Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Anyway to unroot without wiping data

OP BigladUK

7th July 2014, 08:39 PM   |  #1  
BigladUK's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
246 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
My banking app requires me not be rooted and I'm a stock bootloader locked, rooted phone, can I unroot by changing some files or something? Not sure how my banking app knows I'm rooted

Thanks for any help

Si
7th July 2014, 09:16 PM   |  #2  
Mr.Rô's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 99
 
513 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Try root cloak in xposed see if that works, you can unroot via the su app if it doesn't work
7th July 2014, 09:31 PM   |  #3  
BigladUK's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
246 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Good call on root cloak but it's not working for hbos.

I did the remove root option in supersu but that didn't remove root..am I missing something?
7th July 2014, 10:38 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigladUK

Good call on root cloak but it's not working for hbos.

I did the remove root option in supersu but that didn't remove root..am I missing something?

Did you uninstall supersu aswell?
7th July 2014, 10:40 PM   |  #5  
BigladUK's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
246 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
supersu uninstalled when I ran the option to remove root
7th July 2014, 11:04 PM   |  #6  
BigladUK's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
246 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
I know I'm still rooted as I've got a root checker from the playstore.
8th July 2014, 02:36 AM   |  #7  
hush66's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 402
 
861 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
I believe you can just flash a stock firmware and ensure that you uncheck the option to wipe data during the process.
The Following User Says Thank You to hush66 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th July 2014, 09:26 AM   |  #8  
BigladUK's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
246 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hush66

I believe you can just flash a stock firmware and ensure that you uncheck the option to wipe data during the process.

Thanks for that, did a full back up this morning ( using the handy sony supplued backup and restore app ) then did a flash unticking the 3 wipe options ( appcache, syslog & data I think ), flash went well and when the came back up it did the android optomising your apps thiny like an uipdate had occured but most importantly all my data was good. I did see a contact crash of acore process which a quick google search identified as needing to clear the cache of contacts then I thought I was home free....but then I saw a pop up for a Sony OS update which I did and after the reboot I'm now getting Exchange services have stopped and Mail has stopped. I've removed my exchange account and cleared Cache and Data for mail, exchange services, calander, contacts and few more but I still get the Exchange error when I try to add my exchange account back in or open mail....any ideas ?

On the plus side, my HBOS now works like a dream

Thanks guys

Si
8th July 2014, 09:45 AM   |  #9  
hush66's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 402
 
861 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigladUK

but then I saw a pop up for a Sony OS update which I did and after the reboot I'm now getting Exchange services have stopped and Mail has stopped. I've removed my exchange account and cleared Cache and Data for mail, exchange services, calander, contacts and few more but I still get the Exchange error when I try to add my exchange account back in or open mail....any ideas ?

I can only think of clearing the cache and data for Email, Enterprise Services and Exchange Services apps. You might also want to check under Settings -> Accounts and delete any email accounts you've set up there. Sorry I can't be of much help here.
8th July 2014, 03:27 PM   |  #10  
BigladUK's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
246 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
No need to appologise, any help is apprecidated.

Spent 20mins at lunch going through the app list doing the following
Forcing Close, removing Database

Did for Calenders, Contacts, Mail, Exchange etc and obvioulsy hit the right one as it's not all working

Managed to add my email account back and my HBOS is now working

Happy days

Si

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes