FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

carrier aggregation in Europe

180 posts
Thanks Meter: 50
 
By Mastamike, Senior Member on 1st May 2019, 09:02 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi,

This is an known fact that Xiaomi does not implement fully compatible carrier aggregation for European mobile networks.

In EU, users of mi 8, mi mix 2, redmi pro,... Reported they cannot use 4g+ due to impossible inter carrier aggregation combinations ( eg b3+b7).

Is mi 9 the first Xiaomi device that allows correct full 2CA or 3 CA for European market ?

Does somebody already test it ?

Is it still the same situation ? Which means we have no possibility to have fully working 4g+ outside China and India ?
 
 
2nd May 2019, 12:00 AM |#2  
RedWave31's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 264
 
More
On the EEA version, you've got at least 4G+ and 3CA.

Sorry for the big images, but it's not likely anyone else will reply anyway.

On those images, you can see up to 3CA on bands 1/7/20, 2CA on 1/7 or 7/20 or 3/7.


I'm at a weak LTE location, but I won't really think about it in the middle of Paris.

Links if images don't work. Edit : XDA is so wrong I have to add a space.
https://ibb.co /YtgMFhm
https://ibb.co /gg6DDX6
https://ibb.co /wc2qCfB
https://ibb.co /D99wzzF
https://ibb.co /yy4v17x
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to RedWave31 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift RedWave31 Ad-Free
2nd May 2019, 01:10 AM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Can confirm it works on the global rom as well in The Netherlands.
The Following User Says Thank You to SKiLLa XP For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift SKiLLa XP Ad-Free
2nd May 2019, 02:31 AM |#4  
pimpmaneaton's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag West Jordan UT
Thanks Meter: 4,945
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedWave31

On the EEA version, you've got at least 4G+ and 3CA.

Sorry for the big images, but it's not likely anyone else will reply anyway.

On those images, you can see up to 3CA on bands 1/7/20, 2CA on 1/7 or 7/20 or 3/7.

I'm at a weak LTE location, but I won't really think about it in the middle of Paris.

Links if images don't work. Edit : XDA is so wrong I have to add a space.
https://ibb.co /YtgMFhm
https://ibb.co /gg6DDX6
https://ibb.co /wc2qCfB
https://ibb.co /D99wzzF
https://ibb.co /yy4v17x

Can I ask what app you are using to test 2ca and 3ca. This looks handy and I am having an issue with getting LTE+. I have the Chinese variant, and am currently downloading the global rom to install on it and see if LTE+ starts working.
2nd May 2019, 09:41 AM |#5  
RedWave31's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 264
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pimpmaneaton

Can I ask what app you are using to test 2ca and 3ca. This looks handy and I am having an issue with getting LTE+. I have the Chinese variant, and am currently downloading the global rom to install on it and see if LTE+ starts working.

Network Signal Guru, they're doing auto-promotion in the banner on top of each screenshot
2nd May 2019, 10:13 AM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedWave31

On the EEA version, you've got at least 4G+ and 3CA.

Sorry for the big images, but it's not likely anyone else will reply anyway.

On those images, you can see up to 3CA on bands 1/7/20, 2CA on 1/7 or 7/20 or 3/7.


I'm at a weak LTE location, but I won't really think about it in the middle of Paris.

Links if images don't work. Edit : XDA is so wrong I have to add a space.
https://ibb.co /YtgMFhm
https://ibb.co /gg6DDX6
https://ibb.co /wc2qCfB
https://ibb.co /D99wzzF
https://ibb.co /yy4v17x

Thank you for your answer.

So, can we assume the mi 9 is the first Xiaomi device fully operational in EU ?

Xiaomi has always been shady (to say the least) concerning Carrier Aggregation.
2nd May 2019, 10:27 AM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKiLLa XP

Can confirm it works on the global rom as well in The Netherlands.

Did you have the possibility to check if the mi 9 can correctly aggregate b3/b7 and b3/b20?

I'm from Belgium and the 3 operators use mostly b3/b20 and sometimes b3/b7. It should be very similar in Netherlands.
2nd May 2019, 03:07 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mastamike

Did you have the possibility to check if the mi 9 can correctly aggregate b3/b7 and b3/b20?

I'm from Belgium and the 3 operators use mostly b3/b20 and sometimes b3/b7. It should be very similar in Netherlands.

I still have to wait another 100+ hour for my unlock, so I cannot show you the details (need root), but I'm pretty sure the 3ca is working, as I got my carrier's full 225 Mbps speed at some locations (as in: real-life performance) including the 4G+ and VoLTE icons too.

EDIT: 225Mbps could still be 2CA technically, so I dug a bit deeper into the (official Dutch) specs:

4G: LTE FDD: B1 / 2/3/4/5/7/8/12/20/28; LTE TDD: B38 / B39 / B40
3G: WCDMA: B1 / B2 / B4 / B5 / B8; TDSCDMA: B34 / B39; CDMA EVDO BC0
2G: GSM: B2 / B3 / B5 / B8; CDMA 1X: BC0

And 4x4 MIMO | HPUE | HO RxD

Please also note that I do still need to do the *#*#4636#*#* trick to set the modem to LTE/WCDMA on each reboot to prevent Cell Standby drain and reception issues on my official global ROM (10.2.9.0); can't wait for the unlock waiting-period to be over ...

PS: I believe the Cell Drain to be caused (at least partially) by not only searching for those unused frequencies in Europe by default, but also when it actually finds a working legacy 2G or 3G frequency, it desperately tries to keep that connection alive in standby-/sleep-modus instead of using higher speed 3G and 4G frequencies to try & save battery, but because legacy frequency towers are very sparse and far between in my country (they're even talking about killing 3G off in a few years already), it actually drains the battery way more than simply using that stellar 4G signal from the brandnew tower just a few hundred meters away.
The Following User Says Thank You to SKiLLa XP For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift SKiLLa XP Ad-Free
2nd May 2019, 09:48 PM |#9  
RedWave31's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 264
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKiLLa XP


Please also note that I do still need to do the *#*#4636#*#* trick to set the modem to LTE/WCDMA on each reboot .

There is an old application called 4G LTE Switch that does this number for you and is very lightweight. You can also set a contact tho.
It still doesn't force LTE on reboot, I don't know ANY application that does this. And you shouldn't, because sometimes, rebooting a phone in a car while driving because you have an urgent call to make in a 2G environment and GSM won't activate is enough distraction.
2nd May 2019, 10:03 PM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKiLLa XP

I still have to wait another 100+ hour for my unlock, so I cannot show you the details (need root), but I'm pretty sure the 3ca is working, as I got my carrier's full 225 Mbps speed at some locations (as in: real-life performance) including the 4G+ and VoLTE icons too.

EDIT: 225Mbps could still be 2CA technically, so I dug a bit deeper into the (official Dutch) specs:

4G: LTE FDD: B1 / 2/3/4/5/7/8/12/20/28; LTE TDD: B38 / B39 / B40
3G: WCDMA: B1 / B2 / B4 / B5 / B8; TDSCDMA: B34 / B39; CDMA EVDO BC0
2G: GSM: B2 / B3 / B5 / B8; CDMA 1X: BC0

And 4x4 MIMO | HPUE | HO RxD

Please also note that I do still need to do the *#*#4636#*#* trick to set the modem to LTE/WCDMA on each reboot to prevent Cell Standby drain and reception issues on my official global ROM (10.2.9.0); can't wait for the unlock waiting-period to be over ...

PS: I believe the Cell Drain to be caused (at least partially) by not only searching for those unused frequencies in Europe by default, but also when it actually finds a working legacy 2G or 3G frequency, it desperately tries to keep that connection alive in standby-/sleep-modus instead of using higher speed 3G and 4G frequencies to try & save battery, but because legacy frequency towers are very sparse and far between in my country (they're even talking about killing 3G off in a few years already), it actually drains the battery way more than simply using that stellar 4G signal from the brandnew tower just a few hundred meters away.


It's a shame and quite disrespectful for European consumers that Xiaomi does not configure and set the mobile properly according to the country they are selling.

Even if you dig the internet, there are no datas nor proofs that mi 9 can correctly aggregate carriers outside China.

And as all predecessors were unable to do it, we have to rely on good willing people here on XDA.
2nd May 2019, 10:55 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Tehran
Thanks Meter: 78
 
More
I can confirm that mi 9 is the first phone from xiaomi that support 4.5G in my country (b3+b7)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to emprazol For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift emprazol Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes