ftf to lose root
Now back to stock with "Bootloader Unlock Allowed: Yes"

Trouble is I can't find how to go about restoring the TA partition from my TA image so if anyone can explain what software I need and the steps I have to take I'd greatly appreciate it, thanks.
25th August 2014, 05:48 PM   |  #2  
hush66's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 395
 
830 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
You can use the same tool that is used to backup the TA partition (read the FAQ in the 1st post):

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2292598
The Following User Says Thank You to hush66 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th August 2014, 05:51 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
208 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hush66

You can use the same tool that is used to backup the TA partition (read the FAQ in the 1st post):

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2292598

Cheers

I didn't know that you see as I used the Doomlord root exploit before the other methods were available, thanks again.

Edit: Thanks again, I'm now back to stock with the service page reporting "Bootloader Unlock Allowed: Yes"
Last edited by TheOnlyIntruder; 25th August 2014 at 07:12 PM.
28th August 2014, 11:28 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOnlyIntruder

Cheers

I didn't know that you see as I used the Doomlord root exploit before the other methods were available, thanks again.

Edit: Thanks again, I'm now back to stock with the service page reporting "Bootloader Unlock Allowed: Yes"

Sorry for high-jacking this thread, it however loosely fits my problem.

When I got the Z2 I was, in all honesty quite quick with rooting and swapping the stock Sony ROM with Cyanogen. So quick in fact that I didn't bother for two seconds to actually perform a backup of the system beforehand.

So my question is this - is it possible (given the fact that DRM and such will be lost for all eternity) to revert to stock rom without the backup?
If so... How really? (couldn't find anyhone so stupid on here to do the same rookie misstake as I did so no answers was found while scouring through the forums...)

Thanks in advance, and yet again, sorry for high-jacking the thread.
29th August 2014, 12:55 AM   |  #5  
Envious_Data's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Imagination
Thanks Meter: 1,034
 
2,533 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by silvisaquilo

Sorry for high-jacking this thread, it however loosely fits my problem.

When I got the Z2 I was, in all honesty quite quick with rooting and swapping the stock Sony ROM with Cyanogen. So quick in fact that I didn't bother for two seconds to actually perform a backup of the system beforehand.

So my question is this - is it possible (given the fact that DRM and such will be lost for all eternity) to revert to stock rom without the backup?
If so... How really? (couldn't find anyhone so stupid on here to do the same rookie misstake as I did so no answers was found while scouring through the forums...)

Thanks in advance, and yet again, sorry for high-jacking the thread.

you can revert to stock using flashtool and a ftf of your choice, also you can use flashtool to relock your bootloader
your drm keys wont come back

flashtool.net <flashtool im talking about
29th August 2014, 07:00 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Envious_Data

you can revert to stock using flashtool and a ftf of your choice, also you can use flashtool to relock your bootloader
your drm keys wont come back

flashtool.net <flashtool im talking about

Thank you for a quick reply - forgot to add a question, what happens to the phone WITHOUT the DRM keys? What will I not be able to do - that i presently can with cyanogen or non-f***ed-up-stock-ROM?

Thanks!
29th August 2014, 08:04 AM   |  #7  
Envious_Data's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Imagination
Thanks Meter: 1,034
 
2,533 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by silvisaquilo

Thank you for a quick reply - forgot to add a question, what happens to the phone WITHOUT the DRM keys? What will I not be able to do - that i presently can with cyanogen or non-f***ed-up-stock-ROM?

Thanks!

nothing is affected by your drm keys weather they exist or not in 4.4.2/4.4.4 xperias they are simply used to check if you have modified your device ie. bootloader unlock (relocking doesnt restore your drm keys)
29th August 2014, 08:07 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Envious_Data

nothing is affected by your drm keys weather they exist or not in 4.4.2/4.4.4 xperias they are simply used to check if you have modified your device ie. bootloader unlock (relocking doesnt restore your drm keys)

Ah, thank you!

Well as I already figured that I messed up any warranty, that's no issue for me, so really thank you. I was hoping that I could restore to original stock rom to be able to properly use the camera and noise-canceling headphones. Seems like it then.

Yet again, thank you!
29th August 2014, 09:02 AM   |  #9  
Envious_Data's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Imagination
Thanks Meter: 1,034
 
2,533 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by silvisaquilo

Ah, thank you!

Well as I already figured that I messed up any warranty, that's no issue for me, so really thank you. I was hoping that I could restore to original stock rom to be able to properly use the camera and noise-canceling headphones. Seems like it then.

Yet again, thank you!

X-Reality and Noise canceling not working is a bug in certain firmwares the camera not working is a myth

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Xperia Z2 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank