Post Reply

[Xposed][2.3+] NetworkSpeedIndicator v1.0 b1

OP FatMinMin

Announcement from FatMinMin: Crash logs more helpful than "not working". Xposed (Installer - Logs), NSI (in /sdcard), LogCat (CatLog).
4th October 2014, 04:51 PM   |  #521  
coax75ohm's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowkeyenergy

The K should be lowercase.
k stands for kilo and means 1000 or 1024.
K stands for Kelvin and measures temperature.

This isn't quite right. For SI decimal (10^3) it's lowercase, for binary (2^10) it's uppercase, either JEDEC "K" or IEC "Ki".
The Following User Says Thank You to coax75ohm For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th October 2014, 06:28 PM   |  #522  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by coax75ohm

This isn't quite right. For SI decimal (10^3) it's lowercase, for binary (2^10) it's uppercase, either JEDEC "K" or IEC "Ki".

Ah, I see... So it is not kilobytes at all but kilibytes.
Thank you; I had never heard of that.
Last edited by lowkeyenergy; 4th October 2014 at 06:40 PM.
5th October 2014, 10:45 AM   |  #523  
Micks29's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 391
 
737 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
@agent007bond, is it possible to make translatable units (e.g. B, KB) from the status bar?
Thanks.
10th October 2014, 02:27 PM   |  #524  
goatlaw's Avatar
Member
Flag Vienna
Thanks Meter: 30
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Thumbs up luv it
thanks for this modul - its awesome
Last edited by goatlaw; 10th October 2014 at 02:30 PM.
10th October 2014, 07:24 PM   |  #525  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Would it be possible to implement outline color for the fonts and suffix so that they are more legible on brighter backgrounds? Thank you
12th October 2014, 12:06 AM   |  #526  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Awesome modul! unfortunately I'm not able to make it working on my Atrix 4G
This is my configuration:
- Atrix 4G MB860
- Rom-cm-11-android-4-4-4-atrix-bigpart (just installed)
- Xposed Framework 2.6.1
- Network Speed Indicator 1.0 b1
I can see the meter on status bar but both upload and download speed are always at 0 B/s, either using wifi or mobile data.
I attach here what I found in /sdcard/NetworkSpeedIndicator/ folder and under Xposed log

Code:
I/2014-10-11 19:55:46/Connectivity changed
D/2014-10-11 19:55:46/NetworkInfo: type: WIFI[], state: CONNECTED/CONNECTED, reason: (unspecified), extra: "Alice-96391022", roaming: false, failover: false, isAvailable: true, isConnectedToProvisioningNetwork: false
I/2014-10-11 19:55:46/Network type: 1
D/2014-10-11 19:55:46/Network State: true
D/2014-10-11 19:55:46/Visibility (visible: 0; gone: 8): 0
D/2014-10-11 19:55:46/-1,-1;-1,-1;62138,62235;0,0
I/2014-10-11 19:56:06/Connectivity changed
D/2014-10-11 19:56:06/NetworkInfo: type: WIFI[], state: CONNECTED/CONNECTED, reason: (unspecified), extra: "Alice-96391022", roaming: false, failover: false, isAvailable: true, isConnectedToProvisioningNetwork: false
I/2014-10-11 19:56:06/Network type: 1
D/2014-10-11 19:56:06/Network State: true
D/2014-10-11 19:56:06/Visibility (visible: 0; gone: 8): 0
I/2014-10-11 19:56:06/Connectivity changed
D/2014-10-11 19:56:06/NetworkInfo: type: WIFI[], state: CONNECTED/CONNECTED, reason: (unspecified), extra: "Alice-96391022", roaming: false, failover: false, isAvailable: true, isConnectedToProvisioningNetwork: false
I/2014-10-11 19:56:06/Network type: 1
D/2014-10-11 19:56:06/Network State: true
D/2014-10-11 19:56:06/Visibility (visible: 0; gone: 8): 0
I/2014-10-11 19:56:12/Connectivity changed
D/2014-10-11 19:56:12/NetworkInfo: type: WIFI[], state: CONNECTED/CONNECTED, reason: (unspecified), extra: "Alice-96391022", roaming: false, failover: false, isAvailable: true, isConnectedToProvisioningNetwork: false
I/2014-10-11 19:56:12/Network type: 1
D/2014-10-11 19:56:12/Network State: true
D/2014-10-11 19:56:12/Visibility (visible: 0; gone: 8): 0
I/2014-10-11 19:56:22/Connectivity changed
D/2014-10-11 19:56:22/NetworkInfo: type: WIFI[], state: CONNECTED/CONNECTED, reason: (unspecified), extra: "Alice-96391022", roaming: false, failover: false, isAvailable: true, isConnectedToProvisioningNetwork: false
I/2014-10-11 19:56:22/Network type: 1
D/2014-10-11 19:56:22/Network State: true
D/2014-10-11 19:56:22/Visibility (visible: 0; gone: 8): 0
I/2014-10-11 19:56:22/Connectivity changed
D/2014-10-11 19:56:22/NetworkInfo: type: WIFI[], state: CONNECTED/CONNECTED, reason: (unspecified), extra: "Alice-96391022", roaming: false, failover: false, isAvailable: true, isConnectedToProvisioningNetwork: false
I/2014-10-11 19:56:22/Network type: 1
D/2014-10-11 19:56:22/Network State: true
D/2014-10-11 19:56:22/Visibility (visible: 0; gone: 8): 0
I/2014-10-11 19:56:41/onSharedPreferenceChanged force_unit
I/2014-10-11 19:56:41/Settings changed
D/2014-10-11 19:56:41/force_unit
D/2014-10-11 19:56:41/Visibility (visible: 0; gone: 8): 0
I/2014-10-11 19:58:25/onSharedPreferenceChanged network_type
I/2014-10-11 19:58:25/Settings changed
D/2014-10-11 19:58:25/network_type
D/2014-10-11 19:58:25/Visibility (visible: 0; gone: 8): 0
I/2014-10-11 19:58:48/onSharedPreferenceChanged enable_logging_beta
I/2014-10-11 19:58:48/Settings changed
D/2014-10-11 19:58:48/enable_logging_beta
Code:
-----------------
11/ott/2014 18:00:39 UTC
Loading Xposed v54 (for Zygote)...
Running ROM 'cm_olympus-userdebug 4.4.4 KTU84Q 51b641096b test-keys' with fingerprint 'MOTO/olyatt/olympus:2.3.4/4.5.91/110625:user/release-keys'
Loading modules from /data/app/tw.fatminmin.xposed.networkspeedindicator-1.apk
  Loading class tw.fatminmin.xposed.networkspeedindicator.Module
-----------------
11/ott/2014 18:08:20 UTC
Loading Xposed v54 (for Zygote)...
Running ROM 'cm_olympus-userdebug 4.4.4 KTU84Q 51b641096b test-keys' with fingerprint 'MOTO/olyatt/olympus:2.3.4/4.5.91/110625:user/release-keys'
-----------------
11/ott/2014 18:59:22 UTC
Loading Xposed v54 (for Zygote)...
Running ROM 'cm_olympus-userdebug 4.4.4 KTU84Q 51b641096b test-keys' with fingerprint 'MOTO/olyatt/olympus:2.3.4/4.5.91/110625:user/release-keys'
-----------------
11/ott/2014 19:04:54 UTC
Loading Xposed v54 (for Zygote)...
Running ROM 'cm_olympus-userdebug 4.4.4 KTU84Q 51b641096b test-keys' with fingerprint 'MOTO/olyatt/olympus:2.3.4/4.5.91/110625:user/release-keys'
-----------------
11/ott/2014 22:38:36 UTC
Loading Xposed v54 (for Zygote)...
Running ROM 'cm_olympus-userdebug 4.4.4 KTU84Q 51b641096b test-keys' with fingerprint 'MOTO/olyatt/olympus:2.3.4/4.5.91/110625:user/release-keys'
-----------------
11/ott/2014 22:52:43 UTC
Loading Xposed v54 (for Zygote)...
Running ROM 'cm_olympus-userdebug 4.4.4 KTU84Q 51b641096b test-keys' with fingerprint 'MOTO/olyatt/olympus:2.3.4/4.5.91/110625:user/release-keys'
Loading modules from /data/app/tw.fatminmin.xposed.networkspeedindicator-1.apk
  Loading class tw.fatminmin.xposed.networkspeedindicator.Module
Thanks for any help and for your work!
Last edited by NaskITA; 12th October 2014 at 12:12 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to NaskITA For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th October 2014, 06:59 AM   |  #527  
MrSaleh69's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Awesome work, love this mod. Reminds me of DUMeter for Windows desktop. very clean.

I have a request that might help with the 'clean' experience feel i hope. Under 'Unit Settings' > 'Unit', is it possable to pick only two options like MB/s and KB/s only, not B/s?
Or maybe not include B/s in the 'Auto' unit?

I just think that displaying Bits is a bit pointless since it's soo slow.

Works great on my GS3 running CM.11

Thanks again, love this module!
Last edited by MrSaleh69; 12th October 2014 at 07:02 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to MrSaleh69 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th October 2014, 01:27 PM   |  #528  
davidwyl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
178 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Sometimes the up and down decised to go in sync., both showed the same reading.
After I close some apps or clean memory all back to normal agagain .
I think it is something to do with ram that cause that problem.
(using n7100 Android 4.4.2)
13th October 2014, 09:44 PM   |  #529  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
hi, still no option to put the indicator always visable on top even when wifi or mdata is disconneted ?
i'd love to have that option

thx in advance ! and also big thx for the great app, i love it!
The Following User Says Thank You to Timpie69 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Today, 11:51 AM   |  #530  
agent007bond's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowkeyenergy

Ah, I see... So it is not kilobytes at all but kilibytes.
Thank you; I had never heard of that.

Both kilobytes and kibibytes (not kilibytes) are spelt with a capital K. This is standard. I researched this when I was designing the app options, and it doesn't follow the scientific convention used for mass, distance, etc (like kilograms kg and kilometres km). Kilobytes is KB and Kibibytes is KiB. Kilobits is Kb and Kibibits is Kib.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timpie69

hi, still no option to put the indicator always visable on top even when wifi or mdata is disconneted ?
i'd love to have that option

thx in advance ! and also big thx for the great app, i love it!

Why? It's only going to show 0/0. What's the use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidwyl

Sometimes the up and down decised to go in sync., both showed the same reading.
After I close some apps or clean memory all back to normal agagain .
I think it is something to do with ram that cause that problem.
(using n7100 Android 4.4.2)

This maybe due to loopback interfaces which "upload" and "download" the same data at the same time (nothing is actually transferred to the internet, this is within device). At the moment there isn't a way to distinguish where the traffic is coming from or where it is going, so I doubt it can be fixed. Sorry.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSaleh69

I have a request that might help with the 'clean' experience feel i hope. Under 'Unit Settings' > 'Unit', is it possable to pick only two options like MB/s and KB/s only, not B/s?
Or maybe not include B/s in the 'Auto' unit?

I just think that displaying Bits is a bit pointless since it's soo slow.

What do you mean by "so slow"? It will be useful to see if there is at least a bit of transfer (less than 1KB/s) and if so, how much. I think others want the B/s option, so if you don't want it, just don't use it I will consider having another Auto mode showing only MB/s and KB/s. Thanks for the reports btw.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Micks29

@agent007bond, is it possible to make translatable units (e.g. B, KB) from the status bar?
Thanks.

It's doable, but I doubt it will be of any use in a lot of languages (especially non-Roman languages). Imagine a Chinese character in that tight space And what if someone wants the app interface to be in Chinese, but the units displayed in English, then what? It's not easy to do something like that with the Android localization interface.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbr900

Can we have traffic also please
Thx

Sorry, no. Traffic stats are not the focus of the app. It is only a speed indicator

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Xposed Framework Modules by ThreadRank