FORUMS

[MTCD/E] Android 10 upgrade using official Free tools

2,409 posts
Thanks Meter: 541
 
By marchnz, Senior Member on 27th June 2020, 09:14 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
To upgrade a MTCD/E PX3, PX5, PX6 from Android 6+ on using official Rockchip free tools - a reminder, bringing together multiple threads.

First note - if coming from Android 6 - early versions of Realtek dual BT/WIFI (type 2) are not supported past Android 6.
[29/06/2020 - Android 10 - Users are report Bluetooth MD725 Type 1 is not working on Android 10...]

The only fix is to replace the wifi/bt module with the supported "type 1" GOC-MD-725. See this thread for details (placeholder)


Risk:
Also, there is risk associated in upgrading. The SDCard method is known to result in back-screen, sometimes recoverable booting to recovery from SDcard again. If this method fails, OTG becomes the only recovery option.

The two Rockchip Official methods;

A. SDcard Method
Note: To use these methods, your unit must support booting from SDCard or USB. Not all MTC variants are created the same, so test first.


The following is required
- ROM in .IMG format - an 'OTA' is not a full image file and will not work
- Rockchip SDCard create tool (here...placeholder)

1. Create SDCard using Rockchip SDcard create tool.

2. Insert and boot from SDcard, follow prompts.


B. OTG method - (may require Jig, or if lucky an USB A-A cable.) The below method wil recover a 'bricked' or non-booting unit.

The following is required:
- ROM in .img format, or partiton extract
- Android Tool and Driver:
https://github.com/rockchip-linux/tools

1. Install Rockchip driver and Android Tool on PC/Laptop.

2. First try connecting your unit USB to USB using cable to PC. Try all headunit USB ports.

3. Try entering recovery. If successful you will hear the new device chime on your PC and the headunit will be connected.
If connecting via USB method does not work, a jig must be made. See the following thread for details: https://forum.xda-developers.com/and...h-som-t3766892

4. Using Android Tool connected via USB - Flash SOM using .img file. If image file does not install, erase flash first after selecting .img file.

Hope this thread clarifies the two free and official methods to upgrade your headunit. Enjoy.

29/06/2020 - Update - Users reporting MD725 - Type 1 Bluetooth is not working on Android 10.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to marchnz For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift marchnz Ad-Free
27th June 2020, 10:33 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
In the other rom thread people reported black screens when trying to upgrade. I had the same issue. I used 2 SD Cards to successfully upgrade from Android 8 to 10.


With card 1: I created a SDCard using Rockchip SDcard create tool with the following ROM https://yadi.sk/d/umCvHqCDzHccr/Rock...droid%2010/CHS .

With card 2: I followed the instructions from [https://forum.xda-developers.com/sho...58&postcount=2] section a) until point 10 / the video https://www.youtube.com/watch?reload=9&v=EhEdeD5RICk until 2:55. I then put SD Card 1 into the HU and pressed reboot in recovery. I then saw the Android 10 update screen. It took about 30 minutes to update, it then booted into Android 10.

The rom seems buggy. I'm not sure if its the upgrade method or the rom itself. I'l try to flash a different android 10 rom to see if it works any better. Worst case I can flash to Android 9 using card 1 / Malaysk ROM.

Hope this makes sense.
27th June 2020, 11:08 PM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harsesis

In the other rom thread people reported black screens when trying to upgrade. I had the same issue. I used 2 SD Cards to successfully upgrade from Android 8 to 10.


With card 1: I created a SDCard using Rockchip SDcard create tool with the following ROM https://yadi.sk/d/umCvHqCDzHccr/Rock...droid%2010/CHS .

With card 2: I followed the instructions from [https://forum.xda-developers.com/sho...8&postcount=2] section a) until point 10 / the video https://www.youtube.com/watch?reload=9&v=EhEdeD5RICk until 2:55. I then put SD Card 1 into the HU and pressed reboot in recovery. I then saw the Android 10 update screen. It took about 30 minutes to update, it then booted into Android 10.

The rom seems buggy. I'm not sure if its the upgrade method or the rom itself. I'l try to flash a different android 10 rom to see if it works any better. Worst case I can flash to Android 9 using card 1 / Malaysk ROM.

Hope this makes sense.


Did you got the rom from here?

https://disk.yandex.ru/d/umCvHqCDzHc...droid%2010/HCT


Enviado do meu iPhone usando o Tapatalk
27th June 2020, 11:31 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nhokas

Did you got the rom from here?

https://disk.yandex.ru/d/umCvHqCDzHc...droid%2010/HCT


Enviado do meu iPhone usando o Tapatalk

I already posted which ROM I used. Not sure if it's special or you can use any Android 10 IMG file.
28th June 2020, 10:28 AM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by marchnz

First note - if coming from Android 6 - early versions of Realtek dual BT/WIFI are not supported past Android 6. The only fix is to replace the wifi/bt module with the supported type. See this thread for details (placeholder)

I have MD725 BT module, i think is type 1, never had problem with bluetooth before, from android 6, 8 and 9, and now with A10 is broken. Tried 3 different rom. So replace with what? I will downgrade to A9.
The Following User Says Thank You to alt.d4c For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift alt.d4c Ad-Free
28th June 2020, 10:30 AM |#7  
jamal2367's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Near Münster
Thanks Meter: 14,519
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alt.d4c

I have MD725 BT module, i think is type 1, never had problem with bluetooth before, from android 6, 8 and 9, and now with A10 is broken. Tried 3 different rom. So replace with what? I will downgrade to A9.

There will be no way to get this module to run on Android 10. The best thing would be to replace the module.
28th June 2020, 10:43 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Ankara
Thanks Meter: 62
 
More
A10 recognizes the MD725 module as BC6 but does not establish a connection.
The Following User Says Thank You to zeyret For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift zeyret Ad-Free
28th June 2020, 12:07 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
I will try all the options listed in factory settings.
28th June 2020, 06:45 PM |#10  
Clandaries's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Stapel
Thanks Meter: 229
 
More
I installed A10 with the Boot-SD method, like i did with A6 and so on.

But it did not work like it has to. You have to manually go to the recovery. Inser the SD-card and then press reboot to sytem.

After that the install begun.

Now i am looking for a way to root A10.

Regards
The Following User Says Thank You to Clandaries For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Clandaries Ad-Free
30th June 2020, 10:28 AM |#11  
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeyret

A10 recognizes the MD725 module as BC6 but does not establish a connection.

How was that identified? Do you mean if you set the module in factory settings to bc6? Or is that the output of a logcat/dmesg?

Could someone with a md725 type1 kindly export and attach dmesg and logcat from their android 10 upgrade?

I can then take a look and try to figure out what's going on. Really wish I had a second unit to mess around on, so I can try and figure out potential mods etc to fix this md725 problem.

I figured out the hardware mod to get working md725 on Android 6 on...but haven't had anyone willing to donate hardware (need a headunit, even without a SOM)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes