FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Umecity (VW): Allwinner T8, 2GB/32GB, 7.1.2, 9" 1024x600, Shallow 2din [2017/11]

488 posts
Thanks Meter: 93
 
By Rottgrub, Senior Member on 13th November 2017, 07:21 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
2nd December 2017, 10:19 PM |#21  
Rottgrub's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by warata

Do you have same issue??I thought that It was almost defective...
I tried an external microphone, but It didn't work my own dynamic microphone.
I think that this product uses a condenser microphone.
I ordered the corresponding microphone with aliexpress, but it will be two weeks after arrival.

So, I was able to do a little testing today, and I think the mic gain is just way too low. I was able to scream "BRING THE NOISE" into Google Music's search box, and it actually searched for "bring it". So mine can hear a little bit. I can see this being one of three problems:
  • The mic is crap (always possible)
  • The mic gain is set too low in Android
  • Mic signal is being improperly split between the hardware Bluetooth, and Android

I think I have an external mic around here somewhere to try with it. I'm also going to contact the vendor to see if they have any suggestions. I'll be sure to update if I can figure anything out.
 
 
4th December 2017, 09:00 PM |#22  
Member
Flag Saint-Petersburg
Thanks Meter: 16
 
Donate to Me
More
V9.2.2_20171017.214836_TW2-FD https://yadi.sk/d/ZwMkfQhD3QKDb4
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to gormiza For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift gormiza Ad-Free
4th December 2017, 10:47 PM |#23  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
you can test the internal mic by using a voice recording app, i've used the sony one to test the shitty internal mic many times.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rottgrub

So, I was able to do a little testing today, and I think the mic gain is just way too low. I was able to scream "BRING THE NOISE" into Google Music's search box, and it actually searched for "bring it". So mine can hear a little bit. I can see this being one of three problems:

  • The mic is crap (always possible)
  • The mic gain is set too low in Android
  • Mic signal is being improperly split between the hardware Bluetooth, and Android

I think I have an external mic around here somewhere to try with it. I'm also going to contact the vendor to see if they have any suggestions. I'll be sure to update if I can figure anything out.

The Following User Says Thank You to vinhZ For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift vinhZ Ad-Free
5th December 2017, 04:21 PM |#24  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rottgrub

What system and MCU version is your system running? If I hang onto this unit, I will be looking into making a custom ROM for it. (No promises)

Below is a screen shot of my about selection. Doesn't make much sense to me though. Would the ROM that's just being posted work. Have any of you managed to get a one device to connect via Bluetooth? Can't get my obdeleven to connect.

This is my 6.0 software https://mega.nz/#!5JUkhTrQ!TzJVM1QuD...X9qIBfwUabE_Nc
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20171205_161844.jpg
Views:	644
Size:	253.6 KB
ID:	4353111  
The Following User Says Thank You to hal752 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift hal752 Ad-Free
6th December 2017, 03:25 PM |#25  
Rottgrub's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hal752

Below is a screen shot of my about selection. Doesn't make much sense to me though. Would the ROM that's just being posted work. Have any of you managed to get a one device to connect via Bluetooth? Can't get my obdeleven to connect.

This is my 6.0 software https://mega.nz/#!5JUkhTrQ!TzJVM1QuD...X9qIBfwUabE_Nc

So, a couple of things stand out from that pic. You are definitely running a T8, and seem to be on the same platform for the most part. If you try a different system firmware, I would advise to only use one which ends in KED3-5, at least until we know more about the numbering of these firmwares.

I would highly advise you not to flash any MCU updates until you know for sure that one is compatible with your unit. It is very easy to brick one of these units with improper MCU flashing.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Rottgrub For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Rottgrub Ad-Free
7th December 2017, 01:16 PM |#26  
Member
Flag Moscow
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hal752

This is my 6.0 software

First of all, I would like to say that @Rottgrub is ultimately right, and you should not try to flash MCU if not absolutely sure / have a backup image of yours and ready to brick the HU.

Could you please double check the link and file, because on your screenshot you have Allwinner T8 with Android 6.0 - V9.1.x firmware branch, version V9.1.1_20170830.183839_KED3-5, while filename on your link says it is V8.2.3 (V8.2.3_20170927.200111_KED3-5.rar), which is Android 6.0 too, but for different CPU - it is a Allwinner T3 firmware branch.

Connection of OBD2 (ELM327) adapters, as well as all other non-phone (headset) devices by Bluetooth on HU is a difficult and complicated process. Firmware and MCU updates both frequently required, and still it is a lottery, it may work, or may not. All non-standard Bluetooth devices will most likely not work. This happens because Bluetooth module is managed by MCU, not Android, is not native to Android, so it will newer work as good as on your phone. This was made, huh, to connect your phone to the HU as a handsfree device. Default Android BT software stack can be a server device on A2DP and HF profile, but can't be a client, like headphones. HU, in it's turn, must be like a headphones. Here be dragons.

Known problems with OBD2 adapters are that password for adapter and set in BT settings must be the same and set, most frequently, to "1234". You should connect OBD2 in HU Bluetooth or Phone application, not in Android BT settings (may be called by shortcut, but will not work correctly). Bluetooth device name of OBD2 adapter must be exactly "OBDII", others will work OK with your phone, but not with HU. It seems that some fixup procedures in the code are linked to BT device name. And even if all of this is true, it seems that T8 firmware is still under development and do not work with any type of OBD2 adapter.

Most probably, you will be able to upgrade your Android 6.0 firmware to the new one on Android 7.1, but this process is a bit more complicated and dangerous then regular firmware update. If something goes wrong, HU turns into a brick, software does not work as you want or expect - you have been warned, it's your own responsibility only.
1) First of all, get a backup of your Android and MCU firmware from the seller, or, if this is not possible, get Root, install this backup tool for R16 and make a backup of all Android partitions, and MCU partition. It is untested on T8 yet, but it's better to have this backup, then nothing. This tool just do dd from known partitions and copy them to file, that's why root required. It may try to restore as well, but this is more risky.

2) As you may notice, firmware update files are named like GUID's, three files .0 .1 .2 with main Android image, split into 3 parts, and smaller boot partition for Android. Names for Android 7 on T8 are well-known:
b278023e-7757-11e7-bb3a-07933d230b22.0, .1, .2 - main Android image;
b1604ca8-7757-11e7-906d-3390eed0c0c2 - boot (Linux core);
bd07a5ee-fbb0-11e4-ae78-000c29ba27c0 - MCU partition for Android. DON'T FLASH it, if not 100% sure it is from yours or hardware compatible (same Radio, DSP, etc) HU. Delete this file instead, details later.
203affea-6437-11e6-9d6a-6fc36e3d2c72 - one particular MCU firmware for immediate flashing into the MCU. DON'T FLASH it, if not 1000% sure it is fit your HU, maximal chances to get a brick. Delete this file instead.

However, names for Android 6 on T8 are unknown. So HU will not "see" and will not start flashing Android 7 files until you rename them to the names that it expects to see. Easiest way to find the correct names - from your firmware you got from seller on step 1, or from any other T8 Android 6 firmware. Btw, if you know any - please share a link. You have to rename files with Android 7 firmware to the names Android 6 firmware expects, and start flashing in usual way. Hopefully, it will work.

3) As you may see before, firmware version contains letters in the end, "KED3" in your case. This letters name the OEM manufacture name, and must match hardware ID, stored in the MCU firmware. If they will not match, red letters of warning will be written on the top of display: "UI unauthorized, please contact the supplier". It will not affect regular operations, but is very annoying. To delete this, you may zero out this ID in ro.fota.device string in /system/build.prop. Get Root, search for the string "ro.fota.device=" in the build.prop, find OEM letters like TW2-FD or KED1 or JP1 (or others), according to firmware, and then 4 digits of ID. Replace ID with 4 ASCII zeroes, so from ro.fota.device=KED1_0011 you will get ro.fota.device=KED1_0000. Remember about Linux cr/lf, don't edit build.prop with notepad, and restore access rights, or you will brick the HU.

Alternatively, you may edit this string in the firmware files before flashing, and then sign the modified firmware. Manual here.

4) Unlike other HU's, this firmware branch (starting from R16 / T3 new one / T8) do have a set of MCU files, different for different car models, stored in the separate Android partition (size 16 Mb). MCU flash size is 128 kb, so lots of them can fit onto this partition. Then you choose car model, HU selects proper MCU file from this partition, flashes it into the MCU, and then reboots. So you must not touch it or switch it off during car model select, or it will become a brick forever, and you should not select the model too frequently to save a MCU flash programming cycles. This mechanism was developed, because CANbus MCU code is different for different cars, and code for all cars does not fit the MCU flash size. Even more, different MCU may and do have different code for Radio module (mostly TDA7786/TDA7703/TEF662x) and audio DSP (mostly TDA7729(TDA7719)/Rohm BD37xxx), if you flash the wrong one, you loose Radio or sound and ability to regulate it).

This partition gives you a unique chance to backup MCU set before flashing it (see p.1). It may be saved and flashed back with the root and backup tool or just dd (I haven't test it!!! su cd /dev/block/by-name dd if=private of=/usb0/private.img bs=4096). MCU firmware usually encrypted, and can't be read back from the MCU, so for other HUs there are no way to backup existing MCU firmware, unlike this one. However, if you accidently flash firmware with the MCU set file bd07a5ee-fbb0-11e4-ae78-000c29ba27c0, it will overwrite this partition. If this file does not fit your hardware, you will not get a brick - because, unlike 203affea-6437-11e6-9d6a-6fc36e3d2c72 file, only Android partition is flashed, MCU flash remains the same - but you will loose ability to select car model in the factory settings menu, because no suitable MCU is found for your hardware ID in the MCU partition.
Hardware ID, Car model, Radio, DSP and lot of other features are encoded in the MCU name.
T5.3.19-hwID-carID-С06101-YYMMDD there С06101 is a Radio, DSP and HU features bitmask. Some may be decoded with the old MCU+1.4+(+4core).exe decode tool from R16. It does not fit exactly, but may give a clue. MCU firmware name should be entered without the T letter in beginning, like 5.3.19-145-10-С06101-170318.
You see, MCU issue is quite complicated, right? So, if you are not absolutely sure - don't flash the MCU!


Based on 4pda.ru materials.

P.S. As far as I know, there are no known way to get a root on T8 with Android 7 yet. You have to disassemble (take apart) firmware, insert there files for root, and then assemble and sign it back, or wait, until somebody do it for you. Unfortunately, there are no detailed step-by-step manual available, and I am unable to create it, because my knowledge is not enough.

---------- Post added at 04:16 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:59 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by warata

I tried an external microphone, but It didn't work my own dynamic microphone.
I think that this product uses a condenser microphone.

It definitely uses the condenser microphone with phantom power. To say even more, it's internal microphone is connected electrically parallel to the external microphone socket, so connecting dynamic microphone will just shortcircuit it and make both unusable. Some people make a microphone jack with the switching contact, so then external mic inserted, internal will be switched off and don't collect car noise.

Meanwhile you may try any PC computer microphone, they fit ok. Only one problem to consider - HU mic connector is a mono type, so if computer mic do have a stereo connector, it may fit bad and signal pin (right channel) may be connected to the ground. If right and left are connected inside the jack, both will be connected to ground and mic don't work.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to bazanovv For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift bazanovv Ad-Free
11th December 2017, 05:54 PM |#27  
Member
Flag Saint-Petersburg
Thanks Meter: 16
 
Donate to Me
More
Firmware with the root, red inscription removed. The work has been verified. You can bet on any T8. https://yadi.sk/d/2gI5y0Hv3QXR8v
11th December 2017, 06:27 PM |#28  
dick-jones's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 188
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gormiza

Firmware with the root, red inscription removed. The work has been verified. You can bet on any T8. https://yadi.sk/d/UUxMzhZz3QXE6K

The firmware does not have one file, b1604ca8-7757-11e7-906d-3390eed0c0c2 file missing!

Please return the file to the archive with the firmware. Thank you.

Here is a link to the entire firmware from the author's mod V9.2.2_20171026.152904_KED1-mod
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to dick-jones For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift dick-jones Ad-Free
11th December 2017, 07:57 PM |#29  
Member
Flag Saint-Petersburg
Thanks Meter: 16
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dick-jones

The firmware does not have one file, b1604ca8-7757-11e7-906d-3390eed0c0c2 file missing!

Please return the file to the archive with the firmware. Thank you.

Here is a link to the entire firmware from the author's mod V9.2.2_20171026.152904_KED1-mod


amended
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to gormiza For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift gormiza Ad-Free
11th December 2017, 10:34 PM |#30  
Senior Member
Flag Tsu
Thanks Meter: 45
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gormiza

Firmware with the root, red inscription removed. The work has been verified. You can bet on any T8. https://yadi.sk/d/2gI5y0Hv3QXR8v

I would like to try it but how can I use it?
12th December 2017, 04:37 AM |#31  
dick-jones's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 188
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by warata

I would like to try it but how can I use it?

Extract 4 files from the archive. Put directly on usb flash drive, not in the folder. Connect usb flash drive to HU. Select the menu item Settings-Car settings-System update. Wait for the update to finish.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dick-jones For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift dick-jones Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes