FXP Team Delivers Lollipop to Various Xperia Devices!

From all of us here at XDA-Developers, we’d like to wish you Happy Holidays! If … more

Turn Your Camera Into a Live Puzzle Game

The classic sliding puzzle game hasnt changed much, if at all, over the years. Dating all the way … more

Samsung Begins Production of 8 Gb RAM Chips

With the release of Android 5.0, our favorite mobile operating system has become 64-bit ready. … more

CM, Micromax and OnePlus – Sales Ban Lifted

It’s less than a week since our recent in-depth analysis of the legal battle over the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required

[Q] Z2 died yesterday (out of the blue) - newbie here, any advice appreciated!

OP senwong

5th November 2014, 09:53 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0

3 posts
Hello,

I have an unrooted Z2. With around 30% battery left, I put it in the charging dock on my desktop yesterday evening. After 1 or 2 hours, I noticed that the phone is completely dead - no LEDs are blinking, no vibration, nothing. I tried pressing the power button alone, in combination with VolumeDown, VolumeUp, CameraButton, for more than 30 seconds each. I tried pressing down the tiny red button next to the SIM slot for awhile. Nothing. Phone is dead like a brick.

The only result I'm getting is when I plug it into my computer (ubuntu 14.10) - the LED bar on top is showing a constant red color in this case. Doing the button presses outlined above in this situation is also pointless.

I'm installing flashtool for Linux right now, the connection is pretty slow and it will take awhile. I hope to find out more afterwards. I'm a newbie when it comes to flashing sony phones, only found out now about flashtool. Any advice/tip on how to proceed, or if it even makes sense to dig into this, is highly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!