Post Reply

[MOD] No Wake On Charge v0.1 [TW/S5]

OP moneytoo

24th July 2014, 08:23 AM   |  #1  
moneytoo's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 419
 
1,094 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Donate to Me
More
No Wake On Charge keeps screen off when usb/charger cable is plugged in or unplugged. This module works fully only on Samsung Galaxy S5 as it uses non standard (AOSP) way of waking up the display.
I tried to use various other Xposed modules but none removed the plug in wake.

It works like this:
  • Screen wake on plug in - changes android.os.PowerManager#newWakeLock(ACQUIRE_CAUSES _WAKEUP | SCREEN_BRIGHT_WAKE_LOCK, "charger plug") to PARTIAL_WAKE_LOCK only (based on fix by @tdunham http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2799050). Again, this is S5 only fix.
  • Screen wake on unplug - sets config_unplugTurnsOnScreen to false (this is well known and used solution)
  • Beep on plug in - disables com.android.systemui.power.PowerUI#playSound(1)
No Wake On Charge is also available from Xposed Module Repository (source).
Attached Files
File Type: apk NoWakeOnChargeS5.v0.1.apk - [Click for QR Code] (12.3 KB, 542 views)
Last edited by moneytoo; 26th July 2014 at 11:13 PM.
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to moneytoo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th July 2014, 03:28 PM   |  #2  
954wrecker's Avatar
Senior Member
San Diego
Thanks Meter: 537
 
1,106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Great job! Finally my T-Mobile note 3 running X-note doesn't wake up when I plug the charger. Only module that works on touchwiz and I've tried them all.
24th July 2014, 03:31 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
747 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by moneytoo

No Wake On Charge keeps screen off when usb/charger cable is plugged in or unplugged. This module works fully only on Samsung Galaxy S5 as it uses non standard (AOSP) way of waking up the display.
I tried to use various other Xposed modules but none removed the plug in wake.

It works like this:

  • Screen wake on plug in - changes android.os.PowerManager#newWakeLock(ACQUIRE_CAUSES _WAKEUP | SCREEN_BRIGHT_WAKE_LOCK, "charger plug") to PARTIAL_WAKE_LOCK only (based on fix by @tdunham http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2799050). Again, this is S5 only fix.
  • Screen wake on unplug - sets config_unplugTurnsOnScreen to false (this is well known and used solution)
  • Beep on plug in - disables com.android.systemui.power.PowerUI#playSound(1)
No Wake On Charge is also available from Xposed Module Repository.

Does it actually work? I just installed and still wakes up. I use wireless charging though not USB one.
24th July 2014, 05:12 PM   |  #4  
defim's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 872
 
1,659 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
@moneytoo: Many many thanks! I want report that it works very well with my S4active - google-edition (no touchwitz). Was not possible with any other module before
25th July 2014, 07:37 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Charlotte
Thanks Meter: 12
 
169 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
@moneytoo I can confirm that this mod also works on the T-Mobile variant of the LG G3

Thanks!!
The Following User Says Thank You to tiptoekirk For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th July 2014, 07:39 PM   |  #6  
claytonjn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 703
 
1,402 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by artisticcheese

Does it actually work? I just installed and still wakes up. I use wireless charging though not USB one.

It's working with my Verizon Developer Edition S5 with wireless charging.
25th July 2014, 08:38 PM   |  #7  
JerryGNYC's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag You can't get here from there...
Thanks Meter: 793
 
2,211 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Works great on Sprint GS4 (SPH-L720T). Thanks!
25th July 2014, 09:46 PM   |  #8  
SystemErrorOne's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Jacksonville
Thanks Meter: 324
 
479 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
isnt this already a feature built in to android or gravity box ? Im not sure if it is or not..
25th July 2014, 10:03 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
VZW Note3
werks. Thank you kind sir.
25th July 2014, 10:23 PM   |  #10  
moneytoo's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 419
 
1,094 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SystemErrorOne

isnt this already a feature built in to android or gravity box ? Im not sure if it is or not..

Yeah, such option is in Cyanogenmod and most probably other ROMs as well. GravityBox and other modules also offer this but nothing was working fully with TouchWiz.

The Following User Says Thank You to moneytoo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Xposed Framework Modules by ThreadRank