FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

FireOS 5.4.0.1

1,897 posts
Thanks Meter: 641
 
Post Reply Email Thread
30th August 2017, 05:34 AM |#41  
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davey126

Not an exact copy but likely drawn from same resource pool. One would hope an entity like Amazon (or whomever they contract with) would have fairly sophisticated source code management methodologies/tools. Then again, I have seen some amazingly sloppy practices from household names.[COLOR="Silver"]

Didn't I read somewhere, and I might be wrong, but doesn't or didn't Amazon at one point use Motorola bootloaders?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Davey126

Things are not as they seem; much to learn ... (must be an emoji for that).

Moving on as conversion has run its course and then some. Applaud your interest and energy. Good things may happen yet.

XDA and similar forums are excellent resource pools for all things Android.
I encourage their use - along with copious helpings of the beverage of your choice. Caffeine and Kahlua here.

Good luck, mate.

Yes...and sip slowly.
 
 
30th August 2017, 06:17 AM |#42  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Would anyone happen to know if it's possible to get a pattern lock on this or would that require root?

Sent from my KFFOWI using Tapatalk
30th August 2017, 10:37 AM |#43  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DragonFire1024

Didn't I read somewhere, and I might be wrong, but doesn't or didn't Amazon at one point use Motorola bootloaders?

The ci is similar, but is also the code similar? I don't know it.
3rd September 2017, 08:43 PM |#44  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake1702_

I downgraded mine from 5.4.0.0 to 5.3.2.1 today. It was time for a reset anyway. I did as you said and uninstalled the ota junk so it will stay at 5.3.2.1.

Sent from my KFFOWI using Tapatalk

I have a kindle fire also on 5.4.0.0 and I wanted to downgrade the 5.3.2.1 to root it. What instructions did you follow to do this? Last time I checked (about a month and a half ago), it wasn't possible to downgrade. Hope you can help me out.
3rd September 2017, 09:01 PM |#45  
Davey126's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 7,288
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by javweird

I have a kindle fire also on 5.4.0.0 and I wanted to downgrade the 5.3.2.1 to root it. What instructions did you follow to do this? Last time I checked (about a month and a half ago), it wasn't possible to downgrade. Hope you can help me out.

- If you have a 5th gen Fire you can downgrade to FireOS 5.3.2.1 which is NOT rootable. Some speculate 5.3.2.1 may be more vulnerable than 5.4.x.x I have my doubts.
- If you have a 7th gen Fire you (probably) can not downgrade; certainly not yet as only 5th gen FireOS images are available from Amazon

Bottom line: As of the date of this post there are no options to root a 5th/7th gen Fire that is currently on FireOS 5.3.2.1 or above.
7th September 2017, 01:02 PM |#46  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
If there is still interest in a build.prop, feel free to use it
Code:
# begin build properties
# autogenerated by buildinfo.sh
ro.build.id=LVY48F
ro.build.display.id=LVY48F
ro.build.version.incremental=37.5.7.9_user_579279320
ro.build.version.number=579279320
ro.build.mktg.fireos=Fire OS 5.4.0.1
ro.build.version.name=Fire OS 5.3.4.0 (579279320)
ro.build.version.fireos=5.3.4.0
ro.build.version.fireos.sdk=4
ro.build.version.fireos=5.3.4.0
ro.build.version.fireos.sdk=4
ro.build.version.sdk=22
ro.build.version.codename=REL
ro.build.version.all_codenames=REL
ro.build.version.release=5.1.1
ro.build.version.security_patch=2016-10-05
ro.build.version.base_os=
ro.build.date=Sun Aug 13 20:08:51 UTC 2017
ro.build.date.utc=1502654931
ro.build.type=user
ro.build.lab126.sign.type=release
ro.build.user=build
ro.build.host=14-use1b-b-27
ro.build.tags=release-keys
ro.build.flavor=full_ford-user
ro.build.platform.version=
ro.build.configuration=tablet
ro.fireos.target.extension=default
ro.fireos.target.product=full_ford

ro.product.brand=Amazon
ro.product.name=full_ford
ro.product.device=ford
ro.product.package_name=com.amazon.ford.android.os
ro.product.board=ford
# ro.product.cpu.abi and ro.product.cpu.abi2 are obsolete,
# use ro.product.cpu.abilist instead.
ro.product.cpu.abi=armeabi-v7a
ro.product.cpu.abi2=armeabi
ro.product.cpu.abilist=armeabi-v7a,armeabi
ro.product.cpu.abilist32=armeabi-v7a,armeabi
ro.product.cpu.abilist64=
ro.product.manufacturer=Amazon
ro.product.locale.language=en
ro.product.locale.region=US
ro.wifi.channels=
ro.board.platform=mt8127
# ro.build.product is obsolete; use ro.product.device
ro.build.product=ford
# Do not try to parse description, fingerprint, or thumbprint
ro.build.description=full_ford-user 5.1.1 LVY48F 37.5.7.9_user_579279320 release-keys
ro.build.fingerprint=Amazon/full_ford/ford:5.1.1/LVY48F/37.5.7.9_user_579279320:user/release-keys
ro.build.characteristics=tablet
# end build properties
#
# from device/amazon/ford/system.prop
#
#
# system.prop for generic sdk
#

ro.sf.lcd_density=160

#support opengles 2.0 3.0 is 196608
ro.opengles.version=131072

ro.audio.silent=0

# MTK, Infinity, 20090720 {
wifi.interface=wlan0
# MTK, Infinity, 20090720 }

# MTK, mtk03034, 20101210 {
ro.mediatek.wlan.wsc=1
# MTK, mtk03034 20101210}
# MTK, mtk03034, 20110318 {
ro.mediatek.wlan.p2p=1
# MTK, mtk03034 20110318}

# MTK, mtk03034, 20101213 {
mediatek.wlan.ctia=0
# MTK, mtk03034 20101213}

#
wifi.tethering.interface=ap0
#

wifi.direct.interface=p2p0

# Switching Menu of Mass storage and MTP
ro.sys.usb.storage.type=mtp,mass_storage

# USB BICR function
ro.sys.usb.bicr=yes

# USB Charge only function
ro.sys.usb.charging.only=yes

#smartvolume
ro.smartvolume.config=/system/vendor/smartvolume/ford/
ro.config.notification_sound=Verso.ogg

persist.panel.orientation=270

# maximum backup size for factory reset whitelist in kB
ro.recovery.wl.maxstore=524288

#uart kernel log
persist.sys.uart.klog.enable=n

# wifi rssi->bar thresholds
persist.wifi.rssi.thresholds=-92,-77,-68,-63
# Audio Rotation
ro.audio.monitorRotation=true

#
# ADDITIONAL_BUILD_PROPERTIES
#
ro.com.android.dateformat=MM-dd-yyyy
ro.config.ringtone=Ring_Synth_04.ogg
ro.config.notification_sound=Verso.ogg
ro.carrier=unknown
ro.config.alarm_alert=Alarm_Classic.ogg
ro.build.lab126.buildtype=Nightly
ro.build.lab126.project=full_ford_ship_5340
ro.build.lab126.build=2793
drm.service.enabled=true
mtk_in_house_tee_support=true
ro.mediatek.platform=MT8127
ro.adb.secure=1
persist.radio.combo.chipid=-1
mediatek.wlan.chip=mediatek.wlan.module.postfix=_
ro.btstack=default
dalvik.vm.heapstartsize=5m
dalvik.vm.heapgrowthlimit=96m
dalvik.vm.heapsize=256m
dalvik.vm.heaptargetutilization=0.75
dalvik.vm.heapminfree=512k
dalvik.vm.heapmaxfree=2m
ro.mediatek.chip_ver=S01
ro.mediatek.version.release=ALPS.W10.24.p0
debug.log.base.path=/data/debug_service
debug.log.battery.enable=n
debug.log.battery.sleep=60
debug.log.temperature.enable=n
debug.log.temperature.sleep=10
debug.log.thermal_qa.enable=n
debug.log.dmesg.enable=n
debug.log.dmesg.wakeup=0
debug.log.logcat.enable=n
debug.log.coredump.enable=n
ro.sf.hwrotation=270
ro.smartvolume.config=/system/vendor/smartvolume/ford/
dalvik.vm.skpheapstartsize=2m
dalvik.vm.skpheapgrowthlimit=20m
dalvik.vm.skpheaptargetutil=0.9
dalvik.vm.skpheapminfree=128k
dalvik.vm.skpheapmaxfree=512k
persist.sys.dalvik.vm.lib.2=libart.so
persist.sys.recovery.batt_level=25
ro.amazon.fosflags=1
persist.sys.ota.verified=unverified
persist.sys.last_verified_build=none
ro.logd.size.vitals=128000
ro.logd.size.metrics=128000
dalvik.vm.isa.arm.features=div
net.bt.name=Android
dalvik.vm.stack-trace-file=/data/anr/traces.txt
EDIT:
Quote:

FireOS 5.4.0 might actually still be 5.3.4.0:
ro.build.version.fireos=5.3.4.0 (this exact line appears twice)

by DragonFire1024 (https://forum.xda-developers.com/sho...5&postcount=89)
So as I understand things, but with Android Systems I am pretty much a beginner, the current 5.4.0.1 based still on 5.3.4.0 and so it would be possible to downgrade. What do you think?
7th September 2017, 04:26 PM |#47  
Quote:
Originally Posted by grafConix

If there is still interest in a build.prop, feel free to use it


EDIT:
by DragonFire1024 (https://forum.xda-developers.com/sho...&postcount=89)
So as I understand things, but with Android Systems I am pretty much a beginner, the current 5.4.0.1 based still on 5.3.4.0 and so it would be possible to downgrade. What do you think?

Couldn't tell you as no one has tried yet. If they have no one has reported this results
7th September 2017, 06:55 PM |#48  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:

Couldn't tell you as no one has tried yet.

I'm really confused with the different devices, shipped by amazon, so I'm sorry for the question: Does the factory cable works with this device (5th gen.)? I'm not sure, but I think not.
If it works, I will give it a try
8th September 2017, 03:14 AM |#49  
Quote:
Originally Posted by grafConix

I'm really confused with the different devices, shipped by amazon, so I'm sorry for the question: Does the factory cable works with this device (5th gen.)? I'm not sure, but I think not.
If it works, I will give it a try

I don't see why it wouldn't, unless defective. Though even with their cables, you still get the same low power charger cord warnings. Plugging them in a PC, in my experience, takes twice as long to charge. I use or have used various cables from quality to dollar store and each one has varying successes and failures. I have more issues with the two bottom clips wearing down than I do with actual cable problems.
8th September 2017, 03:56 AM |#50  
Davey126's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 7,288
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by grafConix

I'm really confused with the different devices, shipped by amazon, so I'm sorry for the question: Does the factory cable works with this device (5th gen.)? I'm not sure, but I think not.
If it works, I will give it a try

If by "factory cable" you are referring to a rewired 'factory programming cable' then no - this type of cable will not alter the device's boot mode or permit flashing content outside the stock recovery environment. Amazon devices have been 'immune' to such cables for several generations.

On the other hand if your question was focused on using the supplied cable for data transfer and/or FireOS reloads then yes - the stock cable supplied by Amazon can perform this task.

---------- Post added at 10:56 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:51 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by DragonFire1024

I don't see why it wouldn't, unless defective. Though even with their cables, you still get the same low power charger cord warnings. Plugging them in a PC, in my experience, takes twice as long to charge. I use or have used various cables from quality to dollar store and each one has varying successes and failures. I have more issues with the two bottom clips wearing down than I do with actual cable problems.

5th-7th gen Fire's have a maximum charge rate of 0.8-1.0Ah (800-1000mAh). A USB2 port can output a maximum of 500mAh but may be throttled by the host system; USB3 max is 900mAh and is also subject to throttling. Amazon typically includes a power brick rated at 1-1.5Ah insuring the device charges at the maximum possible rate assuming the USB cable/plugs are in good condition.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Davey126 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Davey126 Ad-Free
8th September 2017, 06:00 AM |#51  
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davey126



5th-7th gen Fire's have a maximum charge rate of 0.8-1.0Ah (800-1000mAh). A USB2 port can output a maximum of 500mAh but may be throttled by the host system; USB3 max is 900mAh and is also subject to throttling. Amazon typically includes a power brick rated at 1-1.5Ah insuring the device charges at the maximum possible rate assuming the USB cable/plugs are in good condition.

Indeed. Indeed. It's not to say I haven't had some fail, in epic proportions. I've seen a few if the high end dollar store type they sell at chain convenience stores on the edge of the counter, catch fire. However that said, the one I got now was cheap 4.99. but they know me and let me look at it and test it. Great cable and a decent length.

I have a little hack for the prongs that wear down. They don't generally really wear down as the cheap metro bend into the plug. A little tolerance and steady hand, needle and tweezers refreshes the fitting.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes