Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,427 Members 42,354 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum
Announcement from Ambious: Additional settings and hacks for the HTC Sense 6.0 Car App!

[MOD] HTC Car Mode Xposed! (Version 1.7a)

Tip us?
 
Ambious
Old
(Last edited by Ambious; 15th June 2014 at 07:17 PM.)
#1  
Ambious's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 356
Posts: 1,557
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Haifa

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [MOD] HTC Car Mode Xposed! (Version 1.7a)

The HTC Sense 6.0 Car Mode app had some features removed or changed from the previous versions. Namely, statusbar pulldown has been blocked, along with switching apps and basically multitasking.

The reason for this is probably safety; to discourage drivers from tinkering too much with their phones while driving - and while I'm fully behind that I believe in giving people options - which is why I created this module!

So far it allows you to:
  • Bring back multitasking (status bar and 'recent apps' functionality).
  • Release the 'Home' button to let it go back to the default launcher.
  • Replace the default 3-Tap gesture action with anything you want!
  • Turn Wi-Fi on or off at startup and shutdown.
  • Bypass the exit confirmation dialog.
  • Automatically close apps opened from within the Car App on shutdown (requires root to be fully functional!)
And more features coming in all the time!

If you love the HTC Car app as much as I do, you'll enjoy this!



Download
You can find it on the Xposed repository right here.
(It's marked as 'beta' so set your installer filter accordingly).

XDA:DevDB Information
HTC Car Mode Xposed!, Xposed for the HTC One (M8)

Contributors
Ambious
Xposed Package Name: ambious.htccarxposed

Version Information
Status: Beta
Current Stable Version: 1.6
Stable Release Date: 2014-09-07
Current Beta Version: 1.7a
Beta Release Date: 2014-09-16

Created 2014-06-01
Last Updated 2014-09-16
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to Ambious For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Ambious
Old
(Last edited by Ambious; Today at 07:37 PM.)
#2  
Ambious's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 356
Posts: 1,557
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Haifa

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Changelog

Latest Versions:
Quote:
Version 1.7:
  • Added the option to override the "3-Fingers tap" gesture with either Google Hands-Free, Google Now or a custom app of your choice!
  • Fixed a bug with the Toggler where it would launch the settings app instead of the car if triggered by 3rd party app (such as NFC or Tasker).
Older Versions:
 

Quote:
Version 1.6:
  • Added the "App Toggler" which allows to shut down the car app through a global shortcut, or launch it if it's already closed.
  • Fixed a bug where Wi-Fi would turn off even by navigating away from the Car app and not just closing it.
  • Re-did the icon - again! (One day I'll be pleased with it).
Quote:
Version 1.5:
  • Fixed "Multitasking"! Yes, the "Recent Apps" button now works and doesn't break anything! Thanks to the brilliant RichmondoUK for pointing me in the right direction.
  • Removed GPS mods - it wasn't working as well as I had hoped due to android privacy overrides.
Quote:
Version 1.4:
  • Added 'Exit mods':
    • Change GPS and Wi-Fi states on exit
    • Close apps opened from the Car App (either using a regular shut-down which doesn't always work or the more powerful 'root' method).
    • Moved the "Exit without confirmation" option under this category
  • Some code touch-ups
Still no fully-working multi-tasking mod, sorry... that's one tough nut!
Quote:
Version 1.2:
  • Default settings will bow be applied upon installation.
  • Added an option to bypass the exit confirmation dialog
  • Added the option to turn GPS and Wi-Fi on or off at startup.
    • You can also choose to - obviously - not change them at all.
    • I'm still working on turning them on and off when exiting the app, it's not working so well so far...
Quote:
Version 1.1:
  • Interface added! You can now turn mods on and off selectively.
  • Added the option to release the 'Home' button.
  • New icon, slightly less ugly I hope.
The Following User Says Thank You to Ambious For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Ambious
Old
(Last edited by Ambious; 2nd September 2014 at 02:04 PM.)
#3  
Ambious's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 356
Posts: 1,557
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Haifa

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Information

Why disable a safety feature?
The HTC Car App introduced those blocking 'features' for an obvious reason: to discourage people from fumbling around with their phones while driving.
That's a good and important cause, but unfortunately it's not a very smart method of doing it - which is why this module was created. Consider the following scenario: You're in your default navigation app with the music player (which is controllable by the car app) running in the background. You want to skip the currently playing track. If everything's at stock, the new restrictions make it an annoyingly long process: You have to click the home button, enter the music control applet, skip the track as you normally would, then click the home button again, find the navigation app's icon and re-launch it. Without those restrictions all you do is pull down the statusbar, click the 'skip' button on the music player's active notification tile, and pull it back up.
HTC's restrictions - which are supposed to increase safety and attention while driving actually make it longer and more attention-consuming to perform such tasks.
This module allows you to overcome those restrictions, mostly, but I must still say - and I can not overstate this enough:
DRIVE SAFELY!
DON'T OPERATE YOUR DEVICE WHILE DRIVING !

Play music, navigate, make and take calls - but do so safely without fumbling around.
If anything doesn't work with less then three touches of the screen, or if it requires you to look at your device for more than a split-second glance - either forget about it or pull over! It's not worth it!
 
stevendbrady
Old
#4  
stevendbrady's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 25
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Baltimore, MD
Works as advertised. Upgraded from Sense 5.5 just so I could enable this mod and get to my notifications. Thanks!
The Following User Says Thank You to stevendbrady For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
linuxsense
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 95
Join Date: Jun 2009
Very cool. I use the HTC car app quite a bit and always hated that I had to close it to access anything else. What other tweaks are possible? It would be nice to be able to switch the default music app to Google Music. Disabling wifi on launch would also be slick.

BTW, this works fine on the M7 with Sense 6.
 
Ambious
Old
#6  
Ambious's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 356
Posts: 1,557
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Haifa

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by linuxsense View Post
Very cool. I use the HTC car app quite a bit and always hated that I had to close it to access anything else. What other tweaks are possible? It would be nice to be able to switch the default music app to Google Music. Disabling wifi on launch would also be slick.

BTW, this works fine on the M7 with Sense 6.
Currently I'm mostly battling with basic things like making the 'recent apps' button work and making the settings toggleable without restarting. Once I get the basics working, I'll start seeing what else I can tinker with. Switching the default music app is not going to be easy because it's deeply integrated within the app, but I'll see what I can do.
As for the wifi, that shouldn't be too difficult.
Glad to hear it's working on other devices as well.
Quote:
/phone/model/:# HTC One M8 (S-OFF)
/phone/rom/:# MaximusHD | 7.1.0 | Android 4.4.3 (2.22.401.4)
/phone/recovery/:# TWRP 2.8.0.0 Touch Recovery

/tablet/model/:# Asus Nexus 7 (2013) - 32GB LTE (deb)
/tablet/rom/:# ParanoidAndroid (Android 4.4.4) / Ubuntu Touch (Experimental)
/tablet/recovery/:# TWRP 2.8.0.0 Touch Recovery (MultiBoot Enabled!)
The Following User Says Thank You to Ambious For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Reyzis
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 134
Join Date: May 2014
Please add support for all apps in car mode! Currently you can add only a few apps .. For example you can't add Torque
 
linuxsense
Old
(Last edited by linuxsense; 16th June 2014 at 05:51 AM.)
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 95
Join Date: Jun 2009
Looks like the 1.1 version changes caused it to stop working with the M7

ETA: Looks like it functions properly if "take over home button" is disabled. With that unchecked you can access the pulldown menu as well as reach the desktop or recent apps using the home button.
 
Ambious
Old
#9  
Ambious's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 356
Posts: 1,557
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Haifa

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by linuxsense View Post
Looks like the 1.1 version changes caused it to stop working with the M7

ETA: Looks like it functions properly if "take over home button" is disabled. With that unchecked you can access the pulldown menu as well as reach the desktop or recent apps using the home button.
It might be something else, I noticed that the settings won't take until you run the settings interface at least once.
Please try to re-enable the setting and see if anything changes.
Thanks for the report!
Quote:
/phone/model/:# HTC One M8 (S-OFF)
/phone/rom/:# MaximusHD | 7.1.0 | Android 4.4.3 (2.22.401.4)
/phone/recovery/:# TWRP 2.8.0.0 Touch Recovery

/tablet/model/:# Asus Nexus 7 (2013) - 32GB LTE (deb)
/tablet/rom/:# ParanoidAndroid (Android 4.4.4) / Ubuntu Touch (Experimental)
/tablet/recovery/:# TWRP 2.8.0.0 Touch Recovery (MultiBoot Enabled!)
 
linuxsense
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 95
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ambious View Post
It might be something else, I noticed that the settings won't take until you run the settings interface at least once.
Please try to re-enable the setting and see if anything changes.
Thanks for the report!
I am pretty sure that I ran settings app prior to trying it out, not completely sure though. I just toggled the home screen option and get the same results. It only works if it is not selected.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes