FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

XT1548 Virgin Mobile

958 posts
Thanks Meter: 516
 
By hossman, Senior Member on 25th October 2015, 01:49 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
I have the virgin mobile variant of the moto g3.
I was able to unlock boot loader, install twrp, and flashed cm.
Everything went well, except I lost service. I restored my backup and all seemed good, but ended up phone calls were not working. Long story, but Ended up flashing factory image and everything is back up and normal. So at least we can always restore, that's good news!

Question is, has anyone else with virgin mobile flashed a ROM yet?
 
 
26th October 2015, 04:40 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Lost Angeles
Thanks Meter: 473
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hossman

I have the virgin mobile variant of the moto g3.
I was able to unlock boot loader, install twrp, and flashed cm.
Everything went well, except I lost service. I restored my backup and all seemed good, but ended up phone calls were not working. Long story, but Ended up flashing factory image and everything is back up and normal. So at least we can always restore, that's good news!

Question is, has anyone else with virgin mobile flashed a ROM yet?

I am getting my VM variant this Tuesday. Im so excited to hear that you were able to unlock the bootloader. I wasnt sure it would be possible. I take it you were also able to root as well?

As for your question I think the reason you were getting no service is because there are currently no Roms for the CMDA variants *YET*, only for the GSM variants. If you look at this post someone has requested certain information and he said it should be easy enough to get cyanogen to work on the VM variant.

Again I am so glad to hear about unlocking the bootloader. How were you able to do it? I looked at the list on Motorola's website and it seemed as unlocking was only for the gsm variant. Thank you

EDIT: PS this user also has the same results as you.
The Following User Says Thank You to Hedied4me For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Hedied4me Ad-Free
26th October 2015, 10:43 AM |#3  
hossman's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 516
 
More
I used motos website to unlock bootloader, it was very simple.
And yes rooted by flashing SuperSU in recovery.

I will check out the posts you linked later today.
This phone is very nice BTW!
The Following User Says Thank You to hossman For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift hossman Ad-Free
26th October 2015, 12:44 PM |#4  
hossman's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 516
 
More
I have posted the info requested
The Following User Says Thank You to hossman For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift hossman Ad-Free
27th October 2015, 01:43 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Lost Angeles
Thanks Meter: 473
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hossman

I have posted the info requested

Thank you very much.

Sent from my Virgin Mobile HTC Desire 601 zaraCL cdma
27th October 2015, 09:54 PM |#6  
hossman's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 516
 
More
I don't think it'll be long before a working cm rom.
I have LTE service but the phone is messed up.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=63517757

[Q&A] [ROM][osprey] CyanogenMod for Moto G (3rd Gen)
27th October 2015, 10:04 PM |#7  
hossman's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 516
 
More
Also our model is listed on cm

http://www.cyanogenmodroms.com/2015/...-2015.html?m=1
28th October 2015, 05:31 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Lost Angeles
Thanks Meter: 473
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hossman

Also our model is listed on cm

http://www.cyanogenmodroms.com/2015/...-2015.html?m=1

Nice, its official. Just got mine in the mail today. Its charging now before I unlock bootloader and root.
3rd November 2015, 02:02 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Lost Angeles
Thanks Meter: 473
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hossman

I have the virgin mobile variant of the moto g3.
I was able to unlock boot loader, install twrp, and flashed cm.
Everything went well, except I lost service. I restored my backup and all seemed good, but ended up phone calls were not working. Long story, but Ended up flashing factory image and everything is back up and normal. So at least we can always restore, that's good news!

Question is, has anyone else with virgin mobile flashed a ROM yet?

Hoss where did you get the factory image?

Sent from my Virgin Mobile CDMA Moto G3
3rd November 2015, 10:36 AM |#10  
hossman's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 516
 
More
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=3169639
4th November 2015, 07:08 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Lost Angeles
Thanks Meter: 473
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hossman

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=3169639

Oh I know about this thread. Did you flash the Sprint version? You have Virgin Mobile right? I wasn't sure if we could flash the Sprint version.

Edit: Oh OK so it is the Sprint one we flash. Awesome

Sent from my Virgin Mobile CDMA Moto G3
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes