Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,174 Members 36,382 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Good for Enterprise crashes when Xposed is enabled

Tip us?
 
Slappy_G
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 119
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cleveland, OH
Default [Q] Good for Enterprise crashes when Xposed is enabled

Hi folks...

I am using a T-Mo Galaxy Note 3 with 4.3 (jellybean) and the latest Xposed Framework 2.7.1 (for reference, I did also try 2.4 through 2.5.1, with the same results).

I have installed the "Good for Enterprise" application to access my organization's email system. Our policy does NOT restrict use of root, so my issue is NOT with the fact that I am rooted.

However, whenever I enable the framework, even with NO modules enabled, launching Good crashes the app right after I enter my password into it. This is 100% repeatable. If I disable Xposed and reboot, Good works perfectly. This is also 100% repeatable.

I have looked through the logcat output and don't know what to look for, as I see a good amount of recurring debug messages. Any suggestions for how to proceed? Also, is it possible to blacklist an application so Xposed does not try to hook only that app?

Any suggestions are appreciated, and please remember that my organization does NOT restrict root via Good policy, so I don't have to worry about RootCloak, etc.

Thanks folks!

- SG
.NET Architect / Developer, Phone Hacker, PhotoShop guy - I seem to be getting the best results with the last one. Go figure.

HTC 8525 -> Samsung Instinct -> HTC Touch Pro -> HTC EVO 4G -> HTC Evo LTE -> Samsung Galaxy Note 3

Galaxy Note III: The Revenge

 
visualmog
Old
#2  
visualmog's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 33
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default Xposed Framework Causes Good Mobile Messaging to not function

Hey there, not sure if there is anything that you can do about this but I wanted your input:

For some reason when I activate the xposed installer framework (my Verizon HTC One Max is running the most recent version of the NuSenseSix rom), it causes an app I have installed called "Good for Enterprise" to stop functioning. (Good for Enterprise is used for corporate email). if I disable the framework, then the app functions normally. Is there any way you can give me some advice or a resolution regarding this? the framework version I am running is 2.6.1

Thanks,
 
visualmog
Old
#3  
visualmog's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 33
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slappy_G View Post
Hi folks...

I am using a T-Mo Galaxy Note 3 with 4.3 (jellybean) and the latest Xposed Framework 2.7.1 (for reference, I did also try 2.4 through 2.5.1, with the same results).

I have installed the "Good for Enterprise" application to access my organization's email system. Our policy does NOT restrict use of root, so my issue is NOT with the fact that I am rooted.

However, whenever I enable the framework, even with NO modules enabled, launching Good crashes the app right after I enter my password into it. This is 100% repeatable. If I disable Xposed and reboot, Good works perfectly. This is also 100% repeatable.

I have looked through the logcat output and don't know what to look for, as I see a good amount of recurring debug messages. Any suggestions for how to proceed? Also, is it possible to blacklist an application so Xposed does not try to hook only that app?

Any suggestions are appreciated, and please remember that my organization does NOT restrict root via Good policy, so I don't have to worry about RootCloak, etc.

Thanks folks!

- SG

I am experiencing the exact same issue with good and my device. If I keep the framework disabled, good for enterprise works perfectly. As soon as I enable the framework and reboot, good hangs every time when attempting to connect after putting in my password and then just force quits back to the home screen.

I opened a seperate thread regarding the issue not seeing this thread until after I had already posted. I am hopeful that a resolution can be found. I have a Verizon HTC One Max, rooted with NuSenseSix Rom. I have also verified that they do not block access to good when it detects a rooted device. And as stated before, it functions normally on my rooted device as long as I keep the framework disabled.
 
rovo89
Old
#4  
rovo89's Avatar
Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 14,089
Posts: 2,367
Join Date: Jan 2012
Please describe in detail what you mean with "stop functioning". Does it crash? Please provide a logcat of the error.
Tired of updating your mod for every new ROM release?
You want give users the possibility to combine different mods without creating tons of different files for all possible combinations?
Then have a look at my Xposed framework - modifications without APK changes!
 
rovo89
Old
#5  
rovo89's Avatar
Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 14,089
Posts: 2,367
Join Date: Jan 2012
I have merged these two threads. As mentioned, please post a logcat. A blacklist to avoid "loading" Xposed is not possible, because Xposed is initialized at system start and "inherited" by all apps.
Tired of updating your mod for every new ROM release?
You want give users the possibility to combine different mods without creating tons of different files for all possible combinations?
Then have a look at my Xposed framework - modifications without APK changes!
 
Slappy_G
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 119
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cleveland, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by rovo89 View Post
I have merged these two threads. As mentioned, please post a logcat. A blacklist to avoid "loading" Xposed is not possible, because Xposed is initialized at system start and "inherited" by all apps.
Understood. I'll post a logcat this evening of both a positive and a negative case.
.NET Architect / Developer, Phone Hacker, PhotoShop guy - I seem to be getting the best results with the last one. Go figure.

HTC 8525 -> Samsung Instinct -> HTC Touch Pro -> HTC EVO 4G -> HTC Evo LTE -> Samsung Galaxy Note 3

Galaxy Note III: The Revenge

 
TwinAdk
Old
(Last edited by TwinAdk; 16th July 2014 at 04:11 PM.)
#7  
TwinAdk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 112
Posts: 435
Join Date: Mar 2011
I am experiencing the excact same behaviour as stated in the OP, and are working under the same conditions (rooted rom with latest xposed and NO anti-root policy). I would LOVE to help providing logcats, and i happen to be part of the IT department enforcing Good, so i can really test this (they wont blacklist me).

I will produce som logcat for you, any advice on how to best do this? Otherwise i will just throw something at best effort

Update: Back with a log, see attatched.
I started Catlog (app), pressed home and launched GFE. I then entered my password, and the app crashed. After this i clicked the shortcut on my launcher to start (resume) catlog, and paused the logging. I then exported the whole thing to the attatched textfile. The loglevel is Verbose.

If any system information is needed, other than those in the log file, please ask.

Kind Regards
TwinAdk
Attached Files
File Type: txt gfe.txt - [Click for QR Code] (490.0 KB, 8 views)
Addicted to the creative genius of the Android devs - thank you all, for you guys make Android worth using!

Devices:
HTC Endeavor (HTC One X) | [AOKP] IceColdJelly421
HTC M7_UL (HTC One) | AICP - Android IceCold Project
 
rovo89
Old
#8  
rovo89's Avatar
Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 14,089
Posts: 2,367
Join Date: Jan 2012
Thanks. I don't see any crash/exception of the application there. Is it a normal crash ("<app> has stopped working" or whatever that message says)? If so, can you get the stack trace from it?

But what I noticed is that you have at least one module with quite verbose output (all those lines with "Xposed" tag, they don't come from the framework). Could you please make sure that it crashes even without any active modules?
Tired of updating your mod for every new ROM release?
You want give users the possibility to combine different mods without creating tons of different files for all possible combinations?
Then have a look at my Xposed framework - modifications without APK changes!
The Following User Says Thank You to rovo89 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
TwinAdk
Old
#9  
TwinAdk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 112
Posts: 435
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rovo89 View Post
Thanks. I don't see any crash/exception of the application there. Is it a normal crash ("<app> has stopped working" or whatever that message says)? If so, can you get the stack trace from it?

But what I noticed is that you have at least one module with quite verbose output (all those lines with "Xposed" tag, they don't come from the framework). Could you please make sure that it crashes even without any active modules?
I will deactivate all modules and re-take the log. It still crashes, that's for sure. When i will screen record the crash, it's not a stopped working crash, the app just closes with it's 'switch to launcher animation'. Once reopened it loads from scratch.

---------- Post added at 11:23 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:32 PM ----------

Back with log of crash two times in a row, and screen record of working and failing good app. Notice that good cannot he screen recorded, hence the black screen when I'm inside the app. After the working recording I enabled xposed framework and rebooted.

Video and log here:
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/zrkivu9u0...GumblJCduRp8da
When you got the files, tell me, I'll remove them from dropbox then.

Kind Regards
TwinAdk
Addicted to the creative genius of the Android devs - thank you all, for you guys make Android worth using!

Devices:
HTC Endeavor (HTC One X) | [AOKP] IceColdJelly421
HTC M7_UL (HTC One) | AICP - Android IceCold Project
 
visualmog
Old
#10  
visualmog's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 33
Join Date: Oct 2010
Twin, thanks for uploading the log files and the sharing the videos. i've been super busy and haven't had a chance to do this. what you are showing in your videos is exactly what is happening on my device when the framework is enabled (with no modules enabled/loaded). good prompts for my password and then force quits back to the home screen. it does this over and over again until I disable the framework and restart my device. then good functions normally.

Rovo, let me know if you need me to also supply logs from my device, or if what twin provided is enough to troubleshoot this.

thanks,

The Following User Says Thank You to visualmog For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
good
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes