FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

 View Poll Results: What are you mainly using NetGuard for?

Reducing data usage
 
324 Vote(s)
31.24%
Saving battery
 
225 Vote(s)
21.70%
Increasing privacy
 
498 Vote(s)
48.02%
Blocking ads
 
685 Vote(s)
66.06%

[APP][6.0+] NetGuard - No-root firewall

17,155 posts
Thanks Meter: 35,218
 
By M66B, Recognized Developer on 25th October 2015, 01:33 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
17th May 2019, 10:05 AM |#9121  
Licaon_Kter's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 518
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackel

Unfortunately I can't risk disabling Netguard to know for sure if it is causing the issue or I risk spilling all my data.

This must be a sad situation if you are forced to use apps that will "spilling all my data"
 
 
17th May 2019, 05:04 PM |#9122  
lukval's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukval

After disabling the internet connection (HOPO entries in log) the log still shows allowed connection for ICMP (I ping the address via bash script in SManager app).

The same behaviour @ NG v2.229


Sent from my STF-L09 using XDA Labs
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1_NetDisconnected.jpg
Views:	406
Size:	77.9 KB
ID:	4760510   Click image for larger version

Name:	2_NGlog.jpg
Views:	406
Size:	51.5 KB
ID:	4760511  
17th May 2019, 05:06 PM |#9123  
M66B's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 35,218
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukval

The same behaviour @ NG v2.229

What rules are there set for the app with uid 10177?

Edit: BTW, isn't it pretty cool that ICMP (ping) works with NetGuard? Many other no-root firewalls only support UDP and TCP.
The Following User Says Thank You to M66B For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th May 2019, 05:23 PM |#9124  
lukval's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Yes, your app is allmost great. There is no doubt about it, but it can always be even better


Sent from my STF-L09 using XDA Labs
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	NGrules.jpg
Views:	178
Size:	34.4 KB
ID:	4760522  
17th May 2019, 05:27 PM |#9125  
M66B's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 35,218
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukval

Yes, your app is allmost great. There is no doubt about it, but it can always be even better

I4 = ping IPv4 ns...cvut.cz is set to allowed and will therefore be allowed.
17th May 2019, 08:23 PM |#9126  
M66B's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 35,218
 
More
I have just released beta version 2.245

Changelog/download:
https://github.com/M66B/NetGuard/releases
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to M66B For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th May 2019, 08:59 PM |#9127  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Great app, thanks for sharing dude
17th May 2019, 09:00 PM |#9128  
lukval's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by M66B

I4 = ping IPv4 ns...cvut.cz is set to allowed and will therefore be allowed.

Yes, the rule works fine, but there is a problem with connection log which still displays success connection (time > 17:54:16) even there can't be ping reply because the Internet was disconnected (HOPO events, time = 17:54:16). First screenshot (SManager) contains ping result when internet was disconnected = Network is unreachable (the last line in script output).

EDIT: I'm sorry for wrong description. Connection log shows symbol for allowed address not for allowed traffic.

Sent from my STF-L09 using XDA Labs
17th May 2019, 09:04 PM |#9129  
M66B's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 35,218
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukval

Yes, the rule works fine, but there is a problem with connection log which still displays success connection (time > 17:54:16) even there can't be ping reply because the Internet was disconnected (HOPO events, time = 17:54:16). First screenshot (SManager) contains ping result when internet was disconnected = Network is unreachable (the last line in script output).

If there is a ping reply, the DNS server is reachable, which doesn't necessarily mean there is also an internet connection.
17th May 2019, 09:24 PM |#9130  
lukval's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I apologize for wasting your time, it makes sense to me now (the log shows that there is a ping attempt to allowed address only).


Sent from my STF-L09 using XDA Labs
18th May 2019, 06:12 PM |#9131  
CaNsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Cheyenne Mountain Complex
Thanks Meter: 149
 
More
Hi All,
Awesome app that does exactly as intended.

Is it possible to get the firewall to enable before wifi / mobile data are enabled upon boot?

Cheers
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes