Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,262 Members 49,850 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Xposed][MOD][1.17.2] AppOpsXposed - AppOps for 4.3+

Tip us?
 
caspase
Old
(Last edited by caspase; 15th June 2014 at 10:14 AM.)
#1  
caspase's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 163
Posts: 115
Join Date: Feb 2012
Post [Xposed][MOD][1.17.2] AppOpsXposed - AppOps for 4.3+

The version offered on Google Play is neither endorsed nor supported by me. Support requests will only be honored for versions downloaded from XDA, (my) github or the Xposed Modules Repository.

AppOpsXposed is a quick-'n-dirty module for the Xposed framework that restores the AppOps functionality on Android >= 4.4.2 by allowing AppOps to be launched again using the :android:show_fragment extra (this applies only to the Settings app, and only to the AppOpsSummary fragment). It also adds "App ops" in the native android Settings app for Android 4.3+. Why not just install XPrivacy? you may ask - read this post.

AppOpsXposed will never work on any Android version below 4.3! Why? Because - as the name implies - the module simply exposes "App ops", a feature that's hidden in Android's "Settings" starting with 4.3. The "App ops" interface you see comes directly from Google, not me!

If you're on Android 4.3, you can use this APK even if the Xposed Framework is not installed and/or your device is not rooted. In that case AppOpsXposed will simply launch AppOpsSummary - all other features ("App ops" header in "Settings", "App ops" button in "App info", fixed layout in AppOpsDetails) will not be available.

Source code is available on github (License: GPLv3+)

SUPPORTED ROMS
AppOpsXposed will attempt to add AppOps to your ROM's "Settings" app. Since a manufacturer's implementation of that app may be very different from stock Android, the module might fail to find a way to do so. In that case, I need the APK flle of your "Settings" app, so I can determine where to put AppOps. The location of AppOps is noted in the list below; if anything goes wrong, the module will place AppOps at the very end. As of version 1.7, the module provides a launcher icon in order to enable everyone to launch "App ops", even if their ROM is not yet supported.

Full support (i.e. with AppOps in the "Settings" app) is currently available on the following devices/ROMs:
  • Stock Android, CM10, CM11, Sony Xperia: in "Personal" section
  • Samsung: in "General" or "More" tab (right under "Apps")
  • Sony Xperia

Need more info:
  • HTC


READ BEFORE YOU POST


It might seem stupid, but before reporting a crash please try the following: uninstall AppOpsXposed, reinstall it, re-enable it in the Xposed Installer, reboot. I'm not quite sure as to why it helps, but sometimes it does.

If "App ops" doesn't show up in your Settings app, I'm gonna need its APK file! Don't just say "It crashes on device XYZ" - usually this kind of information is of no help at all. Post AT LEAST the following info:
  • Device,
  • Android version (4.3, 4.4, etc.)
  • Name and type (stock/custom) of ROM
  • Logs: in the Xposed Installer app there's a "Log" section! A logcat would be even better.

ChangeLog:

***** When upgrading from a version before 1.12, uninstall AppOpsXposed first before installing this version; otherwise, the update will fail!*****

1.17.2:
- Xperia only: more human readable info (e.g. "Run at start-up" vs "BOOT_COMPLETED")

1.17:
- Fixed compatibility with Galaxy S5 settings app (grid layout)
- Fixed crash on Xperia KitKat ROMs

 

1.16:
- Added OmniROM variant (no header in settings, only icon in "App info")
- Added variant for Sony KitKat ROMs with a switch in AppOps, as opposed to the drop-down menu found in 4.3 ROMs

1.15.1:
- Fix crashes on Android 4.3

1.15:
- Added module-specific settings (click module name in Xposed Installer's "Module" section)
- Launcher icon can now be hidden
- Added Korean translation by sdkoongchi@github

1.14:
- This release should fix further crashes on recent cn11 nightlies

1.13:
- Attempted to fix issues on recent cm11 nightlies - again
- Added Japanese translation (WedyDQ10@github)

1.12:
- Hopefully fixed crashes on Xperia devices
- For now, on CM11 nightlies >= 2014-01-28 almost all features are disabled. AppOps can be launched via the launcher icon only.

1.11:
- Fixed layout issue on Xperia ROMs.

1.10.2:
- Hopefully fix crash on Sony stock ROMs

1.10.1:
- On Android 4.3, AppOpsXposed now works as a launcher even if the Xposed Framework is not installed
- Fixed issue where AppOps could not be started from "App info"

1.9:
- AppOpsXposed is now compatible with Sony Xperia devices
- Fixed AppOps details layout for languages where strings were much longer than in English
- Fixed error where AppOps could not be launched from "App info"
- "App info" now uses AppOpsXposed's icon instead of text
- Better detection of Stock vs. AOSP ROMs
- Added 63 translations of "App ops"
- New icon

1.8:
- AppOps for a specific app can now also be launched from the "App info" page of an app
- The module should now work correctly on Sony (Xperia) devices

1.7:
- Added launcher icon for ROMs where there's no icon in Settings
- Reverted sorting in AppOps to default for now
- Potential fix for HTC devices

1.6.1:
- Sort entries in App ops alphabetically.

1.6:
- Another attempt at fixing Samsung-related issues. "App ops" should now be listed below "Apps", wherever "Apps" may be
on your device.

1.5:
- On Samsung devices with a tabbed interface in "Settings", "App ops" should now be displayed in the "General" tab only.

1.4:
- Should fix issue where "App ops" was shown more than once in "Settings"

1.3:
- Fixed Android 4.3 compatibility

1.2:
- No longer allow module to be installed on Android versions before 4.3

1.1:
- Add "App ops" in Settings app; thirdparty AppOps-launcher no longer required!


SCREENSHOTS
 

Click image for larger version

Name:	header.png
Views:	11402
Size:	109.9 KB
ID:	2495854Click image for larger version

Name:	appinfo.png
Views:	9805
Size:	123.4 KB
ID:	2495853

Demonstration of fixed layout in AppOpsDetails: left is with AppOpsXposed, right is without.
Click image for larger version

Name:	russian_ok.png
Views:	9212
Size:	137.2 KB
ID:	2499124Click image for larger version

Name:	russian_broken.png
Views:	7954
Size:	63.7 KB
ID:	2499125


>>> DOWNLOAD LINK (github) <<<

*) This does not mean that this module re-enables the :android:show_fragment vulnerability in PreferenceActivity - it only adds AppOpsSummary to the list of allowed Fragments!
Attached Files
File Type: apk AppOpsXposed-1.17.2.apk - [Click for QR Code] (63.7 KB, 1589 views)
The Following 93 Users Say Thank You to caspase For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dive3000
Old
(Last edited by dive3000; 11th December 2013 at 01:10 PM.)
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 1
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by caspase View Post
AppOpsXposed is a quick-'n-dirty module for the Xposed framework that restores the AppOps functionality on Android 4.4.2. The module enables the :android:show_fragment hack used by many AppOps-launching apps on KitKat and also adds "App ops" in the native android Settings app.

ChangeLog:

1.1:
- Add "App ops" in Settings app; thirdparty AppOps-launcher no longer required!



Source code is available on github (can't post link though).
Is root required ?
The Following User Says Thank You to dive3000 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
caspase
Old
#3  
caspase's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 163
Posts: 115
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dive3000 View Post
Is root required ?
It requires the Xposed Framewoek, so yes!
The Following User Says Thank You to caspase For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
drewstiff
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 59
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by caspase View Post
It requires the Xposed Framewoek, so yes!
Fancy uploading it to the repo at http://repo.xposed.info/ ?
 
CruxHumanus
Old
#5  
CruxHumanus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 108
Join Date: Apr 2013
Great job, thank you!
 
stfudude
Old
#6  
stfudude's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 282
Posts: 987
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Egypt
The module itself doesn't need root right?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4
Galaxy S I9000 -given to dad-
Galaxy S II I9100 -mainboard died-
Galaxy S III I9300 -sold-
Nexus 7 3G -sold-
Nexus 7 2013 (flo) | Stock 4.4.3 rooted + faux kernel
Moto G dual sim (XT1033) | Motorola Asia firmware, Android 4.4.2, rooted + faux kernel
Sign up for Dropbox with this link and we'll both get extra 0.5GB!

I'm not sorry at all for my English, look at my username.
 
caspase
Old
#7  
caspase's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 163
Posts: 115
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewstiff View Post
Fancy uploading it to the repo at ... ?
Done, can't post link though, need 10 posts first

Quote:
Originally Posted by stfudude View Post
The module itself doesn't need root right?
Nope, but it's useless w/o root since Xposed Framework needs root. The source is available on github (link
 
Psychosi42
Old
#8  
Psychosi42's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 68
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas City
Works perfectly for me ... and I love that you added the AppOps to the settings menu thank you much!
Please press THANKS if someone helps you!

My current configuration:

 

Device: Google Nexus 5
ROM: Stock Rooted

Device: Nexus 7 (2013)
ROM: Stock Rooted

Device: Ouya
ROM: Stock
 
tariq2kn
Old
(Last edited by tariq2kn; 12th December 2013 at 02:48 AM.)
#9  
tariq2kn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 115
Posts: 855
Join Date: May 2010
Please add support for 4.3 S3.
Where is it shown in settings?
 
caspase
Old
#10  
caspase's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 163
Posts: 115
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by tariq2kn View Post
Please add support for 4.3 S3.
Where is it shown in settings?
It should be shown in the "Personal" section, or the very last entry in Settings.

To add proper support for devices not running stock Android I need the Settings.apk file, since the module's design is very implementation-specific.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes