FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

 View Poll Results: What are you mainly using NetGuard for?

Reducing data usage
 
339 Vote(s)
31.19%
Saving battery
 
234 Vote(s)
21.53%
Increasing privacy
 
531 Vote(s)
48.85%
Blocking ads
 
712 Vote(s)
65.50%

[APP][6.0+] NetGuard - No-root firewall

18,404 posts
Thanks Meter: 37,768
 
By M66B, Recognized Developer on 25th October 2015, 01:33 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
28th August 2019, 03:51 PM |#10001  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Congratulations, your post is number 10,000!
 
 
28th August 2019, 03:53 PM |#10002  
M66B's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 37,768
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by binser

Congratulations, your post is number 10,000!

+1 time to close this thread
The Following User Says Thank You to M66B For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th August 2019, 04:12 PM |#10003  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Yup
30th August 2019, 11:07 AM |#10004  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Just before you close the show I have a nasty edge case. I'm very pleased with the pro version, all is working well but there is a strange situation with the DNS settings. In NetGuard you can set the DNS which I did to 1.1.1.1 and 1.0.0.1. It works smooth as silk for cellular but when I connect to home Wi-Fi the DNS is forced to the providers DNS which I have spotted on dnsleaktest.com . Here comes the tricky part. In Android 9 there is an option to set up private dns in the settings. When I turn off NetGuard and turn it on and use 1dot1dot1dot1.cloudflare-dns.com it works both for cellular and my quirky home Wi-Fi. This is strange. Any hints why is that, and can something be done with NetGuard to act just like the stock Android setting and cover both the cellular and Wi-Fi?
30th August 2019, 11:15 AM |#10005  
M66B's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 37,768
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fw190

Just before you close the show I have a nasty edge case. I'm very pleased with the pro version, all is working well but there is a strange situation with the DNS settings. In NetGuard you can set the DNS which I did to 1.1.1.1 and 1.0.0.1. It works smooth as silk for cellular but when I connect to home Wi-Fi the DNS is forced to the providers DNS which I have spotted on dnsleaktest.com . Here comes the tricky part. In Android 9 there is an option to set up private dns in the settings. When I turn off NetGuard and turn it on and use 1dot1dot1dot1.cloudflare-dns.com it works both for cellular and my quirky home Wi-Fi. This is strange. Any hints why is that, and can something be done with NetGuard to act just like the stock Android setting and cover both the cellular and Wi-Fi?

You can't use private DNS and NetGuard at the same time, see the FAQ for more information.
30th August 2019, 11:18 AM |#10006  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by M66B

You can't use private DNS and NetGuard at the same time, see the FAQ for more information.

I know that and that is not my point. Maybe I was not clear enough.

Setting up 1.1.1.1 in NetGuard settings gives Cloudflare DNS on dnsleaktest.com for cellular but not for Wi-Fi (obviously private DNS turned off in Android settings). Why is that?

Why can the private DNS option in Android settings provide Cloudflare both for cellular and Wi-fi and NetGuard can only do this for cellular for me?
30th August 2019, 11:36 AM |#10007  
M66B's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 37,768
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fw190

I know that and that is not my point. Maybe I was not clear enough.

Setting up 1.1.1.1 in NetGuard settings gives Cloudflare DNS on dnsleaktest.com for cellular but not for Wi-Fi (obviously private DNS turned off in Android settings). Why is that?

Why can the private DNS option in Android settings provide Cloudflare both for cellular and Wi-fi and NetGuard can only do this for cellular for me?

You'll need to set exactly two custom DNS server addresses if you don't want other DNS addresses to be used.
30th August 2019, 11:37 AM |#10008  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by M66B

You'll need to set exactly two custom DNS server addresses if you don't want other DNS addresses to be used.

I have set up in NetGuard 1.1.1.1 and 1.0.0.1 since the beginning as per the FAQ.
30th August 2019, 11:40 AM |#10009  
M66B's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 37,768
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fw190

I have set up in NetGuard 1.1.1.1 and 1.0.0.1 since the beginning as per the FAQ.

Then NetGuard will set these addresses to be used to resolve domain names. However, NetGuard cannot force Android to use these addresses. Unfortunately, many Android version have VPN routing bugs
The Following User Says Thank You to M66B For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th August 2019, 11:41 AM |#10010  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by M66B

Then NetGuard will set these addresses to be used to resolve domain names. However, NetGuard cannot force Android to use these addresses. Unfortunately, many Android version have VPN routing bugs

I'm on Nokia 2.2. with Android 9 and July security patch (latest available). Interesting. Maybe some future update will iron this out.
30th August 2019, 11:52 AM |#10011  
M66B's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 37,768
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fw190

I'm on Nokia 2.2. with Android 9 and July security patch (latest available). Interesting. Maybe some future update will iron this out.

The DNS logic was recently changed. I will double check this coming weekend.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to M66B For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes