FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

 View Poll Results: What are you mainly using NetGuard for?

Reducing data usage
 
324 Vote(s)
31.30%
Saving battery
 
224 Vote(s)
21.64%
Increasing privacy
 
497 Vote(s)
48.02%
Blocking ads
 
683 Vote(s)
65.99%

[APP][6.0+] NetGuard - No-root firewall

17,092 posts
Thanks Meter: 35,050
 
By M66B, Recognized Developer on 25th October 2015, 01:33 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
21st March 2019, 04:25 PM |#8611  
fitittome's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cardiff
Thanks Meter: 971
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BreckZeBoulay

I used Netguard on my Nexus 5X with LOS 15.1, and all was running fine.

It works on many LineageOS devices with 15.1 and I guess 16.0. But not the Samsung (klte range) and One Plus (bacon) and maybe Sony Xperia. I think it's devices using msm8974 that have the issue.
 
 
21st March 2019, 08:56 PM |#8612  
BreckZeBoulay's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boulay in Frankreich :D
Thanks Meter: 593
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitittome

One Plus (bacon)

Damned that was close ! I have a cheeseburger
The Following User Says Thank You to BreckZeBoulay For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift BreckZeBoulay Ad-Free
21st March 2019, 11:12 PM |#8613  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
More
I remember having read about issues with Samsung devices ever since I am using Netguard (long time). Lineage OS 16 (unofficial) is compatible with Netguard on my Moto G6+. Lucky me...
22nd March 2019, 08:09 AM |#8614  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gewe

Hello,

Today my phone (Motorola G5S Plus) received an OTA which upgraded it from Android 7.1.1 to 8.1.0. From that moment NetGuard blocked all traffic.
After reading in this thread and the Netguard FAQ, I still haven't found how to get NetGuard working the way it did with Android 7.1.1.
...

For those who are affected by the same problem: for the Moto G5S Plus the problem was solved after receiving the February 2019 update.
This means that not only NetGuard is working again, but also VPN in general..
The Following User Says Thank You to gewe For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift gewe Ad-Free
22nd March 2019, 08:20 PM |#8615  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 192
 
More
A question about interpreting a notification.

This on a new unrooted phone using android pie. Github NetGuard pro installed, host file downloaded and installed.
Attached is the screenshot I have an interpretation question.

1. If internet and data access is denied in NetGuard does this mean that the 'access attempts' marked in red went into the vpn and thus nowhere?

Or do I need to do something else to block them?

2. If some are not red, can I block them from the 'access attempts' screen?

Thank you.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20190322-150516.png
Views:	156
Size:	169.2 KB
ID:	4728998   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20190322-151353.png
Views:	156
Size:	184.5 KB
ID:	4729001  
22nd March 2019, 08:31 PM |#8616  
M66B's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 35,050
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by maybeme2

A question about interpreting a notification.

This on a new unrooted phone using android pie. Github NetGuard pro installed, host file downloaded and installed.
Attached is the screenshot I have an interpretation question.

1. If internet and data access is denied in NetGuard does this mean that the 'access attempts' marked in red went into the vpn and thus nowhere?

Or do I need to do something else to block them?

2. If some are not red, can I block them from the 'access attempts' screen?

Thank you.

The traffic was blocked and is going nowhere.

You can tap on an address to block or allow it.
The Following User Says Thank You to M66B For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd March 2019, 08:32 AM |#8617  
fraschi51's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
More
Can Netguard use dnscrypt?
23rd March 2019, 08:45 AM |#8618  
M66B's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 35,050
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fraschi51

Can Netguard use dnscrypt?

Not really. There was a rather complicated procedure I have documented somewhere to do this without root, but I don't think it still works on recent Android versions anymore because security is more tight now. In any case this is not supported.
23rd March 2019, 09:12 AM |#8619  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
NG can't autostart after reboot phone (Oreo), must mannualy open app...
23rd March 2019, 09:44 AM |#8620  
M66B's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 35,050
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgdrls

NG can't autostart after reboot phone (Oreo), must mannualy open app...

This is a problem of some older Android versions and since NetGuard depends on Android for this, it cannot be fixed or worked around by NetGuard.
23rd March 2019, 11:25 AM |#8621  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by M66B

This is a problem of some older Android versions and since NetGuard depends on Android for this, it cannot be fixed or worked around by NetGuard.

I'm on Galaxy s10+ and Oreo 9.0 (you miss this part)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes