FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Bad radio reception

156 posts
Thanks Meter: 11
 
By srfairhurst, Senior Member on 16th February 2016, 08:57 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
1st March 2016, 11:28 PM |#11  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pounce

Its possible you are mistaken. The OP in this thread didn't provide any hardware specific details. Instead we know only version of android.

My units have no problem with radio reception, but I can simulate a problem if the connector touching the housing and impacting reception.

Other issues are not connecting the power to a stock antenna from the head unit when you install it. Even if you don't have an antenna that goes up and down you can have an amplified antenna. If you don't power it you don't get good reception. it can be something that is missed with wiring up the harness.

Yes, you can also have hardware problems, but its easy to rule out the external issues first before calling the unit the problem.

When you quote "my units have no problem," what software and hardware do you have in each, which motherboard, radio chip, etc etc
I part of me would like to believe that insulation is a problem here, but guys on the Russian forums have replaced capacitors to improve reception.
1st March 2016, 11:37 PM |#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dazza007

When you quote "my units have no problem," what software and hardware do you have in each, which motherboard, radio chip, etc etc
I part of me would like to believe that insulation is a problem here, but guys on the Russian forums have replaced capacitors to improve reception.

I have Joying units. One of the 10.1" universal units with 3188 and a 7" universal unit with 3188. No idea about the specifics of the chips.

If you have a specific hardware unit that people are complaining about then you may have a problem with that unit from that manufacturer. That's realistic, but try the other tests first before performing surgery.
3rd March 2016, 09:28 AM |#13  
Speedyp's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Problem is most likely a internal problem with the ground of the antenna input. This was the problem with my unit.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=3266
3rd March 2016, 10:01 AM |#14  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
...
3rd March 2016, 02:38 PM |#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
This is great. It really helps illustrate how people are interpret things differently.

You have put too much tape on the connector. You have essentially broken the connection by entirely covering the outer connector. It may not be been obvious to you that a motorola antenna connector needs contact on the pointy post and the outer shell.

What you wanted to do I carefully put just a little tape on the plug where is could touch the case of the unit in a circumstance where the alignment of the female connector inside the case attached to the PCB isn't perfectly centered for the case hole. When things are out of alignment there tends to be a connection between between case and the outer shell of the connector. When these things touch it can negatively impact reception.
3rd March 2016, 03:14 PM |#16  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Hehe... I made this photos this morning with an unused plug just to illustrate. I know that the connection is broken when insulated and also the it's impossible to work this way.
I also read several threads about that "put some tape on it" thing and heard dozens of interpretations.

A picture tells more than some thousand words.
To clarify that to all of us: Please be so kind and make some photos !

Thanks in advance!
3rd March 2016, 04:06 PM |#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by markusmuster

Hehe... I made this photos this morning with an unused plug just to illustrate.

To illustrate how you did it?


Quote:

I know that the connection is broken when insulated and also the it's impossible to work this way.

So did you do it correctly when you tried it on your unit or are you saying this now to show the mistake and now you understand you need just a little bit of tape like mentioned up thread?
3rd March 2016, 04:26 PM |#18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 152
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pounce

To illustrate how you did it?




So did you do it correctly when you tried it on your unit or are you saying this now to show the mistake and now you understand you need just a little bit of tape like mentioned up thread?

You might have a grounding issue if you are having to do that. I believe another member noticed that the outer part of the antenna socket is internally grounded with a little bit of solder and some foil, he had noticed that the foil had become disconnected meaning the outer part of the socket was no longer properly grounded, insulating the plug like you have done would help in that situation, but it isn't the correct fix, regrounding the socket is.
3rd March 2016, 05:03 PM |#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakejm79

You might have a grounding issue if you are having to do that. I believe another member noticed that the outer part of the antenna socket is internally grounded with a little bit of solder and some foil, he had noticed that the foil had become disconnected meaning the outer part of the socket was no longer properly grounded, insulating the plug like you have done would help in that situation, but it isn't the correct fix, regrounding the socket is.

You may have read up thread.

1) Check the connections like power for the antenna if you have that
2) check the plug to see if its contacting the case. Tape as needed.
3) Open the case and validate the connection to the female socket on the PCB.
4) Check your MCU firmware
5) Try another unit
8th March 2016, 12:47 PM |#20  
hallo dare's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 155
 
More
This whole tape thing has me so confused. The outer shell of the Motorola plug has to touch the casing for earthing doesn't it? Yet you are saying to tape up only the bits that are touching the casing.

Totally confused.

Can someone put up a picture of what is the right way to tape it please.

I would have done exactly the same as markusmuster has in the pics.

Thanks
8th March 2016, 03:13 PM |#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hallo dare

This whole tape thing has me so confused. The outer shell of the Motorola plug has to touch the casing for earthing doesn't it? Yet you are saying to tape up only the bits that are touching the casing.

Totally confused.

Can someone put up a picture of what is the right way to tape it please.

I would have done exactly the same as markusmuster has in the pics.

Thanks

Case = Double Din aluminum case with all the electronic bits inside
Motorola female plug = socket for the antenna that is attached to the radio circuit board inside the case (see above). You can see that there is a hole in the case (see above) where you can see the Motorola female plug.
Motorola male plug = the pointy plug on the end of the antenna cable. It has a pointy end and an outer shell that is the ground for the antenna.

Do this... shove the male into the female plug through the hole in the case do its firmly seated. Step back and have a breath and maybe a smoke or some ice cream. Now go back and look carefully at the plug still inserted through the hole in the case (see above) and see if you can spot any of the motorola male plug ground surface touching the case (see above). If you see any contact between the plug and the case (see above) note about where the motorola male plug would be touching the case and yank that sucker out of the female plug clearing the hole in the case (see above). Now that you know about where on the motorola male plug the case (see above) would be touching put some tape on the motorola male plug ONLY in the exact spot where the motorola male plug would be touching the case (see above). You do not want to extend the tape down the shaft of the motorola male plug in such a way that it would in any way interfere with the lovely fit that motorola male plug has in the motorola female plug socket found inside the case (see above).

Better?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	reception.JPG
Views:	1168
Size:	104.3 KB
ID:	3675059  
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to pounce For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift pounce Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes