Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[MOD][XPOSED][4.1+] GoogleOfflineVoice - Force offline voice recognition/typing

OP GermainZ

25th October 2014, 08:25 PM   |  #81  
hillz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Indonesia
Thanks Meter: 14
 
137 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermainZ

Introduction
The voice recognition API does not allow apps to choose whether they want to use offline voice recognition or not. There's no setting for the user either. Instead, if there's an internet connection, it'll always use the online services.
This module allows you to force offline voice recognition/typing. This is useful if you're using a slow connection, if you're connected to a local network (without internet access,) etc.

What does this module do?
This module can force offline voice recognition for apps that use Google Voice. It'll work if the app uses one of the following:

  • Voice typing (used by keyboards, e.g. SwiftKey)
  • Voice recognition (for apps that use RecognizerIntent such as utter!)
It does so by setting a variable that indicates whether a network connection is available or not to false.
Voice commands inside the Google Search app aren't affected. Note that if offline voice recognition doesn't work for you in the first place, this module won't fix that.

Requirements:
Broadcasts:
You can toggle some settings from e.g. Tasker using broadcasts. Just use these action names:
  • com.germainz.googleofflinevoice.enable - Enables the module.
  • com.germainz.googleofflinevoice.disable - Disables the module.
  • com.germainz.googleofflinevoice.enable_voice_ime - Enables the module for voice typing.
  • com.germainz.googleofflinevoice.disable_voice_ime - Disables the module for voice typing.
Example from the shell:
Code:
am broadcast -a "com.germainz.googleofflinevoice.disable"
Source code:
https://github.com/GermainZ/GoogleOfflineVoice

Download:
http://repo.xposed.info/module/com.g...leofflinevoice

Changelog:
Code:
1.2.1: The widget now uses images to indicate the module's state. This should fix text getting cut off on some devices.
1.2: Fix for the latest Google Search. Revamped blacklist. Added a simple widget to toggle module status (useful to quickly enable/disable GoogleOfflineVoice from e.g. your home screen).
1.1:
The voice typing setting wasn't working correctly (because of a typo - offline voice typing was never forced.) Also, there was another typo in strings.xml, as a reboot is actually *not* required for the settings to apply.
1.0: Initial release.
Thanks:
  • rovo89 for the Xposed Framework.

Does this only work in English? I tried Indonesian language and it still needed an active internet connection to work. I'm using the default google keyboard on android kitkat
23rd November 2014, 05:26 AM   |  #82  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2014
Wink great app
this app works great however only in the English language other languages are not supported probably because they are not downloaded to device . other languages or only online . any help would be great for the Greek language especially thank you
23rd November 2014, 05:33 AM   |  #83  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2014
More
Thanks a bunch. Now my data won't skyrocket on trips.
26th November 2014, 06:20 PM   |  #84  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Thank you!
I have a nexus 5 and the online speech-to-text conversion process / accuracy is horrendous and rage inducing. By forcing offline recognition I'm back to getting close to 100% correct dictation results!

Thank you very much!!!
15th January 2015, 08:30 PM   |  #85  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2015
Hi, I have some question.
do I need to have a root access before I can use this module?
do I need to install the XposedFramework to make it works?
do you use any software to monitor the traffic to make sure it really work offline? if you do, can you tell me what is the software you use??
Thanks Before
15th January 2015, 11:37 PM   |  #86  
GermainZ's Avatar
OP Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer / XDA Portal Team
Thanks Meter: 7,484
 
5,968 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by s.sakti

Hi, I have some question.
do I need to have a root access before I can use this module?
do I need to install the XposedFramework to make it works?
do you use any software to monitor the traffic to make sure it really work offline? if you do, can you tell me what is the software you use??
Thanks Before

I use Bytes Insight. Please read the OP (and linked threads) for your other questions.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes