Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,176 Members 51,728 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Xposed Module] Xad - Block the google Ad API

Tip us?
 
DragonHunt3r
Old
(Last edited by DragonHunt3r; 22nd December 2013 at 02:33 PM.)
#1  
DragonHunt3r's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 303
Posts: 182
Join Date: Aug 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [Xposed Module] Xad - Block the google Ad API

Hey guys, this is a Module I made for Xposed.
With this module you'll be able to stop the ad's provided by the google API (com.google.ads.AdView)
The app does not provide any UI except for the toast messages showing that a ad is being blocked

For example blocking a ad in Jewels Ninja


This is the first version of Xad and will be available in the Xposed Module Browser for download
Download: http://repo.xposed.info/module/xad
If you can't install from the RepoBrowser try to manually install it with the .apk
Tell us your opinion
The Following 117 Users Say Thank You to DragonHunt3r For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mauam
Old
#2  
mauam's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6664
Posts: 4,099
Join Date: Jan 2011
Great work. Keep up
The Following User Says Thank You to mauam For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
PenguinStyle
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 103
Join Date: Jul 2013
Is this disables video ads too. Cuz I'm using adaway but it can't disable video ads.

Sent from my LG-P880 using xda app-developers app
 
ruterjunior
Old
#4  
ruterjunior's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 459
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: brasilia
Thats be nice...

But every time has notify when xad's running




Sent from my GT-I9505G using xda app-developers app
 
aXiDroid
Old
#5  
aXiDroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 156
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Zielona Góra
Doesn't block ads on TV Show Favs app.

Root for Nexus 5: xda thread 2507211
Drivers needed for Windows 8/8.1: android.com

Update Stock 4.4.3 (KTU84M): here.
Requires disabling Xposed on rooted stock ROM.
 
jawz101
Old
(Last edited by jawz101; 22nd December 2013 at 06:27 PM.)
#6  
jawz101's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 293
Posts: 702
Join Date: Jun 2009
Somehow this seems monumental
How well does this work with Chrome for Android beta'a "reduce data usage" setting? Since its function passes all unencrypted web traffic through Google's proxy which then compresses data before getting to your device... and Google's ad servers use those same servers, I didn't know if it lets me turn the chrome beta setting on without letting ads in?
 
Ranomez
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 111
Posts: 649
Join Date: Jun 2010
When downloading from the Xposed installer it tells me the download name is incorrect.
Register here on copy: https://copy.com?r=bhjtga and we will both get 5gb bonus space

List of devices:
HTC One X+ Vodafone-Main phone-ParanoidAndroid 4.4

Onda v975m-Main tablet device.

Sony Smartwatch 2-Display burnt itself, trying to sort it out with amazon/sony.

HTC Touch Pro 2 RHOD100_UK-Backup phone-CM7.

Archos101IT Gen8-Secondary tablet device-CM9.
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Ranomez For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
DragonHunt3r
Old
#8  
DragonHunt3r's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 303
Posts: 182
Join Date: Aug 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Remember that this does only block the AdView API in apps that are using it, if apps are using something else to show Ad's then this will not work for that app
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to DragonHunt3r For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
MagedMoh94
Old
#9  
MagedMoh94's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 57
Posts: 103
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cairo
Default +1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ranomez View Post
When downloading from the Xposed installer it tells me the download name is incorrect.
+1
 
KreAch3R
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 66
Posts: 304
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Thessaloniki

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ranomez View Post
When downloading from the Xposed installer it tells me the download name is incorrect.
This is also happening to me.

Mahdi ROM | Android 4.4. Kitkat
Many thanks and gratitude to this awesome community.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes