Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,846 Members 37,796 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Xperia Z2 Verizon set up?

Tip us?
 
scallawag
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 15
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default Xperia Z2 Verizon set up?

If I buy the Z2 is it ready to go on the Verizon network USA?
I would buy it from the Sony online store so it would be unlocked and international.
What I am wondering is the APN for Verizon preinstalled?
Does the Z2 work with all the Verizon cellular bands?
How is the Z2 for dropped calls and call quality in general?
Thanks for any help...john
 
scallawag
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 15
Join Date: Dec 2013
This should be a simple answer. Why no answers?
 
dc82
Old
#3  
dc82's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 220
Posts: 1,883
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by scallawag View Post
This should be a simple answer. Why no answers?
The answer is simple. Since you have access to a computer, instead of waiting for someone else to do it for you, look online for the bands the Z2 supports and look at the bands VZW uses. If they aren't the same, it won't work. My guess, is that it will not work, or, if at all extremely limited since VZW is CDMA and this is a GSM phone.
 
scallawag
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 15
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dc82 View Post
The answer is simple. Since you have access to a computer, instead of waiting for someone else to do it for you, look online for the bands the Z2 supports and look at the bands VZW uses. If they aren't the same, it won't work. My guess, is that it will not work, or, if at all extremely limited since VZW is CDMA and this is a GSM phone.
Not so simple as you make out. Some phones may have the correct bands but not the APN settings you need. Apn settings can be a pain to configure. Like setting up an iPhone for Straight Talk can be a struggle because you need to manually input the APN settings.
But I think you answered my question. Thank you for your replay.
 
Tap053
Old
#5  
Tap053's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Sep 2012
I am wondering this same thing.. apns aren't actually that hard to fix, & though the unlocked intl Z2 is mainly GSM I believe there are UK & Canadian Z2s that are CDMA
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes