Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

DynamicAlarmIcon - Make the alarm icon point to the set alarm's time

OP GermainZ

26th July 2014, 03:13 AM   |  #1  
GermainZ's Avatar
OP Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer / XDA Portal Team
Thanks Meter: 7,354
 
5,917 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Description
Make the alarm icon in your status bar show you the set alarm's time instead of the default icon.
Originally requested by @terrorist96.

Download
http://repo.xposed.info/module/com.g...namicalarmicon

Source
https://github.com/GermainZ/DynamicAlarmIcon

Changelog
Quote:

1.3.1:

  • Fix missing icon on start up.
  • Compatibility fix for 4.0-4.3.
  • TouchWiz clock style improvements.
1.3:
  • Better method to replace left side icons (for clock packages).
  • Added support for Google Clock and GentleAlarm (DynamicAlarmClock will also change their notification icons).
  • Compatibility fixes for Sense devices, by chrisch1974.
  • Better alarm change detection.
  • Added clock style preference: choose between the AOSP style and a TouchWiz-like style.
  • Added clock color preference.
1.2.1:
  • Quick fix for the alarm icon's space always being reserved (even when the icon should be hidden).
1.2:
  • Also modify DeskClock's (AOSP clock app) notification icons (DeskClock notifies you when an alarm is due in less than 2 hours).
  • Add short delay before changing the icon, should fix the issues with e.g. HTC's app which sends the ALARM_CHANGED broadcast before changing the NEXT_ALARM_FORMATTED system setting.
  • Always keep the right side alarm drawable (should fix issues with the icon changing back after a while).
1.1:
  • The hours hand will now move depending on the minutes too (this fixes e.g. "6:55" being seen almost like "5:55").
  • Added Timely support, should work with the latest Timely version (1.2.7). You may have to re-apply set alarms.
1.0:
  • Initial release.

Screenshots
Status bar alarm icon:
Click image for larger version

Name:	2.png
Views:	7585
Size:	4.1 KB
ID:	2875370
DeskClock (AOSP clock app):
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.png
Views:	9131
Size:	37.3 KB
ID:	2875369

Thanks
  • rovo89 and Tungstwenty for the Xposed framework.
  • MohammadAG for his help and because he's awesome.
Last edited by GermainZ; 4th August 2014 at 01:54 AM.
The Following 64 Users Say Thank You to GermainZ For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th July 2014, 05:10 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Thank you for your efforts. Unfortunately, it doesn't work on my moto x vzw. [emoji20]

Log here: https://app.box.com/s/vb57p0vln2put7wclias

Note: I toggled the alarm off/on.



... moto x vzw ...
26th July 2014, 05:38 AM   |  #3  
jorv976's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 170
 
488 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Did you reboot?

Sent from my SPH-L710 using XDA Free mobile app

---------- Post added at 04:26 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:25 AM ----------

Good mod. But can you make it so instead of the alarm clock it shows the alarm time in numbers? Or add it as an option? Thank u Btw.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using XDA Free mobile app

---------- Post added at 04:38 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:26 AM ----------

So I changed my alarm but the hands don't change. Had to reboot for it to change.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to jorv976 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th July 2014, 06:20 AM   |  #4  
defim's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 933
 
1,798 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Screenshot please
26th July 2014, 07:14 AM   |  #5  
nm3210's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
136 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Would you mind adding the quantity [minutes/60] to the hour value so that it correctly moves the hand between the hours? For example, right now 6:30 has both hands facing directly down, whereas the hour hand should actually be at the 32.5 minute mark (to represent 6.5 hours). If that's not how you wanted it to be implemented, then so be it.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to nm3210 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th July 2014, 07:30 AM   |  #6  
terrorist96's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
It works perfectly for me. Did you make sure to reboot?
26th July 2014, 07:33 AM   |  #7  
1/4 Life's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
146 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Does this work with Timely by chance?

Sent from my GT-I9500
26th July 2014, 08:54 AM   |  #8  
Kucharskov's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sosnowiec
Thanks Meter: 60
 
230 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Found a bug: When i have few alarms and i set new before all - icon didnt change. I need to disable all alarms without that new and enable it again to have good icon.

But thats still Very good and funny idea!
Btw. If you wanna add setting. Please dont make icon in appdrawer like whatsapp Mods xposed module cus that module are very small.

Taped from Xperia SP
26th July 2014, 11:06 AM   |  #9  
GermainZ's Avatar
OP Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer / XDA Portal Team
Thanks Meter: 7,354
 
5,917 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmarcin

Thank you for your efforts. Unfortunately, it doesn't work on my moto x vzw. [emoji20]

Log here: https://app.box.com/s/vb57p0vln2put7wclias

Note: I toggled the alarm off/on.



... moto x vzw ...

I can't view that without logging in, and I don't have a box.com account.
You can just use a paste bin (e.g. bpaste.net or pastie.org) if you want, that's usually easier.
Also, what do you mean by "doesn't work"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorv976

Good mod. But can you make it so instead of the alarm clock it shows the alarm time in numbers? Or add it as an option? Thank u Btw.

Maybe, but that's not a high priority for me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorv976

So I changed my alarm but the hands don't change. Had to reboot for it to change.

A reboot is necessary after installing the module. After that, the hands should change when you set an alarm, to point to the *nearest* alarm.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nm3210

Would you mind adding the quantity [minutes/60] to the hour value so that it correctly moves the hand between the hours? For example, right now 6:30 has both hands facing directly down, whereas the hour hand should actually be at the 32.5 minute mark (to represent 6.5 hours). If that's not how you wanted it to be implemented, then so be it.

Sure.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1/4 Life

Does this work with Timely by chance?

Sent from my GT-I9500

TIAS. It should work with any clock app that causes the top right status bar alarm icon to show.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kucharskov

Found a bug: When i have few alarms and i set new before all - icon didnt change. I need to disable all alarms without that new and enable it again to have good icon.

Are you sure that new alarm is set to go earlier than all the others?
The Following User Says Thank You to GermainZ For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th July 2014, 03:50 PM   |  #10  
Kucharskov's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sosnowiec
Thanks Meter: 60
 
230 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
@GermainZ, yes im sure.
BTW. You should add animation of change time. Like normal rotate hands in clock

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes