FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[APP][5.0+] Blokada ad blocker [open source][without root][v4]

185 posts
Thanks Meter: 622
 
Post Reply Email Thread
27th November 2016, 10:12 AM |#21  
kar's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 622
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by salmanfarisy

Any plan for custom block? By manually loading/importing self-built hosts file, or by manually adding host/url/domain to already exist hosts file. This is useful especially for blocking local/regional ads.

Yes, definitely. Although first I'd like to try and buildup a database of hosts people use. So feel free to propose yours, I will add it, no app update needed.


@moviti, what lists are you guys using over there in Japan?
 
 
27th November 2016, 11:36 PM |#22  
moviti's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blokada

Yes, definitely. Although first I'd like to try and buildup a database of hosts people use. So feel free to propose yours, I will add it, no app update needed.


@moviti, what lists are you guys using over there in Japan?

Hi, Thanks your hard work,
this may be the most popular list in Japan

EDIT: below one is more simple and effective...
https://70i.net/files/70i_net_adblock.txt
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to moviti For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift moviti Ad-Free
28th November 2016, 11:48 PM |#23  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 68
 
More
This only used host files to block url and domains, correct? Doesn't go through a custom dns like adguard or blockthis?
The Following User Says Thank You to Cow07 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Cow07 Ad-Free
29th November 2016, 09:21 AM |#24  
kar's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 622
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cow07

This only used host files to block url and domains, correct? Doesn't go through a custom dns like adguard or blockthis?

Yes, as of so far, that is true.
29th November 2016, 12:28 PM |#25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 68
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blokada

Yes, as of so far, that is true.

Thanks!

So far your app is the only one that worksays 100% of the time with just blocking hosts.

It would be great to that you've kept it this way, no one (willingly) wants to go through an unknown or slow dns server!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Cow07 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Cow07 Ad-Free
30th November 2016, 12:27 PM |#26  
daleski75's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northampton
Thanks Meter: 6,549
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cow07

Thanks!

So far your app is the only one that worksays 100% of the time with just blocking hosts.

It would be great to that you've kept it this way, no one (willingly) wants to go through an unknown or slow dns server!

I think giving people the option of both is the best way I reckon.
The Following User Says Thank You to daleski75 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift daleski75 Ad-Free
30th November 2016, 04:54 PM |#27  
adl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,083
 
Donate to Me
More
Can't get it to install on my S7 edge (not rooted). Any idea what I can do to get it running?
EDIT:
Nevermind, works after I disabled Facebook messenger.
The Following User Says Thank You to adl For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift adl Ad-Free
30th November 2016, 05:00 PM |#28  
kar's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 622
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cow07

Thanks!

So far your app is the only one that worksays 100% of the time with just blocking hosts.

It would be great to that you've kept it this way, no one (willingly) wants to go through an unknown or slow dns server!

Quote:
Originally Posted by daleski75

I think giving people the option of both is the best way I reckon.

Yeah it would be introduced as an optional feature. I added this idea here, feel free to vote on it: https://feedback.userreport.com/3ff9...7/#idea/141224
30th November 2016, 05:01 PM |#29  
kar's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 622
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adl

Can't get it to install on my S7 edge (not rooted). Any idea what I can do to get it running?
EDIT:
Nevermind, works after I disabled Facebook messenger.

Hmm, you could not install it or not start it? Was there any error message?
30th November 2016, 05:05 PM |#30  
daleski75's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northampton
Thanks Meter: 6,549
 
More
Also is there an option to auto start the VPN after you reboot the phone?
The Following User Says Thank You to daleski75 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift daleski75 Ad-Free
30th November 2016, 05:06 PM |#31  
adl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,083
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blokada

Hmm, you could not install it or not start it? Was there any error message?

See my edit above, all good now. Works as expected, thanks for the app! Currently I use "disconnected pro for Samsung", but always open to test other, non root apps which will block ads.
The Following User Says Thank You to adl For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift adl Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
adblocker, ads

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes