FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

 View Poll Results: Did this Wipe Data Tool solve restart / bootloop issue on your Philips Android TV?

Yes, It did work!
 
18 Vote(s)
48.65%
No, still same issue...
 
19 Vote(s)
51.35%

[GUIDE] Continuous restart / bootloop fix for Philips Android TV with Wipe Data Tool

344 posts
Thanks Meter: 214
 
By ovso, Senior Member on 24th March 2016, 09:07 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Use this tool in connection to:
*Get rid of cyclic spontaneous reboots of your Philips Android TV...
*Recover your Philips Android TV in case you get continuous boot-loops, where Philips and/or Android logo does not even show up...
*Stop your Philips Android TV to wake up spontaneously from stand-by mode...
*Delete all data and refresh TV's android system


Part A - Wiping Data (All data/apps/settings will be deleted):
1. Unplug the power cord from the power outlet.
2. Press and hold arrow "Down" on the joypad at the back of the TV.
3. Afterwards re-plug the TV to the power outlet, wait 10 seconds and enter "Android System Recovery" mode. Please not that on some models of Philips Android TV's joypad does not trigger "Android System Recovery" therefore use ADB command: adb reboot recovery (help)
4. Download ZIP file containing "WipeDataTool.upg" to your PC and unzip it to the root of USB drive.
5. It is recommended to disconnect all other USB devices from the TV.
6. Connect USB drive with a prepared file to the TV.
7. Select the menu item "Apply update from external storage" with up/down buttons on remote control and start the "WipeDataTool.upg".
8. Wait until you see the recovery menu again with confirmation message "WipeData completed".
9. Use remote control to select "Reboot system now". TV needs to boot into the operating mode.
Warning! If the TV will continue to restart, contact your local Philips technical support to further address your Philips Android TV issue

Part B - Reinstall TV (All data/apps/settings will be deleted):
1. Reinstall the device via Setup - General Settings - Reinstall TV
2. Select "Yes".
3. After displaying initial settings on TV screen, remove the power cord from the outlet for 10-15 minutes.

List of Android Philips TV's with chassis QV15.1E LA (See label on the rear panel of the TV):
43PUK7100 / 12, 43PUS7100 / 12, 43PUS7100 / 60, 43PUS7150 / 12, 48PUS7600 / 12, 48PUS7600 / 60, 49PUK7100 / 12, 49PUK7150 / 12, 49PUS7100 / 12, 49PUS7100 / 60, 49PUS7150 / 12, 49PUS7150 / 60, 49PUS7170 / 12, 49PUS7180 / 12, 55PUK7100 / 12, 55PUK7150 / 12, 55PUS7100 / 12, 55PUS7100 / 60, 55PUS7150 / 12, 55PUS7150 / 60 , 55PUS7170 / 12, 55PUS7180 / 12, 55PUS7600 / 12, 55PUS7600 / 60, 55PUS8700 / 12, 55PUS8700 / 60, 65PUK7120 / 12, 65PUS7120 / 12, 65PUS7120 / 60, 65PUS7600 / 12, 65PUS7600 / 60, 65PUS8700 / 12, 65PUS8700 / 60

List of Android Philips TV's with chassis QV14.1E LA (See label on the rear panel of the TV):
48PFS8109 / 12, 55PFS8109 / 12, 55PUS8809 / 12, 48PFS8109 / 60, 55PFS8109 / 60, 55PUS8809 / 60, 48PFS8159 / 12, 55PFS8159 / 12, 55PUS8909C / 12, 48PFS8159 / 60, 55PFS8159 / 60, 55PUS9109 / 12, 48PFS8209 / 12, 55PFS8209 / 12, 55PUS9109 / 60, 48PFS8209 / 60, 55PFS8209 / 60, 65PUS9109 / 12, 49PUK7909 / 12, 55PFS9999 / 12 65PUS9109 / 60, 49PUS7909 / 12, 55PUS7909 / 12, 65PUS9809 / 12, 49PUS7909 / 60, 55PUS7909 / 60, 65PUS9809 / 60

List of Android Philips TV's with chassis QM15.2E LA (See label on the rear panel of the TV):
32PFH5500 / 88, 40PFT6550 / 12, 50PUT6400 / 12, 32PFH6500 / 88, 40PUH6400 / 88, 50PUT6400 / 60, 32PFK5500 / 12, 40PUK6400 / 12, 55PFH5500 / 88, 32PFK6500 / 12, 40PUT6400 / 12, 55PFK5500 / 12, 32PFT5500 / 12, 40PUT6400 / 60, 55PFK6510 / 12, 32PFT5500 / 60, 48PFH5500 / 88, 55PFK6550 / 12, 32PFT6500 / 12, 48PFK5500 / 12 , 55PFK6570 / 12, 40PFH5500 / 88, 48PFT5500 / 12, 55PFT5500 / 12, 40PFH6510 / 88, 48PFT5500 / 60, 55PFT6510 / 12, 40PFH6550 / 88, 50PFH6510 / 88, 55PFT6510 / 60, 40PFK5500 / 12, 50PFH6550 / 88, 55PFT6550 / 12, 40PFK6510 / 12, 50PFK6510 / 12, 55PUH6400 / 88, 40PFK6550 / 12, 50PFK6550 / 12, 55PUK6400 / 12, 40PFK6560 / 12, 50PFK6570 / 12, 55PUT6400 / 12, 40PFK6570 / 12, 50PFT6510 / 12, 55PUT6400 / 60 , 40PFT5500 / 12, 50PFT6510 / 60, 65PFK6520 / 12, 40PFT5500 / 60, 50PFT6550 / 12, 65PFK6570 / 12, 40PFT6510 / 12, 50PUH6400 / 88, 65PFT6520 / 12, 40PFT6510 / 60, 50PUK6400 / 12, 65PFT6520 / 60

Other models of Philips Android TV
You can find Wipe Data Tool on your TV's filesystem in folder \etc\virgin
Download it to USB, rename it to "wipedatatool.upg" and you are good to go...


NOTE FOR SKEPTICS: Above guide and below attached files are made by Philips [TP Vision]. Additionally, UPG files are encrypted with unique key known only to the manufacturer confirming their originality. . .

SOURCE: Philips Support website - Russia (благодарю/Thanks for great tool)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Bootloop fix.jpg
Views:	13718
Size:	63.6 KB
ID:	3695437   Click image for larger version

Name:	Restarts fix.jpg
Views:	13594
Size:	45.3 KB
ID:	3695438  
Attached Files
File Type: zip wipedatatool QV15.1ELA.zip - [Click for QR Code] (885.9 KB, 8276 views)
File Type: zip wipedatatool QV14.1ELA.zip - [Click for QR Code] (683.4 KB, 7494 views)
File Type: zip wipedatatool QM15.2ELA.zip - [Click for QR Code] (355.3 KB, 6526 views)
File Type: zip wipedatatool QM16.3ELA.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.91 MB, 6618 views)
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to ovso For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ovso Ad-Free
27th March 2016, 10:52 PM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
hello , I have Philips S231C4AFD/00 and I need to enter in recovery to wipe it, but I don't know it has some touch buttons , i tried button down + plug in with charger , it power but no recovery , can you help me please?
28th March 2016, 08:09 AM |#3  
ovso's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Happiest City
Thanks Meter: 214
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfani511

hello , I have Philips S231C4AFD/00 and I need to enter in recovery to wipe it, but I don't know it has some touch buttons , i tried button down + plug in with charger , it power but no recovery , can you help me please?

This is though question as there is no service manual for your device available online.
If I am in your shoes, I would be trying different combinations of the "press+hold" buttons during booting.
I would also try to connect to the device from PC via ADB using Micro-USB (Mini-A) at the back to see whether the device is listed...
28th March 2016, 08:33 PM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ovso

This is though question as there is no service manual for your device available online.
If I am in your shoes, I would be trying different combinations of the "press+hold" buttons during booting.
I would also try to connect to the device from PC via ADB using Micro-USB (Mini-A) at the back to see whether the device is listed...

should I use a keyboard or only the buttons from touchpad ?
28th March 2016, 09:51 PM |#5  
ovso's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Happiest City
Thanks Meter: 214
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfani511

should I use a keyboard or only the buttons from touchpad ?

I would use ONLY buttons directly on device. Keep in mind that you may have to keep button(s) pressed for longer period of time (roughly up to minute). Start step by step with individual buttons and than logical combinations of two etc.
8th April 2016, 02:42 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Doesn't work on 40PFH5500
Anyone successful on on 40PFH5500? I trying this about half hour (power cord, joystick) but tv won't boot to recovery mode, just android OS is restarting :/.
Software v. QM152E_000.005.210.000 (bugly version finally removed by philips from support site ).
8th April 2016, 08:49 PM |#7  
ovso's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Happiest City
Thanks Meter: 214
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xonv717

Anyone successful on on 40PFH5500? I trying this about half hour (power cord, joystick) but tv won't boot to recovery mode, just android OS is restarting :/.
Software v. QM152E_000.005.210.000 (bugly version finally removed by philips from support site ).

Many users ran into the same problem on updated QM152E firmware...
For now you can enter recovery mode via ADB command from you PC: adb reboot recovery
Hopefully TP Vision developers will re-enable recovery mode for QM15.2E LA chassis in the future firmware updates via joypad again...
15th April 2016, 05:38 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ovso

Many users ran into the same problem on updated QM152E firmware...
For now you can enter recovery mode via ADB command from you PC: adb reboot recovery
Hopefully TP Vision developers will re-enable recovery mode for QM15.2E LA chassis in the future firmware updates via joypad again...

Thanks it works like that. Very simple now to put into recovery via adb.
16th April 2016, 11:57 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by flrazvan

Thanks it works like that. Very simple now to put into recovery via adb.

Issue with restart was aolved but the lag on audio still there on my 40pfh5500 .
17th April 2016, 10:18 AM |#10  
ovso's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Happiest City
Thanks Meter: 214
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by flrazvan

Issue with restart was aolved but the lag on audio still there on my 40pfh5500 .

Happy to hear that restarts are solved. Audio lag is known issue reported by users for example here. Philips claims, that they will release new firmware for your TV during upcoming week, so I hope they will fix your issue. I am happy that I do not own TV with QM15.2E LA chassis...
4th May 2016, 10:09 PM |#11  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Last week, a new firmware version was released that should fix this issue according to the philips helpdesk. Updated Today, so far so good! Ver:000.005.234.010 28apr2016.

Update: a factory reset was necessary after the update to get rid of the random reset. No random reboots since (12h and counting)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
bootloop philips android tv, philips android tv recovery, philips android tv restart

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes