FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

 View Poll Results: What are you mainly using NetGuard for?

Reducing data usage
 
339 Vote(s)
31.19%
Saving battery
 
234 Vote(s)
21.53%
Increasing privacy
 
531 Vote(s)
48.85%
Blocking ads
 
712 Vote(s)
65.50%

[APP][6.0+] NetGuard - No-root firewall

18,404 posts
Thanks Meter: 37,768
 
By M66B, Recognized Developer on 25th October 2015, 01:33 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
10th September 2019, 06:22 PM |#10091  
M66B's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 37,768
 
More
I have just released beta version 2.266

Changelog/download:
https://github.com/M66B/NetGuard/releases
The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to M66B For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
10th September 2019, 06:35 PM |#10092  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by M66B

root resolves domain names and therefore you can't change the settings for root.

Thanks Marcel.

Why can I click or unclick all conditions for "root" process ?
10th September 2019, 06:42 PM |#10093  
M66B's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 37,768
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iwanttoknow

Thanks Marcel.

Why can I click or unclick all conditions for "root" process ?

Edit: because root is not a real app and therefore cannot be set outside of the VPN.
10th September 2019, 07:02 PM |#10094  
La_Globule's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 75
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by M66B

Because it must be allowed to let the internet work.

Just a testmonial: on my Samsung Galaxy A5 2017 running Oreo (8.0), I've blocked the root process (UID 0) and everything works well so far.
Maybe the process Android system (allowed in NG) is in charge of the DNS?
10th September 2019, 07:30 PM |#10095  
Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by M66B

There is a much simpler solution

https://github.com/M66B/NetGuard/com...1d983ffe41afa2

Special case handling... A general solution that would cope with future rewrites and potentially adding more IP ranges would have been safer. @rolko's problem with non accessible LAN in versions 2.261+ should be solved with the fix - either way.
10th September 2019, 07:33 PM |#10096  
M66B's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 37,768
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ines*

Special case handling... A general solution that would cope with future rewrites and potentially adding more IP ranges would have been safer.

Making software more complex than needed is never a good idea, since complexity increases the chance for bugs.
As it is now, exclude ranges will never overlap, so the current solution is the best solution with minimal risk.
The Following User Says Thank You to M66B For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th September 2019, 09:42 PM |#10097  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by M66B

I have just released beta version 2.266

Changelog/download:
https://github.com/M66B/NetGuard/releases

Thanks again for looking deeper into my problem! I will give it a try when the f-droid-release is available and let you know about the result.
11th September 2019, 12:48 AM |#10098  
Senior Member
Flag NY
Thanks Meter: 282
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ines*

I prefer a life without GitHub account ...

You don't need a github acct to download NetGuard
11th September 2019, 07:09 AM |#10099  
fraschi51's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
More
What did Ines answer to? It wasn't about the NG download.
11th September 2019, 10:03 PM |#10100  
Senior Member
4608
Thanks Meter: 60
 
More
nvm
12th September 2019, 08:03 PM |#10101  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
How does NetGuard handle DNS?
NetGuard 2.264 on Android 9

Hello,

I noticed that DNS Daemon is blocked by NetGuard for both WiFi and Data. It must have been set like this for at least a couple of months. Meanwhile I've yet to experience any major network connection issues. Web browsers work as expected, as well ass the other network connected apps that I use.
On the logs, I can see DNS request coming from root not DNS Daemon and these being blocked. Note that the 2 VPN DNS IPs I set to be the default under the NetGuard/Advanced Options are reflected on the logs and show on DNSLeak, no sign of Google DNS ips.

Because of this I ask, how does NetGuard handle DNS? Should DNS Daemon be allowed or can it be left blocked?


(This could be unrelated. I've no screen on/off rules set.) The one network connection issue I have, this being more of a connection reload/refresh issue. For example, from time to time I must restart an app in order for it to refresh its connection to/reconnect to the network. Most times, restart being, swiping the app off of the recent-app list.

What is your suggestion?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes