Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,401 Members 39,029 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

StopSwitchDelay - Remove 5s Delay To Open Apps After Pressing Home Button

Tip us?
 
GermainZ
Old
(Last edited by GermainZ; 27th March 2014 at 11:39 AM.)
#1  
GermainZ's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 5738
Posts: 5,009
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default StopSwitchDelay - Remove 5s Delay To Open Apps After Pressing Home Button

Introduction
This is a very simple module that removes the 5 seconds delay preventing you from opening apps (other than from the launcher) after pressing the home button.
More detailed explanation | Even more detailed explanation

Requirements:
Xposed Framework

Source:
https://github.com/GermainZ/StopSwitchDelay

Download:
http://repo.xposed.info/module/com.g...topswitchdelay

Thanks:
rovo89 and Tungstwenty for the Xposed Framework.
The Following 78 Users Say Thank You to GermainZ For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
pitastrudl
Old
#2  
pitastrudl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 517
Posts: 1,614
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ljubljana

 
DONATE TO ME
Im not sure what kind of delay are you talking about?
Galaxy S4 GT-I9505 Rooted! old MDM bootloader ROM: Bouncing back and forth between AOSP and TW
[Retired]Desire HD Rooted&S-OFF with ARHD by @mike1896
Active Administrator @ Slo-Android forum
 
GermainZ
Old
(Last edited by GermainZ; 22nd March 2014 at 11:21 PM.)
#3  
GermainZ's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 5738
Posts: 5,009
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitastrudl View Post
Im not sure what kind of delay are you talking about?
After pressing the home button, there's a five seconds delay set by Android.

During that time, if an activity (e.g. Switchr) tries to start another activity, that action will be delayed. On KitKat and higher, I think it shows you a warning when that happens (a "Loading app..." toast.)
(The delay is reset when you open an app from the launcher or task switcher, too)

If you've never encountered the issue then you most likely don't need this module.
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to GermainZ For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
pitastrudl
Old
#4  
pitastrudl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 517
Posts: 1,614
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ljubljana

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermainZ View Post
After pressing the home button, there's a five seconds delay set by Android.

During that time, if an activity (e.g. Switchr) tries to start another activity, that action will be delayed. On KitKat and higher, I think it shoes you a warning when that happens (a "Loading app..." toast.)
(The delay is reset when you open an app from the launcher or task switcher, too)

If you've never encountered the issue then you most likely don't need this module.
Now that you mention it, i have encountered a problem like that, but i've only seen it in a few apps. Also while using switchr, the problem occured randomly(or so it seemed). an example for the app is Castle Clash. But I do not recall a toast showing "loading app". Would the delay also apply to Tasker? I will try out the module and report. Maybe the problem is fixed in a custom rom im using(Slimkat, AOSP).
Galaxy S4 GT-I9505 Rooted! old MDM bootloader ROM: Bouncing back and forth between AOSP and TW
[Retired]Desire HD Rooted&S-OFF with ARHD by @mike1896
Active Administrator @ Slo-Android forum
 
killoid
Old
#5  
killoid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 239
Posts: 883
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 23.7000 N, 90.3750 E
@GermainZ can we get gingerbread support plz?
Quote:
"I've never actually seen a mongoose or an antelope. My zoology may be inaccurate!"
My Thread:
[INDEX][XPOSED]List of Xposed Modules for Android 2.3.x


Samsung Galaxy Y Duos GT-S6102
Rom: Stock GB 2.3.6
Kernel: Kuro's Kernel
Status: Rooted,Deodexed


Nokia X2-00
 
Pkt_Lnt
Old
#6  
Pkt_Lnt's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1679
Posts: 2,879
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SLO
So that is what has been driving me crazy and I had no idea. Seemed like lags and hangs. Thanks!
Remember - XDA is trying to teach you to fish, not just give you a fish.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~
Samsung Galaxy S4 Active i9295 GSM /// [ROM][WIP/Experimental][AOSP][4.3.1] Google Edition for SGS4A (Int'l) /// Gravity Box [JB]
Google Galaxy Nexus i9250 GSM /// [ROM] [AOSP] Shiny ROM: OTA-Like, Stock Android [4.4.4] [KTU84P] /// Gravity Box [KK]
Google Nexus 7.2013 /// 4.4.4 [KTU84P] Stock KitKat (unlocked & rooted) /// Gravity Box [KK]
 
Soe Min Thu
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 66
Join Date: Nov 2013
Default Sounds Great!!

I'm using side bar app to open some apps and I have encountered that many times but I didn't know it's concerning with home button and I thought it was just a bug of the sidebar app!! Great!! However, can't be that was added in Android OS originally due to necessary?? Any Risks after this module??
 
GermainZ
Old
#8  
GermainZ's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 5738
Posts: 5,009
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by killoid View Post
@GermainZ can we get gingerbread support plz?
Should work fine on Gingerbread, I'll lower the SDK version later.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soe Min Thu View Post
However, can't be that was added in Android OS originally due to necessary?? Any Risks after this module??
I can't see any. If a malicious app wants to override your home button this way it could use a background service to bypass the delay anyway. As to why it was added, ask the Google engineers.
The Following User Says Thank You to GermainZ For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
_jis_
Old
#9  
_jis_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 116
Posts: 410
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermainZ View Post
After pressing the home button, there's a five seconds delay set by Android.
During that time, if an activity (e.g. Switchr) tries to start another activity, that action will be delayed. On KitKat and higher, I think it shoes you a warning when that happens (a "Loading app..." toast.)
As a long time user of SwipePad I know this delay and connected toast message very well. Thank you for this module!
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermainZ View Post
As to why it was added, ask the Google engineers.
Normally Android system force a 5s delay after you click the home button in order to give home application some priorities to finish switching. But I think that 5s was huge overkill on any today's decent hardware.
The Following User Says Thank You to _jis_ For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
GermainZ
Old
#10  
GermainZ's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 5738
Posts: 5,009
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by killoid View Post
@GermainZ can we get gingerbread support plz?
I've lowered the minSdkVersion to support Gingerbread, please test it.

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to GermainZ For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes