FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Where to buy a RK3188 SOM board

204 posts
Thanks Meter: 37
 
By solmer, Senior Member on 7th March 2016, 01:11 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi! , I want to upgrade my RK3066 with a quadcore SOM board . I've been looking but I can't find a dealer?.

Any advice?

Thanks!!!
 
 
8th March 2016, 05:04 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by solmer

Hi! , I want to upgrade my RK3066 with a quadcore SOM board . I've been looking but I can't find a dealer?.

Any advice?

Thanks!!!

Here is a link to a quadcore SOM board
http://www.aliexpress.com/store/prod...608448711.html

I bought my head unit from this seller. Had good communication with him, reliable seller.
8th March 2016, 10:34 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 284
 
Donate to Me
More
I have RK3188 SoM 16GB in stock
IN USA I can ship you one for 85$ plus shipping
9th March 2016, 07:47 AM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Hi ! thanks for your inputs

Did you notice a real difference between the dual core and the quadcore?

Thanks !
9th March 2016, 09:20 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Is this compatible with KYD model?
15th March 2016, 02:53 AM |#6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
I have the KD-c1908 from Pumpkin audio and they have been upgrading this unit.
the RK 3188.

They quoted me 70$ us shipped to me in canada from china for the board and 100 for the front higher resolution panel (complete minus som)

Now the question is do I do the display upgrade as well :P

I have noticed twice the speed when using google earth and I can simultaneously install several apps much faster than with the 3066. Not much of a benchmark I know but I would say it was worth the investment in the quad SOM.

---------- Post added at 02:53 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:41 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by robertut

Is this compatible with KYD model?

Quote:

Note: This SoM can be used to upgrade your KGL/KLD/RM/GS/JY/YZ/BN headunit from dualcore RK3066 to quadcore RK3188.

That was right on the website and its the same one I used. What is different about the KYD model ?
The Following User Says Thank You to Mekanix1 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Mekanix1 Ad-Free
21st March 2016, 08:29 AM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
May I have one question: Can I upgarde the LCD screen too? From 800X480 to 1024X600. If yes, where I can buy it?
Thanks!
21st March 2016, 03:32 PM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vuquan

May I have one question: Can I upgarde the LCD screen too? From 800X480 to 1024X600. If yes, where I can buy it?
Thanks!

Me too. Im still bugging pumpkin audio to let me try but so far mo luck
13th April 2016, 12:49 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 284
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mekanix1

Me too. Im still bugging pumpkin audio to let me try but so far mo luck

If you still need the RK3188 drop me a PM.
13th April 2016, 02:14 AM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by doctorman

If you still need the RK3188 drop me a PM.

I got the 3188 from pumpkn. And it works great thanks.

Its the LCD I'm trying to get now.
13th April 2016, 02:22 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 284
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mekanix1

I got the 3188 from pumpkn. And it works great thanks.

Its the LCD I'm trying to get now.

which model LCD do you need? and where are you located? I will see if I can get it to you
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes